1/19 Mally PMPS 261, +2 255

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris & Mally

Active Member
Yesterday

Mally's vet called right after her AM shot and said to increase her dose to 1u BID. Since she already had her AM shot and I don't want to do an increase at night, I'll start the new dose tomorrow.

Aside from the online spreadsheet, I keep detailed notes for Mally for each day. I faxed the vet my notes and he said they were great and made his job much easier. I'm glad because I want him to see more than just her BG numbers.

The vet and I agreed that once Mally comes off the Mometamax drops next week, I'll have to monitor her numbers closely since her numbers may go lower. I'll cross that bridge next week but for now, we'll see how she does when she starts her new dose tomorrow.

Mally is a very laid back cat and not very active. She's content to just hang out and snooze. I have, however, noticed that she's grooming herself more than she had been prior to her dx and start on Lantus.

Have a great day, everyone!!!
 
Re: 1/19 Mally AMPS 312 - Dosecrease per vet

Glad you will have another day of data for Mally...my Shadow seems to normally have his numbers go
lowest at +8 (but they do switch things around all the time so we really can't get too complacent!!) :lol:
Best thing is to get spot checks and you will get a feeling after a time of what is going on and how the insulin is
begin used.
When they bounce, it could be from experiencing lower numbers sometime during the cycle. I am a testing freak anyway
so keep that in mind... :lol: but testing at +4 and +8 are important to me. If you can determine when Mally is low, you can grab that test so you will be able to see if higher numbers are from a bounce.
Doing great! Keep up the good work....love the WCR!!
 
Re: 1/19 Mally AMPS 312 - Dosecrease per vet

I see that you are currently at 0.50 and vet said to go to 1.0.

Rather than go an entire 0.50 dose, you may want to take that up a bit slower and do 0.75.

I say this, because while your data may warrant an increase, the protocol suggests increasing in small increments. And while a couple drops may not seem like such a big deal, in a cat it can be.

(Just to clarify - I'm not a dosing expert, but I've been around almost a year and have learned a few things).

since you're not going to change until tomorrow, let's see what others think of my suggestion. And FWIW, that is all it is a suggestion.
 
Re: 1/19 Mally AMPS 312 - Dosecrease per vet

Have you had a chance to share the Tight Regulation Protocol with your vet? It might be helpful to do so since with Mally having a lot of yellow numbers, the protocol would suggest increasing the dose by 0.25u. While increases of 0.5u are possible, this is done when nadirs are over 300. The idea here is that you don't want to increase the dose by an overly large amount that you miss what might be the ideal dose.
 
Re: 1/19 Mally AMPS 312 - Dosecrease per vet

I second Sienne.... and would add that it's best to follow the protocol because of many reasons including not missing the best dose.
 
Re: 1/19 Mally AMPS 312, +7 221 Dosecrease per vet

I just saw the picture of a .75 dose in Nicole & Baby's condo and honestly, I just don't see how anyone can consistently get that dose correct each time. I know it takes practice but man, there's just a lot of room for error there.
 
Re: 1/19 Mally AMPS 312, +7 221 Dosecrease per vet

What I tried with 1.25 (that's also an in between number) is: I pushed the plunger in till the middle of the top is exactly on the half marking. That was a point I could remember. I'm not sure I explain correctly what I mean.
With my syringes the top is about 1mm wide or something like that.
whaa... sorry, can't explain that in English.
I hope someone else has a suggestion. Maybe prepare a syringe that you can use for comparison or so...

Good luck with it!
 
Re: 1/19 Mally AMPS 312, +7 221 Dosecrease per vet

I agree with the others that with the numbers you are seeing right now, taking the dose up to 0.75u is a better idea than a jump to 1u. It is easy at this point to overshoot the correct dose, which is why we usually move in 0.25u increases unless the numbers are very high (much higher than Mally's).

The 0.75u - Pick what your 0.75u will look like and be as consistent with it as you can. Some people measure to 1u and then count off drops, others eyeball the dose, some make themselves a sample syringe with colored water to compare to, and others use magnifying glasses or lamps. No one expects perfection. You just need to try and stay consistent.
 
Re: 1/19 Mally AMPS 312, +7 221 Dosecrease per vet

I'll try the .75 dose and see where the numbers take us. It's going to take a lot of practice and a bigger magnifying glass! I just want to be as consistent as I possibly can.

One thing I do have to keep in mind is that Mally is still on Mometamax ear drops and they have steroids. She has another week on the drops. I'd like to keep her on the .75 dose until after she is off the drops and then gather more data on her numbers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top