1/21 Fistuk AMPS 113, +3 137, +6 90, +9 88 PMPS 88

Fistuk & Shelly

Member Since 2023
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...11-94-pmps-88-3-101-5-92.285806/#post-3145294

Good morning :)

Quiet morning here. DH is at work. Cats are asleep. Snow still covering the fields. I'm indulging on a cuppa'f green tea and chocolate cookies I made.

Fistuk had another doolally moment this morning. He jumped up by himself on the sofa. So strange how suddenly Thea turn a corner as if all the hustle and worry before didn't exist. Cats! :woot:

Not sure what's his excuse for this morning blue.

He's had a good run of greens the past four cycles (exclude the high blue +3 yesterday AM. My fault! I let him out in the cold bc he needs to have some fun too ;))

QUESTION: Lately I've been having annoying air bubble in the syringe. Didn't change anything and can't figure out why.

I move the plunger few times to lubricate., press the plunger all the way to get any air out, hold it tightly so when I insert the needle into the vile. Nevertheless when I draw the insulin there's a big air bubble.

Even after flicking the syringe and trying to push it out with the excess of insulin I often need to push all the insulin out and draw once again bc the bubble just doesn't go out in the fist time.

Ideas?


Wishing you a peaceful Sunday :bighug:

Pic: Fistuk jumped on the sofa and stayed for him morning nap (rather than hiding in his Bimi poof)
upload_2024-1-21_10-2-12.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-1-21_10-2-12.jpeg
    upload_2024-1-21_10-2-12.jpeg
    41.4 KB · Views: 243
Hi Shelly!
Chocolate cookies and green tea sounds like a nice relaxing combination!
Fistuk seems to have had his favorite blip at +3. I'm sure he will come back down though.
I know what you mean about bubbles. I've wasted so many syringes and insulin!
I don't know exactly what the magic way is, but I try drawing juice as slowly as I can possibly stand.
It's a bit of a battle as I want to get this done as soon as possible! But the slow draw seems to work well for me.

Wishing you a lovely Sunday, Shelly! :bighug:
 
Hi Shelly!
Chocolate cookies and green tea sounds like a nice relaxing combination!
Fistuk seems to have had his favorite blip at +3. I'm sure he will come back down though.
I know what you mean about bubbles. I've wasted so many syringes and insulin!
I don't know exactly what the magic way is, but I try drawing juice as slowly as I can possibly stand.
It's a bit of a battle as I want to get this done as soon as possible! But the slow draw seems to work well for me.

Wishing you a lovely Sunday, Shelly! :bighug:
Hi Kit :)

Thanks for the tip. I'll try and draw it slowly and see if it makes a difference.

Did you mean getting it done as soon as possible because you want to finish with it or because of something related to the insulin being drawn out. I sometimes prepare a syringe the night before when Robert takes care of Fistuk in the morning. Filling up the syringe is one thing he feels is too much for him. I prepare the syringe and keep it in the fridge for him for the morning.

I got this vile in October. The juice looks clear but maybe it's time for a new one?

Wishing you a relaxing Sunday :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Have you also tried once syringe is out of bottle to draw just a teeny more air into then flick to move any addl bubbles to top? Not always but sometimes that worked for me. Air bubbles want to stick together so if there is another one the frustrating one might just jump to find its mate LOL

I also agree that cats seem to go back to feeling better as if nothing ever happened. While a wonderful thing it makes me wonder do they think like us...on outside they are just 'better but thinking to themselves the journey they have been on.

Chocolate cookies for breakfast sound amazing with some hot tea btw ❤️
 
Did you mean getting it done as soon as possible because you want to finish with it or because of something related to the insulin being drawn out.
I draw insulin before testing Mikan.
The food bowls are all ready on the counter and the cats are circling around me like sharks, telling me to hurry up! :rolleyes:
So it's the time pressure thing for me. :cat:
 
Hello Shelly and Fistuk!

How wonderful to hear he's jumping on the couch yet again. Such joy.
I remember the first time around when Nestle's neuropathy was really bad and he couldn't jump anymore I was so devastated. But then months later once he's recovered and started walking normally and jumping again I would cheer and rejoice every time. Such wonderful feeling to see them doing well.

How's Prince with his chin acne. Did it all heal?

Good luck tomorrow on your first day at work.

