1/26 Kitty AMPS 80

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Kathy

have u cross posted in the health board for dental info? want u to be well prepared for that day - if u have any more questions post them here too ok?

Kitty is doing well again!! Nice AMPS!!
 
Re: 1/26 Kitty +6 88!

I don't like this. I don't think he was eating, either. His dose this morning was cut on the short side rather than the long side, but not anything I thought was appreciable. Certainly nothing anyone without a major magnifying glass would notice!

Ronnie, thanks. There was a discussion on the health board the other day -- that's where I saw that ketamine was recalled.
 
hi kathy. you asked me to stop by to weigh in on the dental...

Finally got to speak with the vet who will do Kitty's dental+xray followup. Before I hyperventilate, could someone help me understand whether the answers I got are good ones?

Here's the other info:

1. is predental blood work required?
They would like to do bloodwork on Kitty the morning of the dental.

alex had her predental bloodwork drawn the morning of the dental because a vet visit is such a traumatic experience for her, me, and anyone in the vet's office who has to handle her. i can certainly see a benefit to having them done prior to the morning of the dental.

2. are predental antibiotics required?
No, but they might suggest it based on the pre-dental bloodwork.

if they may suggest predental abs based on bloodwork... the bloodwork would have to be done before the morning of the dental.

3. will xrays be done first?
Yes. We need a digital jaw x-ray to follow up on the possible cancer we saw last fall.

i'm not sure if a predental xray of the jaw is the same as predental xrays. just ask. personally, i would want predental xrays done of the whole mouth just so the vet would know what's going on in the mouth before starting the dental. i also asked for postdental xrays to be done just so the vet can see if all the mouth issues were addresses during the dental (eg. no roots left behind).

4. what kind of sedative and what kind of anaesthesia are used?
For anesthesia, they used ketamine and valium to induce sleep, then gas to maintain it. I asked if there was an alternative to ketamine; he said they sometimes use mostly gas with patients they have reason to be concerned about.
Isn't ketamine a no-no?

anesthesia... isoflorane or sevo is what you want.
ketamine... i don't know what to tell you since ketamine has been recalled. i'd ask on health for a ketamine alternative.


5. what pain killers will be used and at what point?
They send kitties home with bupe after extractions. I think I could get some bupe in any case, but I didn't ask that specifically.
When SHOULD painkillers be started?

having bupe on hand is good if there are extractions. check with your vet about when they should be administered.

6. do they monitor blood pressure?
Yes. They monitor blood pressure, oxygen, EKG, and carbon dioxide.

sounds good.

7. if extractions are required, will they call you first?
I didn't ask, but I will.

not sure why this would matter. when alex had her dental it was understood they would perform extractions if necessary.

8. what is their procedure for diabetics; ie should insulin be given in the am and if so just partial dose or ? and will they monitor bgs at all?
When I asked about their protocol, he suggested no insulin the morning of the procedure. I told him I might adjust the evening dose as well, since there would be no food after midnight.

all i can tell you is my vet recommended a half dose to no dose of insulin in the morning, depending on the numbers. in other words, if alex was low... skip the shot.

I asked about checking Kitty's BG during the procedure, and he said they could run a catheter and give fluids, and be ready to provide glucose drip if warranted.
But fluids aren't necessarily required, right? Only on as-needed basis?

it seems to be a matter of opinion. when alex had her dental jojo didn't think fluids were necessary for alex, but they did have an IV catheter in place just in case. however, since then i've read some things which suggest others may have different opinions. here's a post from dr. lisa on dentals:

Dentals - General comments
Posted by: Lisa dvm (IP Logged)
Date: March 8, 2005 10:32PM

Some thoughts on minimizing any complications from dentistries.

1) I like to have antibiotics on board before the dental procedure ends up showering the body with bacteria. Any cleaning procedure will unleash a lot of bacteria into the system where it can damage kidneys, heart valves, etc. I recommend that the cat get a dose the night before, if possible, but at least an AM dosage the day of the dental. This usually means picking up the antibiotics the day before the procedure or asking your vet to be sure to give the antibiotics upon the arrival of your pet to establish a blood level pre-dental.

2) I recently attended a seminar on Anesthesia and Critical Care where the speaker strongly emphasized the need/benefit of lots of fluids associated with the procedure. I like to start my cats on an IV drip a few hours prior to the procedure, during the procedure and for a few hours after the procedure. Dr. Paddleford also recommended running the fluids at a rate that is much higher than the standard very low rate that most vets run. He stated that "overloading" with fluid was not a factor even at his higher rate.

