Re: 1/29 Bert AMPS 330 +2 275 +4 303
Kathy said:
Is it normal for Bert's BG to go up some from the +2?
I am going to feed him some now.
hmmm, since this is the first day, yes, although anything is possible, keep in mind also, u are going to give some food now, so next test
may have a food spike.
By the way, what u are doing is known as a "curve" from the link up above "New to the group"
Learn how YOUR kitty is responding to insulin:
Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
Duration - when the insulin is strongest or works the hardest
How to do a Curve
Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.
This is an example, most here will do testing every 2 hours, some every hour, some every 3 hours, really depends on what the numbers are doing thru the cycle.
So because it is first full day, u
may not see much happening or Bert could totally throw u a curve (no pun intended) ball and u may see a lot of good stuff!
By the way, for feeding, when u get to +10, u will want to pull food, the two hours leading up to the next shot time (PMPS) u will want to make sure there is no food spike influencing the preshot number. Therefore, many here give a snack at around +8 or +9 to keep kitty happy till dinner time,
the same applies for the AMPS.
A little treat would be fine in there in most cases.