Have a boring and peaceful Sunday

upload_2024-1-21_10-8-47.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-1-21_10-8-47.png
    upload_2024-1-21_10-8-47.png
    164.8 KB · Views: 256
That seems to be more often as I get to the end of the pen (I don't use vials anymore, I find pens easier to manage and I prefer them because they don't stay open as long, I am not convinced it is true but I had the impression that the insulin was losing its efficiency after a few months of the vial being open). I flick the syringe with my finger and try to get the bubbles out and then refill if needed. Going slow sems to help, as well.
Have a good day, Shelly! It's not as cold here today, only -12 C, we're climbing back :-)
 
That seems to be more often as I get to the end of the pen (I don't use vials anymore, I find pens easier to manage and I prefer them because they don't stay open as long, I am not convinced it is true but I had the impression that the insulin was losing its efficiency after a few months of the vial being open). I flick the syringe with my finger and try to get the bubbles out and then refill if needed. Going slow sems to help, as well.
Have a good day, Shelly! It's not as cold here today, only -12 C, we're climbing back :)
Hmmmm interesting about the duration of insulin In a vial. I usually use pens also but I had a vial that I wanted to use up. It is three months old. I wonder if it loses efficacy. It looks clear and nothing floating. Wondering if I should keep using it or throw it out. Not sure how to tell if it’s still viable or there’s a problem ;)
 
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...11-94-pmps-88-3-101-5-92.285806/#post-3145294

Good morning :)

Quiet morning here. DH is at work. Cats are asleep. Snow still covering the fields. I'm indulging on a cuppa'f green tea and chocolate cookies I made.

Fistuk had another doolally moment this morning. He jumped up by himself on the sofa. So strange how suddenly Thea turn a corner as if all the hustle and worry before didn't exist. Cats! :woot:

Not sure what's his excuse for this morning blue.

He's had a good run of greens the past four cycles (exclude the high blue +3 yesterday AM. My fault! I let him out in the cold bc he needs to have some fun too ;))

QUESTION: Lately I've been having annoying air bubble in the syringe. Didn't change anything and can't figure out why.

I move the plunger few times to lubricate., press the plunger all the way to get any air out, hold it tightly so when I insert the needle into the vile. Nevertheless when I draw the insulin there's a big air bubble.

Even after flicking the syringe and trying to push it out with the excess of insulin I often need to push all the insulin out and draw once again bc the bubble just doesn't go out in the fist time.

Ideas?


Wishing you a peaceful Sunday :bighug:

Pic: Fistuk jumped on the sofa and stayed for him morning nap (rather than hiding in his Bimi poof)
View attachment 68864
Hi Shelly, So wonderful to see Fistuk cozily chilling on the couch. He looks so happy. Glad he’s feeling well Enough to jump up there and run around a little bit.
Good luck tomorrow with the new job. Will be thinking about you and sending you good vibes. :smuggrin:

I also try to slowly draw the insulin and when I’m using a vial. After I fill it I pull back past the correct amount and flick out any bubbles, then move stopper to the correct dosage on the syringe. Double check with a magnifying glass. Lol.

Sounds like you had a lovely morning With cookies and tea. Sounds a lot calmer than my crazy morning around here. Hoping you enjoy the rest of your Sunday at home with your kitties. Big hugs :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
So happy Fistuk jumped on the couch, hope that means his legs are getting stronger. I try to do the same with the plunger, move it up and down a few times before filling with insulin, and I too find if I can go slow while drawing the insulin I get less bubbles. Good luck with that and keep us posted on if you figure anything out. HUGS and wishes for a good rest of the weekend :bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Shelly, love the pics you posted yesterday of Fistuk and Prince.
Nice greens and PMPS tonight. Happy to hear Fistuk jumped onto the couch. I hope you have a great day tomorrow at your job.
Have a great day :bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:
 
QUESTION: Lately I've been having annoying air bubble in the syringe. Didn't change anything and can't figure out why.

I move the plunger few times to lubricate., press the plunger all the way to get any air out, hold it tightly so when I insert the needle into the vile. Nevertheless when I draw the insulin there's a big air bubble.

Even after flicking the syringe and trying to push it out with the excess of insulin I often need to push all the insulin out and draw once again bc the bubble just doesn't go out in the fist time.

Ideas?

Sometimes, what works for me is the way I am tilting the syringe while flicking... but the goal in tilting is to get the bubble in the center area where you can push it out. I don't know what this section is called in my syringes, but I think it's job is to actually catch air bubbles where they get stuck in the chamber and stay there, right before the needle shaft. If that makes sense.

One of the things I try to do is pull the plunger out perfectly centered, so your not pulling it out on one side, that might introduce bubbles. You almost have to use two fingers and need to do it very slowly.

Another tactic I do is always drawing about 0.1 of insulin or slightly more and just squirting it out, while holding the plunger tightly, then drawing the dose. This works as well, but a shame to waste the insulin over time as it does add up.

