1/29 Bert AMPS 330 +2 275 +4 303 +6 330 +8 352PMPS304 +3 313

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kathy

Member
I hope I do this right today ;-)

I gave him 1 unit.
He is eating right now.
I am going to do a BG in 2 hours.

We started his insulin for the first time last evening.
Here is his very roomy condo from yesterday :lol:

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=4503


Did I do this right?
 
Re: 1/29 Bert AMPS~330~1.0

:RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT

roomy condo!!! :lol: :lol: wait till Bert starts painting the walls!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/29 Bert AMPS~330~1.0

Yay Kathy!! Yes you did it right. dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat Sooo anxious to see how the +2 looks. You are doing great already :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/29 Bert AMPS~330~1.0

Welcome! I was following your story the past couple of days. You are right on top of things and I can tell Bert is going to do fantastic under your care. Just wanted to say welcome!
 
Re: 1/29 Bert AMPS~330~1.0

Yeah, me too....been following your saga. You will do GREAT! I remember giving my first shot vividly...and it's been 10 years! Jumped all around and not with glee..I hate needles and would never have imagined myself holding one let alone plunging it into a living thing....but we do what we have to for our furbabies....and never look back!

Now put on your dancing shoes cuz you're headed to the Sugar Dance! dancing_cat
 
Re: 1/29 Bert AMPS~330~1.0 +2 275

I could not of done any of this with out you guys.

You make be brave enough to do it :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/29 Bert AMPS 330 +2 275 +4 303

Is it normal for Bert's BG to go up some from the +2?

I am going to feed him some now.
 
Re: 1/29 Bert AMPS 330 +2 275 +4 303

Hi Kathy....nice place you have here... ;-) Welcome to condo land in LL.... :lol:
I hope you hand Bert will be very happy here.... :-D

Your links is perfect and your SS is attached and working just great...YOU are doing great and so is Bert!
Yippee...off and running! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/29 Bert AMPS 330 +2 275 +4 303

Kathy said:
Is it normal for Bert's BG to go up some from the +2?
I am going to feed him some now.


hmmm, since this is the first day, yes, although anything is possible, keep in mind also, u are going to give some food now, so next test may have a food spike.
By the way, what u are doing is known as a "curve" from the link up above "New to the group"


Learn how YOUR kitty is responding to insulin:
Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
Duration - when the insulin is strongest or works the hardest
How to do a Curve

Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

This is an example, most here will do testing every 2 hours, some every hour, some every 3 hours, really depends on what the numbers are doing thru the cycle.

So because it is first full day, u may not see much happening or Bert could totally throw u a curve (no pun intended) ball and u may see a lot of good stuff!

By the way, for feeding, when u get to +10, u will want to pull food, the two hours leading up to the next shot time (PMPS) u will want to make sure there is no food spike influencing the preshot number. Therefore, many here give a snack at around +8 or +9 to keep kitty happy till dinner time,
the same applies for the AMPS.
A little treat would be fine in there in most cases.
 
Re: 1/29 Bert AMPS 330 +2 275 +4 303 +6 330

Don't worry, Kathy. It takes a little while for things to settle in. You're doing great!
 
Re: 1/29 Bert AMPS 330 +2 275 +4 303 +6 330 +8 352 PMPS 304

Since I was doing a curve on Bert today...I ran out of room in the subject line for his number.

Here is how his day went:

1/29 Bert AMPS 330 +2 275 +4 303 +6 330 +8 352 +10 291 PMPS 304

I do not know what to think of this.
Any opinions?
This is his first full day on Lantus/insulin.
 
Re: 1/29 Bert AMPS 330 +2 275 +4 303 +6 330 +8 352 PMPS 304

cool, two yellows, maybe a hidden one in there,,,not bad!!! :-D

are u around to grab a couple of checks for the evening cycle?

at the most 2 spotchecks like +3 and a bedtime check, of course depending where he's heading...
 
Re: 1/29 Bert AMPS 330 +2 275 +4 303 +6 330 +8 352 PMPS 304

Lookie there! Bert's PMPS is lower than his AMPS. Yay!!! :RAHCAT

ETA (edited to add): He did get a yellow in there before the insulin started to wear off. You and Bert are doing great for your first day! Be proud of yourself Kathy!!!
 
Re: 1/29 Bert AMPS 330 +2 275 +4 303 +6 330 +8 352 PMPS 304

I am going to get one more BG in at 10:30 which will make it +3 since I shot.

Pray for my DH, he is going to test and give Bert his insulin in the morning.
I am going skiing with the kids and will not be home to give it.
I told him he did not have to do the curve and he checked Bert's BG the last time we did it.
He watched me draw and give the insulin, so I think he will be OK.....he aced law school so he should be able to do this right nailbite_smile
 
Re: 1/29 Bert AMPS 330 +2 275 +4 303 +6 330 +8 352 PMPS 304

u could always leave him a "fake" syringe clearly marked "sample" and mark it where he should fill it to.

I dunno...lawyers, hmmm... :? lol!!
 
I just did a PMPS +3 and it was 313.
He ate 1/2 can of FF with his shot, so could this be from the food?

We have had a long day of pokes, so Bert & I are going to bed to cuddle.

Thank you for all your support today.
I could not of done it with out you guys.

Goodnight...
 
Kathy - I sometimes see a little food spike about +2 after Webber's PM shot so that could be what is going on with Bert too. The more spot check you get over the next couple of weeks the more of a pattern you will see. You both did great today!!!

Ni-ni
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top