1/19 Spacey pmps=221 +3=203

Status
Not open for further replies.

Spacey & Ella

Active Member
Link to yesterday

Okay then, I did increase the dosage to 1.5.
I was dropping the url to the protocol in some other thread, and in there it truly truly states to increase after 3 day's. So I did.

FDMB doesn't have a protocol of it's own. Does it? If so I would really like to read it. But I can't find it. :sad:
That might be a nice idea maybe: to make a FDMB protocol and post it somewhere.
The thing is: you're not always around when I'm here (time differences), and then I need something I can hold on to. :roll:

Anyway, the cat:
Spacey is doing fine. Still very fine indeed in comparison to caninsulin.
She is vocal, demanding food (that's normal in her case), walking around, hanging in her favorite spots.
Her fur is shiny, though a bit dry around the tail. Still, not as much as it used to be. She is eating very well. Is getting impatient when I want to test her (well, so would I having me poke in my ear). She is interested, alert, pouring when I cuttle her and doing what she like's most: sleeping.

So, she is really doing fine.
I'm going to try and test her for ketones as well today, when I can manage. Her ears are a bit soar. So I will test her less.

*edit: forgot the link again....
 
Re: 1/19 Spacey amps=352 +3=327

Good luck with the new dose Ella!

FDMB dosing protocol?
Other than this link, Suggestions for Advice Givers,
viewtopic.php?f=26&t=973

all the insulin groups have their own protocols.
Glad to hear Spacey is doing better on lantus.
have a good day :)
 
Re: 1/19 Spacey amps=352 +3=327

Ronnie & Luna said:
Good luck with the new dose Ella!
all the insulin groups have their own protocols.
Glad to hear Spacey is doing better on lantus.
have a good day :)

Pfff... that doesn't make it easy.
Well... good to know. :smile:
 
Re: 1/19 Spacey amps=352 +6.5=124

Most people end up following the Tilly protocol, with adjustments for their own situation. (for instance, delaying increases until the weekend for better monitoring, that kind of thing).
 
Re: 1/19 Spacey amps=352 +6.5=124

Spacey & Ella said:
The thing is: you're not always around when I'm here (time differences), and then I need something I can hold on to. :roll:

You're not as alone as you think in Europa :-D
Monique and Spooky, Kate and Lucky, and I are all in Germany, and Greg and Carmelita are in Austria, and back in the states, Cassandra and Sasha and Jill and Alex are normally night owls and are up at our morning time.


Spacey & Ella said:
I'm going to try and test her for ketones as well today, when I can manage. Her ears are a bit soar. So I will test her less.

Good luck with the Ketone test! do you apply pressure on Spacey's ears after each test?

good luck with the increase!
 
Re: 1/19 Spacey amps=352 +6.5=124

There are several others too (UK beans) but most don't hang out in LL. Isn't Steve (&Jock) in Ireland?

My good friend Anne who lives here in Germany is from Finnland and her parents have diabetic cat, I know they home test and I think he's on Caninsulin, but they don't speak English or German and I don't know if they have internet, I just know what Anne has told me. He was diagnosed about a month ago.

The Austrialians are also around in the morning (our time) but they are already ahead of us. Of course Ronnie (in Canada) never sleeps (she's a vampire, that's why she tests so much) but she will probably be sleeping in now that Luna is OTJ! Heather will probably be sleeping in too when Jasper moves to the Falls, except when she has to go to school. Sie will Deutsche lernen :lol:
 
Re: 1/19 Spacey amps=352 +6.5=124

Spacey & Ella said:
I'm going to try and test her for ketones as well today, when I can manage. Her ears are a bit soar. So I will test her less.

*edit: forgot the link again....


Thanks Monique! I've always wanted to be declared a vampire :lol:

Ella, to tell u the truth, I think u have a good collection of data going in ur spreadsheet already...however, there are ways around the extra testing.

Not sure what brand name u have available where u are - Netherlands right? Good soccer club there!

But anyway, here in north America, we have Polysporin and Neosporin, it's a pain relief ointment creme, regular kind, of whichever brand u have there is fine.

you dab a little on the test spots of the ears, typically heals quickly, and if u do it before bedtime, or before ur off for work, that gives the ears a nice rest.

Also, u can test by alternating ears, as one is healing, test on the other.

U have such good data already - but I wouldn't steer clear testing those crucial hours like +3 , +6 when u can, and so on.
Ears will heal - diabetes? As they say - once a diabetic, always a diabetic.

I think ur doing an awesome job collecting data - keep it up!
 
Re: 1/19 Spacey amps=352 +6.5=124

But anyway, here in north America, we have Polysporin and Neosporin, it's a pain relief ointment creme, regular kind, of whichever brand u have there is fine.

