1/28 Buddys amps 234 + What a hypo night!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marci and Buddy

Active Member
last night pmps 225,and pmps +5 ~30 ish ...
(woke me up-- he was too agitated for me to take blood,)so i fed him 3 oz. of LC, tested him and he was 36.
more of those starving meows -scary- gave him 2 oz. of HC(can), more LC -think he ate 5 oz all together.and then he was 49.
So this morning i gave him a regular 1 u , not a fat 1 .
did i do the right thing? i know shoot low to stay low, but i'm afraid of the 35. his #'s are all over the place this month, don't understand this disease.
Any suggestions more than welcome.
 
Hi Marci,

As far as lowering to the 1u from fat 1u, I think that was a good choice. That is what Tilly would suggest ( .25u increments and test ) and that is what I did when PK gave hypo numbers last.

I apologize that I have not followed your posts in transition from old board to new...I see Buddy was getting wonderful curves on the .75u- what made you raise the dose?

So glad you are hometesting and able to catch that low BG! Good job getting him back up! :thumbup
 
Agree with Melissa, his track record was excellent on .75U - I don't think I've ever seen so many blue preshots in a row.

Hypo numbers with need for food (crying for food) says the dose should be lowered and going to .75U is only a 25% reduction. Hopefully you can get some tests today on the 1U from this AM.

Sorry you had to go through that last night, but sounds like you handled it well.
 
(((Marci)))

Defintely reduce the dose. Do you have an idea of what a "fat" 1u actually is? Dose reduction should be .25u - as mentioned by Melissa and Vicky - but I know those "micro" measurements are not easy to eyeball.

You did a good job of getting him back to safe numbers and, yes, 30s are too low to be allowed to continue at the higher dose. I did find that Beau suffered no ill effects from the 30s on lev, but gosh it gets you on your toes, doesn't it?
 
ok thanks , i am now comfortable with dose reduction to fat .75
he was staring to get more and more yellow #'s, which is why i went up to fat 1-was that not showing on his SS?
 
Yes, I see that.... couple of thoughts on that. First, all the standard things: how fresh is the insulin? Any change in food? How are his teeth? And chance of a UTI, etc.that could be causing the numbers to climb? I actually don't think so because of the hypo last night. It would probably not happen if he was needling more insulin for some reason.

The other thought is that maybe .75u was too much. I see some drops below 50 on .75u before, that probably warranted a decrease at the time. The increasing yellows may have been a rebound response setting in.

If that is the case, Buddy may be getting to the point were dose decreases of less than .25 need to be made. Beau never gotten higher than .5u and I made decreases of .1u to step him down. For a while it really seemed like .5u was too much (drops to 30s in just a few hours after the shot), but .4u wasn't enough (higher numbers), when in actuality he was getting too much still at .4u.

Have you practiced drawing doses in .1u amounts/increments? Like .9, .8, .7 etc? I used an old syringe and an old vial of insulin and practiced drawing up 1u and then doing something I call "beading off" drops that were .1u each. If you turn the plunger like you are screwing it in rather than pushing it a drop will form on the tip of the needle. Practice until you can get 10 drops from 1u to empty. The drops, or beads, will be about the size of the head of a straight pin.

Try the .75u for a few days to see if he settles well with it, but if he drops below 50 again on it, then you can try .5u and let that settle. If his numbers climb back up and you think he needs more insulin, go back to .75u. THEN, if he drops below 50 try .7u or .6u. Does that make sense?
 
ok Sheila thanks for the useful info. now, Buddy is on 1u , a drop from a fat 1 due to the bg35 the other night. sounds like thats too much , so tonight i will go down to .75, right?
i never realized he may have been going from blue to yellow due to too much insulin, i understood it to be not enough.
will practice on the .1syringe integers -i have found out the trick of twisting it not pushing up-thank you so much for all the info .
 
That sounds good - and before I forget: "test for ketones" if he is running in high numbers. And be sure to give it time to settle - about 3 days.

I will be looking for updates :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top