1/20 Kona AMPS 254, +2 218, +4 167, +6 208, +9.5 144, PMPS 85, +1 63, +1.5 63, +2 78, +3 104, +4 158

Jason - Kona's Dad

Member Since 2023
Good day! =) Thanks so much everyone for your support and thinking of Kona and I since our ice storm fun and getting stranded in our Last post.

I still don't have Internet, but everything else in our world is starting to come back to normal.

I've updated Kona's spreadsheet with all the readings from the meters, so we are up-to-date.

On 1/17, Kona dropped down to 45. I was able to bring her back up quickly and I didn't notice any clinical signs other than the reading being concerning. I made the decision to do a reduction that night, but now I'm sort of second guessing it. We are not seeing good numbers as she had a week prior. I think I'll give it more time, her current numbers are not too terrible at the moment.

I'm also reflecting on when she was increased to 1.5 and the steady greens we were seeing. It was great! The only way I was able to accomplish this was to constantly feed her high carbs. I was using Glycobalance (14%) and Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Beef Feast (20%) constantly to keep her afloat.

I'm now torn between having those great numbers and the risk of not being able to watch her 24/7 with work and all. If I could be home all day, I would love to keep her 60-100 as much as I could with whatever food it took.

For the most part, Kona is not much of a crazy bouncer... she does ride cycles nice and flat, sometimes into the next cycle. So maybe with automatic feeders and more eyes on the snacks she is eating, it might be doable. I don't know, something to think about.

If anyone has any advice or thoughts to share, I'd love the input. My current plan is to give it few more days on 1.25 to see if we can stay in green/blue, but if it's more and more yellows, I'm thinking going back to 1.5 and doing everything I can to prevent hypo might be the best thing for her.
 
Welcome back Jason! We missed you telling us about Kona’s daily adventures!
I’m sure someone will give you some good input for your decisions. Unfortunately that’s not me, yet.
Wishing you both a beautiful weekend!

Hey Deb :bighug::bighug::bighug: I'm so glad to be back. Hope Tiger is doing okay. I have so many cats to catch up on.
 
I'm glad things have started to get back to normal! I hope your Internet comes back soon!

Kona is in her first year of diagnosis, so the reduction point for TR is under 50 - so that was a good thing to reduce. I know there have been some good discussions on @Staci & Ivy posts about sometimes needing to feed higher carbs to keep a coast going, but that's mostly higher low carb, and and not consistently using MC and HC foods to keep them going. I'm hoping someone else can weigh in on that.

And I understand the worry about not being home to keep a close eye - I have to actually start going back into work Monday, and it's a bit anxiety inducing. I know you'll do all you can for Kona. :bighug:
 
I'm glad things have started to get back to normal! I hope your Internet comes back soon!

Kona is in her first year of diagnosis, so the reduction point for TR is under 50 - so that was a good thing to reduce. I know there have been some good discussions on @Staci & Ivy posts about sometimes needing to feed higher carbs to keep a coast going, but that's mostly higher low carb, and and not consistently using MC and HC foods to keep them going. I'm hoping someone else can weigh in on that.

And I understand the worry about not being home to keep a close eye - I have to actually start going back into work Monday, and it's a bit anxiety inducing. I know you'll do all you can for Kona. :bighug:

Hey Alicia =) For the longest time, I've consider 5% medium carb and the 9% and 14% foods I have high carbs. So I need to get on the same page as everyone else. Maybe normal feedings of 14% is not a bad thing to keep her afloat? I think the Fancy Feast 20% might seem a little much...
 
Feeding 9% is OK to keep her afloat, as it's considered low carb, but 14% is medium carb. Anything 10% and under is low carb, MC is 11-15%, HC 16% and above. Definitions here. You don't want to have to rely on anything above low carb to keep her safe. It's OK to use somewhat higher carbs to slow down fast drops, but not as a steady diet.

It's been October since her body last saw numbers under 50. This bouncy protest is expected. She's coming down today, sixth cycle since those limes. Hopefully you'll see greens again tonight. She did see the 50's a couple nights ago, but that cycle still had some influence from the 1.5 unit depot. But 58 is low enough I'd stay the course and be patient.
 
Feeding 9% is OK to keep her afloat, as it's considered low carb, but 14% is medium carb. Anything 10% and under is low carb, MC is 11-15%, HC 16% and above. Definitions here. You don't want to have to rely on anything above low carb to keep her safe. It's OK to use somewhat higher carbs to slow down fast drops, but not as a steady diet.