Here we have Bepanthen Salbe it's about the same, you can get it at any pharmacy or drogerie. In ointments, Panthenol has good skin penetration. It is sometimes mixed with allantoin, in concentrations of up to 2-5%, and is used for treatment of sunburns, mild burns and minor skin disorders. It improves hydration, reduces itching and inflammation of the skin and accelerates and improves healing of epidermal wounds. The exact equivalent of Neosporin is sold under the name Polyspectran and requires a prescription because it contains antibiotics (bacitracin, neomycin, and polymyxin B) Actually almost any Wundsalbe will work just fine, I used a few times after sun care aloe ointment.
 
Re: 1/19 Spacey pmps=221

Protocol: I'm all for adjustment. I started calculating the next time I increase the dosage. Thing is though I have no idea yet/anymore what to base it on. :?

Having night owls standing by would be very nice. Is there a schedule that takes all the different timezones into account? Like: Ronnie standing by from 1:00 till 5:00 am Canadian time. Eastern time works also since she is a vampire. :lol:

Couldn't test for Ketones. Go to try tomorrow again.

Soar ears:
Yes, I apply pressure after the test. But sun lotion?? I would never ever have thought of that in a million years! Is that okay to give? I mean... what if she licks it of?

Data gathering:
Do I have to test her even @ night? I mean, dosing is based on the nadirs. So do I have to get up every night?
How do other people do that? (Maybe a thread for other forum)

Good soccer team?? Mwaaah... not so much. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/19 Spacey pmps=221

Spacey & Ella said:
Protocol: I'm all for adjustment. I started calculating the next time I increase the dosage. Thing is though I have no idea yet/anymore what to base it on. :?

Having night owls standing by would be very nice. Is there a schedule that takes all the different timezones into account? Like: Ronnie standing by from 1:00 till 5:00 am Canadian time. Eastern time works also since she is a vampire. :lol:
Couldn't test for Ketones. Go to try tomorrow again.
Soar ears: Yes, I apply pressure after the test. But sun lotion?? I would never ever have thought of that in a million years! Is that okay to give? I mean... what if she licks it of?

Data gathering:
Do I have to test her even @ night? I mean, dosing is based on the nadirs. So do I have to get up every night?
How do other people do that? (Maybe a thread for other forum)
Good soccer team?? Mwaaah... not so much. :mrgreen:



LOL!! I may be a nite owl, but not every nite..lol, besides, I'm gonna work on sleeping in one day soon,
also so u know, I'm not comfortable with dose suggesting.
There really isn't a schedule, I couldn't really tell u who will be around, but can tell u there usually is someone around.

I'm not sure about sun tan lotion, but eiter way, unless your cat has a really long tongue that reach reach into his ears.. :lol:

yup even at nite...when ever ur pmps time is, count 3 hours after that, that's ur +3...if ur up late like on a weekend, u can grab a +6...I will tell u thou it would not surprise me one bit if u did have at least one all nighter testing due to lower numbers that would require u to monitor....it has been known to happen to several of us here...

I get up at 3am to give my cats a snack, I am their personal timed human feeder :? so when I was testing I would grab a +9 spotcheck. You dont have to give up ur sleep time - but if ur up and ur curious - test away!! :lol:
 
I agree with Ronnie. A +3 before bed will let you know if you need to stay up for another test, IE- if pmps is 260 and +3 is 90, thats a pretty big drop in a short amount of time and you should get another one to see if they are surfing , but if +3 isn't a big drop, you should be safe for bedtime. There are some beans on board who set the alarm over night for a spot check (Deb and Spot usually for a +7, Pat Raja and Shadow... well, I just don't know when she sleeps..:lol: ) but its never been something that I've been able to master.
 
I swear to you that I must have been a cat in my past life. I need sooo much sleep.
A little, very tired voice inside my head hopes for just blue and never the green numbers. That way I don't need to get up at night. :mrgreen:
But I guess, when time comes Spacey will dictate my sleeping schedule. :lol:
I wont ever leave her alone when it's not safe. Around here I'm sure I don't have to mention that.

I will test her again in 1/2 hr. Think that this 1.5 is going to work for her.
Next week I have to go back to work again (my contract ends at the end of march). Anyway. I hope by then I have an idea whether she goes lower on day 2, 3 or 4.
 
Heather and Jasper said:
I agree with Ronnie. A +3 before bed will let you know if you need to stay up for another test, IE- if pmps is 260 and +3 is 90, thats a pretty big drop in a short amount of time and you should get another one to see if they are surfing , but if +3 isn't a big drop, you should be safe for bedtime. There are some beans on board who set the alarm over night for a spot check (Deb and Spot usually for a +7, Pat Raja and Shadow... well, I just don't know when she sleeps..:lol: ) but its never been something that I've been able to master.

Heeeee... someone from Bayern. My sister went to life there. Woohoo. :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top