1/26KahluaPMPS=139+2.25=118

Yup, long term diabetic is under 40.

upload_2025-1-26_12-4-58.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-1-26_12-4-58.png
    upload_2025-1-26_12-4-58.png
    274.5 KB · Views: 52
Goodness, don't trust me! I'm so new at this. I thought that since she dropped below 50, she earned a decrease--but she's been diabetic for a while, so it's 40, right? I'm so sorry.
No worries at all! I've been doing this for 3 years and I still have no idea!
 
So......back in October, when she hit 39......she should have had a reduction? I asked but didn't get an answer. I didn't reduce because my kiddos were taking care of her that weekend and I wasn't sure how great they measured the insulin. She was on a reduced dosage and still dropped. She's such a weirdo!

I think the 40/50 reduction rule is a great general guideline that the protocol has for us to follow. Whenever there are scenarios like you described or other circumstances in addition to just being 1 point below, I would be on the fence. There's meter variance too... I've never tested Kona below a 43, so even with some good reasons not wanting to reduce, at a 39, I would probably reduce anyway because you can also go back up soon after.

  • If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose as soon as you see kitty's numbers trending upwards. You don't have to hold the reduced dose for a certain number of cycles before taking the dose right back up. The guidelines listed under the topic "Increasing the dose" do not apply to a failed reduction. Please use common sense in this situation. The "last good dose" is not the dose that just dropped kitty into the 20s or 30s. You want to resume momentum by finding an in-between the dose.

    Source: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
 
Back
Top