It's been October since her body last saw numbers under 50. This bouncy protest is expected. She's coming down today, sixth cycle since those limes. Hopefully you'll see greens again tonight. She did see the 50's a couple nights ago, but that cycle still had some influence from the 1.5 unit depot. But 58 is low enough I'd stay the course and be patient.

Thanks, Wendy! I think this is great advice... I'll just be patient.
 
Today's Summary
6:39am - AMPS 254
6:45am - Shot 1.25U
6:47am - Fed 1/2 can of TruLuxe Glam n' Punk (0.6%) + 1/2 can of Weruva Low Phos Food (0.0%)

9:18am (+2) - BG 218
11:05am (+4) - BG 167
1:07pm (+6) - BG 208

Back in a few hours, going grocery shopping. :kiss:
 
Today's Summary
6:39am - AMPS 254
6:45am - Shot 1.25U
6:47am - Fed 1/2 can of TruLuxe Glam n' Punk (0.6%) + 1/2 can of Weruva Low Phos Food (0.0%)

9:18am (+2) - BG 218
11:05am (+4) - BG 167
1:07pm (+6) - BG 208
4:24pm (+9.5) - BG 144
 
I'm liking this! :D

Today's Summary
6:39am - AMPS 254
6:45am - Shot 1.25U
6:47am - Fed 1/2 can of TruLuxe Glam n' Punk (0.6%) + 1/2 can of Weruva Low Phos Food (0.0%)

9:18am (+2) - BG 218
11:05am (+4) - BG 167
1:07pm (+6) - BG 208
4:24pm (+9.5) - BG 144
6:41pm - PMPS 85
6:43pm - Shot 1.25U
6:45pm - Fed 1/2 can of TruLuxe Steak Frites (5.5%) + 1/2 can of Weruva Low Phos Food (0.0%) + 1/2 packet of FortiFlora Probiotics + 0.25ml Nordic Naturals Omega 3

Upcoming Tasks:
8:00pm (+1) - Test BG and feed if/as needed
9:00pm (+2) - Test BG and feed if/as needed
...... whatever the baby bear needs.
 
Last edited:
Welcome back

Hope you, Kona and Cleo are all doing well after the storm. Looking forward to your daily updates yet again.

Have a good and peaceful weekend :cat::bighug:

Thanks for checking in on us!!! Yes, we should be on regular schedule now that I’m on my work phone’s hotspot. ;)

Hopefully you and Nestle have been well since we’ve been away. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Active cycle tonight!

Today's Summary
6:39am - AMPS 254
6:45am - Shot 1.25U
6:47am - Fed 1/2 can of TruLuxe Glam n' Punk (0.6%) + 1/2 can of Weruva Low Phos Food (0.0%)

9:18am (+2) - BG 218
11:05am (+4) - BG 167
1:07pm (+6) - BG 208
4:24pm (+9.5) - BG 144
6:41pm - PMPS 85
6:43pm - Shot 1.25U
6:45pm - Fed 1/2 can of TruLuxe Steak Frites (5.5%) + 1/2 can of Weruva Low Phos Food (0.0%) + 1/2 packet of FortiFlora Probiotics + 0.25ml Nordic Naturals Omega 3
8:06pm (+1) -
BG 63 + 1 teaspoon of TruLuxe Steak Frites (5.5%)

Upcoming Tasks:
9:00pm (+2) - Test BG and feed if/as needed
...... whatever the baby bear needs.
 
Last edited:
Always insists on helping me post!

upload_2024-1-20_20-22-48.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-1-20_20-22-48.png
    upload_2024-1-20_20-22-48.png
    546.3 KB · Views: 208
Flat! Love it.... back in 30 min for the start of the potential onset.

Today's Summary
6:39am - AMPS 254
6:45am - Shot 1.25U
6:47am - Fed 1/2 can of TruLuxe Glam n' Punk (0.6%) + 1/2 can of Weruva Low Phos Food (0.0%)

9:18am (+2) - BG 218
11:05am (+4) - BG 167
1:07pm (+6) - BG 208
4:24pm (+9.5) - BG 144
6:41pm - PMPS 85
6:43pm - Shot 1.25U
6:45pm - Fed 1/2 can of TruLuxe Steak Frites (5.5%) + 1/2 can of Weruva Low Phos Food (0.0%) + 1/2 packet of FortiFlora Probiotics + 0.25ml Nordic Naturals Omega 3
8:06pm (+1) -
BG 63 + 1 teaspoon of TruLuxe Steak Frites (5.5%)
8:30pm (+1.5) - BG 63 + 1 teaspoon of TruLuxe Steak Frites (5.5%)


Upcoming Tasks:
9:00pm (+2) - Test BG and feed if/as needed
...... whatever the baby bear needs.
 
