1/26 Shadow AMPS=334, PMPS=354

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pat+Raja+Shadow (GA)

Very Active Member
+4=307
+8=236
AMPS=334 ~ F .75u Lev (start 3rd day 5th cycle)

Yesterday's Condo

Ate his breffis all up and made a deposit in the LB. He is purring and sweet but his BGs are not very nice at all. I am heading to Walmart today to buy some long syringes. Have been using the short ones and read that the longer might get the insulin into a better place. I shot 15 minutes early. I am typing this while standing on my head. :lol: just kidding....but I will try anything to help him out here...anyone think I should go up to 1u? Maybe in the morning if he still has the same horrid numbers today? Any ideas?

Happy Australia Day LL!!!!
 
Re: 1/26 Shadow AMPS=334

Moonie always waits for the very last minute of the 6th cycle for me to see her numbers go down..Give it another cycle & then see...
Paws & fingers crossed for some better numbers today--OK Shadow???? :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/26 Shadow AMPS=334

Yeah, I like the longer ones too but only because I can be sure I made it through all the fur. How about changing location, like if you are shooting in the scruff change to further down the back or over to the side. I usually just stick with the scruff and move it up and down.

As for the dose change, Morris generally needs up to 5 days I've noticed...and I generally don't like to give it to him...but why not try and see what happens if you wait an extra day or so???

Is Shadow enjoying the sun today??? Still chilly, but at least it's sunny. cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 1/26 Shadow AMPS=334

Australia Day? Where's Andrew and Mim? :lol:


My suggestion - try the long syringes first - Like Roni & Brenda say, give it another cycle at the same time trying these syringes.
Now we're all gonna gang up on ya :lol: Have u been rotating the shot place around the injection site? I think u do, cant recall.



Seriously, u need to buy Walmart stocks Pat! Get yourself a portfolio and make some money out of Walmart. lol!
 
Re: 1/26 Shadow AMPS=334

Gosh I wish I could figure out what Shadow is bouncing from... he has gone green from this dose, but not in more than a week. Before you go up, it would be interesting to see if there is a difference with using the other syringes. And then when you do increase, if it was me, I'd watch for anything close to 100 and start with feeding and if he continues to drop give him some MC or LC with a bit of gravy way before the normal recommendation to do so. The reason I say that is that it might be better if he could cruise in the low blues for a while and try to avoid the bounce from green. Try to get him lower and stay blue - without being so low that his liver shoots him back to red. Maybe it's hard for his body to recognize the new normal because those red/pinks keep messing up his averages.

Having said all that... I know it is WAY easier said than done. And you are already trying hard to do just that, but maybe we should try avoiding anything under 90 as a goal right now. I dunno' ... just throwing stuff out here and seeing if anything will stick.
 
Re: 1/26 Shadow AMPS=334

Go to Walmart, that always makes you feel better! Wish I could get out of the house.....I had to cancel an appointment this morning because I couldn't get the ice of my windshield. I've shoveled 3 times today...Ice! I just fell down, nobody saw it thank god, so I'm not leaving this room again today damn it!

Pat I'm gonna make Käse Spätzle later want some? :-D That is about all I have in the house....eggs flour, water. Give Shadow a scritch for me and tell him I said tonite he can show some green :mrgreen: when you get those longer needles. Can you pick me up some ice cream for me while your out. Thanks!
 
Re: 1/26 Shadow AMPS=334

Of course I'd like some Käse Spätzle, natürlich!!!!
What flavor ice cream Monique?
I love the way you make your Käse Spätzle...it's the BEST!
If you've never tasted Monique's Käse Spätzle, you haven't tasted Käse Spätzle!!!!!
I'll be over in a half hour, k? :mrgreen:
I can go to Walmart later..... :lol:

And Monique... STOP FALLING DOWN! :roll:
 
Re: 1/26 Shadow AMPS=334

OK Shadow, what are you up to with those numbers?
Come on down and stop hugging those high numbers.

Shadoe's done that too Pat; go lower and give a few nice numbers, then scurry back up in grand 'fraidy cat style. Who knows? Maybe Shadow just needs a wee bit more time to get comfy and the numbers will follow.

If Shadow is feeling and acting OK then it can't be too bad, just slow.

Scratches for Shadow and Raja, enjoy Monique's Käse Spätzle, and have fun at Walmart!
 
Re: 1/26 Shadow AMPS=334

My idea: change the colors on your SS. Clearly he's enjoying PINK waaaay too much. Switch pink with BLUE or GREEN. Mess with his head a bit :razz:
 
Re: 1/26 Shadow AMPS=334

Shadow needs to visit all the sugar cats that hanging on the lower floors today. You know - I didn't realize until today that you are using Lev.
 
Re: 1/26 Shadow AMPS=334

Sometimes the sixth cycle is where the magic occurs. CD's suggestions make a lot of sense.
 