Anesthesia, dehydration and hypotension results in lowered kidney perfusion and damages valuable nephrons (kidney tissue). Dr. Paddleford stated his opinion that even the most basic of anesthetic procedures can result in nephrons being damaged and could not stress strongly enough that fluids are critical to any anesthetic procedure.

3) Always ask your vet if a catheter is routinely placed. If the answer is "no", I would worry about the level of care being practiced. No cat should undergo a lengthy anesthetic procedure without IV accesss in the event that the animal goes into cardiac arrest.

4) I want to mention also, that any dental done without anesthesia is not only a waste of time, but cruel to the animal. There is no way that an adequate exam/cleaning can be accomplished in an awake animal. In addition to this issue, all an 'anesthetic-free' dental results in is a false sense of security in the pet owner that their pet's dental needs have been adequately addressed which is very far from the truth. The tartar that is seen on the outside of the tooth - that may be removed during an anesthesia-free dentistry - is not a problem with dental health. It is the area UNDER the gumline that is the issue and no awake animal is going to let a human probe under the gumline on the inside and outside of every tooth. Removing the plaque does serve some purpose in that it removes bacteria from the mouth and this is a good thing with regard to seeding the rest of the body with oral bacteria, but this issue is not pertinent to dental health.

Anesthesia-free dentals offered by lay people are illegal in CA and with very good reason.


Lisa, dvm

http://www.felinediabetes.com/phorum5/read.php?8,73506


hope this helps...
 
Jill, you are a rock star! :RAHCAT

I wonder who gives this level of care. :YMSIGH:

I know what to ask for now, and why. If I don't get it, I would rather sacrifice the digital x-ray.

I'm going to cross post this in Health as part of the general Dental discussion.

THANKS! :YMHUG:
 
Jill's pre dental instructions are the best & very comprehensive..Dont worry, It sounds like you have all bases covered--It will be fine & Kitty, he will be great with nice clean toofies :mrgreen: --We will be here for you! Moonie never had a dental xray & she is fine--but she did have all those other things..It will turn out well.
 
Jill & Alex said:
4. what kind of sedative and what kind of anaesthesia are used?
For anesthesia, they used ketamine and valium to induce sleep, then gas to maintain it. I asked if there was an alternative to ketamine; he said they sometimes use mostly gas with patients they have reason to be concerned about.
Isn't ketamine a no-no?

anesthesia... isoflorane or sevo is what you want.
ketamine... i don't know what to tell you since ketamine has been recalled. i'd ask on health for a ketamine alternative.

Aside from the recalls (maybe vet has a batch of ketamine that wasn't sourced from Teva? - be careful, lots of labels were outsourced to Teva, not sure if all vets are aware of that), ketamine is a no-no if there's renal disease or heart disease, among others.

Your vet's proposed induction protocol is # 3 in this list. Diazepam = valium. It gets rather technical, but if you have questions about the info listed, you could print it out and ask the vet to explain. Also, more info on ketamine.
 
You medically adept people impress me!

From what I can understand, it sounds like ketamine would be the safer, preferred route -- except for that pesky recall!

I think someone left a link about the recall -- Hillary? Someone else? I'll find it, print it and take it to the vet. But wow, the alternatives look scarier. But I guess curling up into a ball and shutting out reality isn't an option... right?
 
Kathy and Kitty said:
You medically adept people impress me!

From what I can understand, it sounds like ketamine would be the safer, preferred route -- except for that pesky recall!

... But wow, the alternatives look scarier. But I guess curling up into a ball and shutting out reality isn't an option... right?

Hmm ... not sure how you got the impression any one is safer/preferred/less scary. No anesthesia, no matter how "safe," comes without risk. IMO, in addition to the skill of the veterinary practitioners, much depends on the health issues of the particular kitty. That's why predental bloodwork is so critical. In our case, I am averse to ketamine b/c of Meowzi's renal issues. There are alternatives in that list that are more appropriate for our situation.

I believe the best approach would be to research, make a note your concerns, if any, and discuss with your vet.
 
Re: 1/26 Kitty PMPS 82

I did better with the idea of Kitty's anesthesia before I knew too much for my own good!

I don't think I've ever regained the trust that I lost when Kitty's first diabetes vet made such errors. I see now a vet who uses a recalled anesthesia, and I'm thinking, how do I trust him at all? :YMSIGH:

But I guess I need to back away a little.

Anyway, tonight's number is good, and this is the beginning of day 7 on this dose! :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top