Today's Summary
6:39am - AMPS 254
6:45am - Shot 1.25U
6:47am - Fed 1/2 can of TruLuxe Glam n' Punk (0.6%) + 1/2 can of Weruva Low Phos Food (0.0%)

9:18am (+2) - BG 218
11:05am (+4) - BG 167
1:07pm (+6) - BG 208
4:24pm (+9.5) - BG 144
6:41pm - PMPS 85
6:43pm - Shot 1.25U
6:45pm - Fed 1/2 can of TruLuxe Steak Frites (5.5%) + 1/2 can of Weruva Low Phos Food (0.0%) + 1/2 packet of FortiFlora Probiotics + 0.25ml Nordic Naturals Omega 3
8:06pm (+1) -
BG 63 + 1 teaspoon of TruLuxe Steak Frites (5.5%)
8:30pm (+1.5) - BG 63 + 1 teaspoon of TruLuxe Steak Frites (5.5%)

9:04pm (+2) - BG 78 + 1 teaspoon Weruva Low Phos Food (0.0%)

Upcoming Tasks:
10:00pm (+3) - Test BG and feed as needed
 
Yes, thank goodness, I thought I lost the greens forever... such a relief to see them again. Funny how I get disappointed with blues or yellows now. When it was pinks that I dreaded! ha ha ha
That's the FD roller coaster for you! When you first see blue or yellow preshots, you freak out about shooting that low. But once you get comfy in green, even blues seem to high! :joyful:
 
Today's Summary
6:39am - AMPS 254
6:45am - Shot 1.25U
6:47am - Fed 1/2 can of TruLuxe Glam n' Punk (0.6%) + 1/2 can of Weruva Low Phos Food (0.0%)

9:18am (+2) - BG 218
11:05am (+4) - BG 167
1:07pm (+6) - BG 208
4:24pm (+9.5) - BG 144
6:41pm - PMPS 85
6:43pm - Shot 1.25U
6:45pm - Fed 1/2 can of TruLuxe Steak Frites (5.5%) + 1/2 can of Weruva Low Phos Food (0.0%) + 1/2 packet of FortiFlora Probiotics + 0.25ml Nordic Naturals Omega 3
8:06pm (+1) -
BG 63 + 1 teaspoon of TruLuxe Steak Frites (5.5%)
8:30pm (+1.5) - BG 63 + 1 teaspoon of TruLuxe Steak Frites (5.5%)

9:04pm (+2) - BG 78 + 1 teaspoon Weruva Low Phos Food (0.0%)
10:02pm (+3) - BG 104

Upcoming Tasks:
11:00pm (+4) - Test BG and feed as needed
 
Glad to hear you and Kona are safe- I'm sorry about the internet, hope it comes back quickly.
I don't have any advice, seems like you got some good advice earlier in the thread, hope your plan works out for her.
Leaving the house causes me great anxiety as well...HUGS ! :bighug::bighug:
And many :kiss::kiss: to Kona...she is so beautiful!
 
Glad to hear you and Kona are safe- I'm sorry about the internet, hope it comes back quickly.
I don't have any advice, seems like you got some good advice earlier in the thread, hope your plan works out for her.
Leaving the house causes me great anxiety as well...HUGS ! :bighug::bighug:
And many :kiss::kiss: to Kona...she is so beautiful!

My Internet JUST came back on.... soooo happy. Isn't it funny how Internet is a critical utility, just up there with water and electric. Ha ha, at least for me. I was struggling without it.
 
Finishing this day out... I'm a freak, gotta be complete.

Today's Summary
6:39am - AMPS 254
6:45am - Shot 1.25U
6:47am - Fed 1/2 can of TruLuxe Glam n' Punk (0.6%) + 1/2 can of Weruva Low Phos Food (0.0%)

9:18am (+2) - BG 218
11:05am (+4) - BG 167
1:07pm (+6) - BG 208
4:24pm (+9.5) - BG 144
6:41pm - PMPS 85
6:43pm - Shot 1.25U
6:45pm - Fed 1/2 can of TruLuxe Steak Frites (5.5%) + 1/2 can of Weruva Low Phos Food (0.0%) + 1/2 packet of FortiFlora Probiotics + 0.25ml Nordic Naturals Omega 3
8:06pm (+1) -
BG 63 + 1 teaspoon of TruLuxe Steak Frites (5.5%)
8:30pm (+1.5) - BG 63 + 1 teaspoon of TruLuxe Steak Frites (5.5%)

9:04pm (+2) - BG 78 + 1 teaspoon Weruva Low Phos Food (0.0%)
10:02pm (+3) - BG 104
11:04pm (+4) - BG 158
 
Back
Top