Re: 1/26 Shadow AMPS=334

Shadow - since everybody else has given your bean some advice, I'm gonna give you some advice. If you don't get done from there within the next cycle your bean is going to be giving you more insulin - :-Q Come on down from there baby - we know you can do it cuz we've seen the numbers before.
 
Re: 1/26 Shadow+3=328, +5=380

+3=328
+5=380
Full Moon Eve is not until FRIDAY....This is way early for the Moon Walk Shadow....

images
 
Re: 1/26 Shadow AMPS=334

Good grief, Shadow. (Moonwalking??? hahaha!)

Hey Pat, did you have to cover his ears when you let out a stream of obscenities at these numbers? I would have. :o
So did you get some new syringes? Have you tried them yet? It would be interesting to see if they make a difference because if they do, then we will have to make an example of Shadow.

Other than that... I do not see a bounce from anything... just yucky numbers, so yes, I do think you need to add a drop or two to his dose. Then be ready to keep him monitored (hahaha! .... as if you don't.) And really start counter-measures earlier than usual to keep him away from the bounce-inducing low greens. Seriously, I'd be giving him MC at 80 and HC at 70. His liver has to learn what is normal and it ain't that red/pink stuff. Silly liver.
That's all I got. Don't know if others would approve of this idea, but sh#$ we have to try something new to get him to quit bouncing so hard. And you've finessed the doses between fat/full/skinny so carefully that there is just nothing left in-between. Measuring in .00001 amounts isn't possible. :shock:
 
Re: 1/26 Shadow AMPS=334

oh my gosh Pat! What is Michael Jackson doing in ur condo?
lol

Shadow...no no no, come down please...pink is for girls! ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 1/26 Shadow +7=360, +10=375

+5=380
+7=360
+10=375

I got the syringes but they only have the 29 gauge in that length....the shorts were 31 gauge.
Won't be shooting till about 8:15 tonight...
Been reading about the different gauges...and I think the U40 syringes with Vetsulin were 29 gauge....
With the short 31g Shadow didn't even notice at all....wondering if the thicker gauge will bother him.
(I won't mention anything to him and we'll see if his eyes bug out....shhhhh.....) Oh, I hope not.... :roll:

I was trying to think of any variables that I could adjust...and I noticed Jojo saying something to Brenda about not liking
the shorties....so I figured I would try them. What else can I do...(been using the short ones since Vetsulin days)

Well, measuring .91 units which is his perfect dose is totally out of the question for me .... :lol: :lol:

His numbers are totally wild today....maybe I will raise him tonight to 1u with the longer needle syringes and then see what he does.
His SS is beginning to get that tie-dyed look....it is really awful with all those garish colors all mixed in there....no rhyme to it at all.

I am really discouraged. There must be something wrong.
I will take him for blood work if this continues. He acts just fine and he shouldn't be acting F I N E.
(He should be hysterical like I am!!!! :shock: that's the LEAST he could do after all we've been through...!!!!) :lol:
 
Re: 1/26 Shadow AMPS=334

((( :YMHUG: ))) and u have been thru a lot, with both kitties on this crazy ride, I don't blame u for trying anything and everything...
I feel your frustration and can only offer a ((hug)) and encouragement, this will all pass..

Shadow will get there, keep ur faith up and strong Pat.

You did it with one kitty - anything is possible!
 
Re: 1/26 Shadow AMPS=334

Oh Pat
Sorry you are upset about Shadow. I hear the sigh all the way from
Florida. Maybe you will have better luck with the long needles.
It's funny how we keep questioning whether we are doing things right.
I am also think about long vs short - I have the short and I have doubts if I am shooting him in the perfect place, just under the skin, not in the skin, muscle....
As if we all went to med school or camping school to know how to properly "tent" cat skin that has fur covering it.

Did I make you smile??? Good.
Chin up, you know you are doing great. Just look at Raja.!!!
 
AMPS=334 ~ F.75u Lev (5th cycle)
+3=328
+5=380
+7=360
+10=375
PMPS=354 ~ F .75u Lev (6th cycle)

At the last minute I decided to go with the same dose for this one last cycle...the 6th which seems to be the charm for some... :lol:
After all, this is the maiden voyage of the baseball syringe....29 gauge....so I will raise it tomorrow if there is no change....
Will let you all know...thanks for your kind words and support...you guys are the best!!! :YMHUG:
 
Just stopping by to wish you well and ask how Shadow liked the needle change?

|Here's hoping tomorrow brings better numbers.
 
Re: 1/26 Shadow +4=215

+4=215
:roll:

He didn't seem to notice the harpoon in his skin. Cats.
Ok, so was it the syringe or was it the magic 6th cycle?
Or was it the threat of a dosecrease.
:lol:
 
Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
+4=215
:roll:

He didn't seem to notice the harpoon in his skin. Cats.
Ok, so was it the syringe or was it the magic 6th cycle?
Or was it the threat of a dosecrease.
:lol:

All of the above?

So glad to see this. Whew!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top