1/26 Morris AMPS 338; +8.5 446; PMPS 454; +2 450

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gwen and Morris

Active Member
yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=3949&p=38804#p38804

Well, it is a slightly better start to the day today! Perhaps he is just going to come back down to where we want him nice & gradually this time around!

WCR.....he is a very happy sounding & looking cat this morning! All P's seem to be present & accounted for!

Bean report.....feeling a little glum today......my baby turned 11 early this morning :sad: It's funny.....normally I don't get sad around her birthday, I normally just get sad around her older brother's birthday!
 
Re: 1/26 Morris AMPS 338

Glad to see Morris starting the day on a better floor than yesterday.

Which baby turned 11? The 2-legged or 4-legged baby?
 
Re: 1/26 Morris AMPS 338

:lol: lol!! Happy Birthday to your 2 legged baby!! party_cat party_cat party_cat

Morris gets to eyeball the birthday cake!!

Have a great day Gwen!
 
Re: 1/26 Morris AMPS 338

Aww, Happy Birthday to your sweet daughter! Eleven is still pretty young... wait til she hits 13-14, that's went things get complicated and overnight mommy 'doesn't know beans' anymore... sigh. :roll: Then when she is around 19 she will realize that you have been pretty smart all along. :lol:

Come on Morris, it is a happy day so behave and give Gwen some pretty greens to celebrate.
 
Re: 1/26 Morris AMPS 338

Thanks all for the wishes for my daughter! Actually, when we picked up the birthday cake she ordered for her friend party on the weekend, the nice older lady that was helping us also thought she should give the cake to her cat......she ordered a Mouse & Cheese cake!! LOL!! It was a round cake they decorated to look like swiss cheese & then they added mice made out of icing all throughout the cake! It was really cute! She thought that mice are close to chipmunks & since we were seeing Alvin & the Chipmunks movie, it seemed to fit! The bakery lady they gave us a weird look when we explained that our cat is diabetic & unfortunately that means he can not share the cake! LOL!

How many carbs are there in cheese???? Maybe we could give Morris a cheese treat tonight for Brooke's birthday!
 
Re: 1/26 Morris AMPS 338.....feeding question added

**I have also posted this question on health**

If I remember correctly, I think there has been a post here previously about 'new recommendations' for feeding guidelines. Does anyone know where I could find that information?

Looking through the health links, I found a site that suggested feeding 20-30 calories per pound (ideal weight) per day. Does that sound correct?

Based on that, my Morris' ideal weight is approx 11 pounds, so I should be feeding him approx 220-330 calories per day. Which translates into me learning that I have indeed been over feeding him for awhile now & I should not be upset at all that he hasn't been eating all his food! LOL!

The Friskies varieties I feed are approx 190 calories per can; Fancy Feast 100 calories per can, and EVO 210 calories per can (I've done some rounding up for simplicity). So instead of feeding him the equivalent of 2 Friskies cans per 24 hours (divided into 8 servings), I could feed him 1 Friskies can & 1 Fancy Feast can.....and reduce that when I give him his treat of EVO once in awhile!
 
Re: 1/26 Morris AMPS 338

Interesting. Unless I'm reading it wrong, those numbers on the chart in Think Tank would make my kitty gain weight... they are more generous than the formula I use which is below:

I use the formula that Dr. Pierson recommends to figure out the calories my cats need. Have you seen that? I'm not trying to get my cat to lose weight so I use this formula as the starting point and I don't feed less calories. If I feel my kitty needs to lose a few oz. then I reduce the amount of calories by 20%.

... figure out what you think your cat *should* weigh and plug that number into this formula:

Required calories per day = [13.6 X optimal lean body weight in pounds] + 70

Most female cats should weigh a nice, lean 10 -11 pounds. Most male cats should fall into the 11 -13 pound range.

Using an optimal body weight of 12 pounds as an example, we come up with 233 calories/day as a starting point.

[13.6 X 12 pounds] + 70 = 233

This formula provides a very generous starting point (usually far too generous) so be aware that some (most) cats will not lose weight when eating the number of calories generated by this formula. I would suggest feeding according to this formula for 2 weeks and then re-evaluating the caloric needs based on the cat's weight loss, or lack thereof. Of course, if during that period of time your cat is losing weight too rapidly, you will need to increase his calorie intake immediately.

If he is maintaining his weight on the number of calories provided by the above formula, reduce the amount by 20%.
 