Occasionally, I will get frustrated after spending minutes trying to deal with bubble and feel like I'm wasting insulin I will just throw the syringe away. The next one always seems to work perfectly! ha ha
 
Hello sweet people. I'll get back to you each. So thankful for your support!!
Last night had to spend time on the contract and other documents for the new work and today started my first day. Exhausted but happy!
More soon :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hello Shelly and Fistuk!

How wonderful to hear he's jumping on the couch yet again. Such joy.
I remember the first time around when Nestle's neuropathy was really bad and he couldn't jump anymore I was so devastated. But then months later once he's recovered and started walking normally and jumping again I would cheer and rejoice every time. Such wonderful feeling to see them doing well.

How's Prince with his chin acne. Did it all heal?

Good luck tomorrow on your first day at work.

Have a boring and peaceful Sunday

View attachment 68867
It was a real joy to see him jump up the sofa yesterday for the second tme. IT's really hard to see them lose energy or vitality, isn't it?¨

Prince's once is almost healed but I'm a bit concerned about his skin. It looks a bit scared. the vet will be here on Wed and will have a look
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Shelly, So wonderful to see Fistuk cozily chilling on the couch. He looks so happy. Glad he’s feeling well Enough to jump up there and run around a little bit.
Good luck tomorrow with the new job. Will be thinking about you and sending you good vibes. :smuggrin:

I also try to slowly draw the insulin and when I’m using a vial. After I fill it I pull back past the correct amount and flick out any bubbles, then move stopper to the correct dosage on the syringe. Double check with a magnifying glass. Lol.

Sounds like you had a lovely morning With cookies and tea. Sounds a lot calmer than my crazy morning around here. Hoping you enjoy the rest of your Sunday at home with your kitties. Big hugs :bighug::bighug::bighug:
I do the same with the syringe. I wonder if the silicon on the vial is worn out. I asked the vet to order a new insuline. We'll see if that makes a difference
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
So happy Fistuk jumped on the couch, hope that means his legs are getting stronger. I try to do the same with the plunger, move it up and down a few times before filling with insulin, and I too find if I can go slow while drawing the insulin I get less bubbles. Good luck with that and keep us posted on if you figure anything out. HUGS and wishes for a good rest of the weekend :bighug::bighug:
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Sometimes, what works for me is the way I am tilting the syringe while flicking... but the goal in tilting is to get the bubble in the center area where you can push it out. I don't know what this section is called in my syringes, but I think it's job is to actually catch air bubbles where they get stuck in the chamber and stay there, right before the needle shaft. If that makes sense.

One of the things I try to do is pull the plunger out perfectly centered, so your not pulling it out on one side, that might introduce bubbles. You almost have to use two fingers and need to do it very slowly.

Another tactic I do is always drawing about 0.1 of insulin or slightly more and just squirting it out, while holding the plunger tightly, then drawing the dose. This works as well, but a shame to waste the insulin over time as it does add up.

Occasionally, I will get frustrated after spending minutes trying to deal with bubble and feel like I'm wasting insulin I will just throw the syringe away. The next one always seems to work perfectly! ha ha
Thanks, Jason. These are great ideas, I'll try them :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Did you mean getting it done as soon as possible because you want to finish with it or because of something related to the insulin being drawn out. I sometimes prepare a syringe the night before when Robert takes care of Fistuk in the morning. Filling up the syringe is one thing he feels is too much for him. I prepare the syringe and keep it in the fridge for him for the morning.
Hi Shelly, just wanted to warn caution with refilling a syringe the night before. Most insulins have a standard in-use time of 4hrs in a syringe for a few reasons. m-cresol (which is the smelly part of the solution) absorbs to the plastic syringe, thus decreasing the concentration of it in solution. M-cresol serves two purposes in insulin, it is a preservative that helps prevent bacterial growth and keep it sterile, but also a stabilizer that helps insulin keep its efficacy.
 
Hi Shelly, just wanted to warn caution with refilling a syringe the night before. Most insulins have a standard in-use time of 4hrs in a syringe for a few reasons. m-cresol (which is the smelly part of the solution) absorbs to the plastic syringe, thus decreasing the concentration of it in solution. M-cresol serves two purposes in insulin, it is a preservative that helps prevent bacterial growth and keep it sterile, but also a stabilizer that helps insulin keep its efficacy.
Thanks, Kelcie. I imagined it's not the best. I didn't know what the reasons were though. I need to teach my husband to draw insulin. I did look at the times when he injected and I can't see that it's consistently resulted in higher BG. But bacteria risk is completely different problem which I def don't want. So thanks again. It's also good to know the max time to keep in a syringe :bighug:
 
Back
Top