Re: 1/26 Morris AMPS 338

Thanks CD! No, I had not found that source as yet. Using that formula, I should be feeding Morris roughly 220 calories per day. Since I am currently feeding him approx 380 calories per day :o , I think I should cut him down a bit slow! LOL! Starting tomorrow, I plan on feeding him one 5.5 oz can of either Friskies or EVO, plus one 3oz can of Fancy Feast. That will bring his calories down to approx 290-310 per day. I will give him a few weeks to get used to that new feeding routine & then take him to the vet to get him weighed. Depending on how his weight is doing then, I will adjust the calories if needed.
 
Re: 1/26 Morris AMPS 338

OH, absolutely do this slowly! Sorry I should have included that. It is VERY important to go slowly on a reducing plan. I think the recommendation is to only lose 1-2% a week at the most.

RE: Dr. Pierson:
Safe Rate of Weight Loss

Please understand that your overweight cat took months to get into his current condition and that it will take months to safely lose the weight. This is not a race but it is critical for you to stay the course and not give up.

A safe rate of weight loss is 1 - 2% of their current body weight per week.

For example, if your cat weighs 20 pounds, he can safely lose up to ~6 ounces per week. (20 pounds X16 ounces/pound = 320 ounces. 2% of 320 = ~ 6 ounces.)

1% would be 3 ounces per week - or 3/4 pound/month.

As your cat loses weight, the amount of weight that he should lose each week will decrease.

For example, if your cat is down to 16 pounds, his weight loss should slow to ~2.5 -5 ounces each week which represents 1-2% of 16 pounds.

Here is the link to her article, it is long but very interesting and includes some case studies. Is Your Cat Overweight?
 
Re: 1/26 Morris AMPS 338

No, Morris is not overweight & I don't want him to become overweight & that is why I am doing this research now! LOL! When he returned home to us, he was just skin & bones - it was awful! We have been working since the end of July for him to GAIN weight! Now that he has finally reached his goal weight, & his BG numbers are getting better, & he is not always eating all the food I am offering to him, I thought it would be a good time to do some more research on this topic. As of tomorrow, I will reduce his calories 'offered' from 380 to around 2910-310 (depending on how much Friskies vs EVO he is getting that day). I plan on holding that routine for a few weeks, then I will take him to be weighed and see how we are doing.
 
Re: 1/26 Morris AMPS 338

Oh silly me! Sorry! I got it now.

I had to do the same, I was putting out more food than kitties were eating and kept throwing away too much. So I had to guess-estimate how much to pull back on feeding just like you are planning. It is a trial and error but I was clearly wasting stuff and now if they finish and complain about it, I will just give a little more at that time, but not every day. You know, because they are cats and keep me guessing.
 
Re: 1/26 Morris AMPS 338; +8.5 446 - dosecrease time?

After decreasing the dose, like I did for Morris on Jan 23, how long do we hold that reduced dose before deciding if the dose is holding or not? I am not sure if the ugly numbers Morris has been having lately is from the dosecrease not holding or if it is because he is still bouncing & hasn't adjusted to the new dose as yet. Any advice/suggestions???
 
Re: 1/26 Morris AMPS 338; +8.5 446 - dosecrease time?

The protocol says that if the dose doesn't hold, you should immediately go back to the last good dose....It does not look to me like the dose is holding. Many times, the second or third time you try a dose on a decrease, it WILL hold. Others will be along to give you their advice...this is only MY opinion. :razz:
 
Re: 1/26 Morris AMPS 338; +8.5 446 - dosecrease time?

hmm, I would probably give it at least another cycle. If you look back on Morris' spreadsheet, there are several times when he has hit green, but his bounce hasn't even started until 3 cycles later. :roll: It looks to me like that could be happening again. He's been high since yesterday, but rebounds can last up to 72 hours.
 
Re: 1/26 Morris AMPS 338; +8.5 446; PMPS 454 - dosecrease time?

Thanks Libby & Brenda for your input about the dosecrease. Since I am going to be doing a big change starting tomorrow with how much food I am feeding, perhaps I should wait a bit longer at this dose & see what happens. If we're not seeing nicer colors by the weekend, then I will put him back up to 1.5u As far as I know right now, I believe I should be home for the majority of the weekend......just out Sat morning with the 2-legged kids, and then in&out the rest of Sat & Sun doing the usual weekend errands! LOL!

I will also keep the dosecrease time as part of my condo title & see if anyone else comes along with any other input/advice/suggestions/etc!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top