1/3 Oreo AMPS 372, +4 162, PMPS 255

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-18-oreo-amps-251-5-130-pmps-247.296707/

Oreo has been approved for the I-131 treatment for his hyperthyroidism. We drop him off on Monday and he'll be there until Friday. I'm a nervous wreck.
Wishing you all good luck and positive healing❤️. I hope it goes well and he does great there!! Please let us know how it goes:cat:
(I would like this treatment for Ivy but not sure she would do well while there, plus she’s difficult to handle)

I’m sure Oreo will do great! Are you sending him with something that smells like you? Like a tee shirt you’ve worn?

I’m sure it will be harder on you, waiting at home ❤️❤️❤️
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I will let you know how it goes. They don't want us to bring any personal items because their storage space is limited. They can't give anything back to us and they would have to store it for 80 days before disposing of it because of the radiation.
 
I will let you know how it goes. They don't want us to bring any personal items because their storage space is limited. They can't give anything back to us and they would have to store it for 80 days before disposing of it because of the radiation.
I’ve read that many places recommend either bringing a little soft bed and or a towel they have laid on at home and a T-shirt of yours, with the understanding that it would just be thrown out at the end of Oreo’s stay.
It’s supposed to make them feel more comfortable so they can smell you (and hone) and make their cage more comfortable for them for the week.
You wouldn’t be asking them to store anything, just throw it out when he leaves. Just a suggestion.
 
They can't throw it out when he leaves because it will be exposed to radiation and can't be thrown out for 80 days until the radiation wears off or they could get a fine for throwing radioactive material in the trash. They told us they don't have the space to store things like that. When he gets home, we have to store all the litter used for two weeks after his injection for 80 days as well outside in a sealed container.
 
They can't throw it out when he leaves because it will be exposed to radiation and can't be thrown out for 80 days until the radiation wears off or they could get a fine for throwing radioactive material in the trash. They told us they don't have the space to store things like that. When he gets home, we have to store all the litter used for two weeks after his injection for 80 days as well outside in a sealed container.
Got it. I see what you mean. Ugh. I did know you will need to store the litter at home. :blackeye:
 
It's definitely a lot to deal with. We're going to have to keep him in the bathroom when he gets home so he doesn't sleep on us which he is not going to like at all. No one is going to be happy for a couple weeks for sure.
 
Hi Shawnee, I’m not up to speed on your journey, but I just wanted to say good luck! I also am uneducated on that treatment, but a quick google search shows 95% to 98% effectiveness with the I-131? That’s incredible.
 
It's definitely a lot to deal with. We're going to have to keep him in the bathroom when he gets home so he doesn't sleep on us which he is not going to like at all. No one is going to be happy for a couple weeks for sure.
Ask around about all that stuff. I’ve read people may not isolate them so strictly. You may want to do a post on the main thread to see what others have done. There’s lots of people here who have been down this road already. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-18-oreo-amps-251-5-130-pmps-247.296707/

Oreo has been approved for the I-131 treatment for his hyperthyroidism. We drop him off on Monday and he'll be there until Friday. I'm a nervous wreck.
Hi Shawnee

I’ve had two cats that have had I131 and they both did great. Are they doing a scan beforehand to determine what dose of milliCuries he will get? That’s the best way to ensure he does not become hypothyroid. The clinic we went to allowed us to bring beds from home and then they kept them for cats who came in with no beds. It’s too bad where you are going won’t do the same. I’m sure our clinic probably got too many but they had no problem keeping and destroying them.

My first cat went in on Monday and came home Thursday and the most recent one, Tobey, who had I131 in 2023, got a very low dose. He went in Monday afternoon and came home on Wednesday afternoon. Both cats received loving care and the clinic had large enclosures and windows looking out at trees with birds. Tobey wouldn’t come out of his cube but the top lifted off so they could syringe feed him as he didn’t want to eat. I knew he’d want to be syringe fed because he gets fed a balanced raw diet and they didn’t allow raw so I had to cook it, which he didn’t like. But they were wonderful with him. He did become hypothyroid and he now takes levothyroxine (T4) and liothyronine (T3) at low doses and is doing great.

I strongly urge you to join the groups.io Feline Thyroid Management Group. They are fantastic and really know their stuff especially the administrator, Ro. They are responsible for Tobey doing so well. the I131 vet checked him post procedure and he was really HypoT, so she put him on T4 and a month later his tT4 was in the normal range so she proclaimed him euthyroid. However, clinically, he was still very hypoT. I joined the FTMG and they had me get a full thyroid panel from Hemopet and his tT3 was almost nonexistent so he was not converting T4 to T3 and T3 runs the body. It took some time to get his liothyronine dose right but they advised me along the way and our regular vet was on board even though most vets, including her, don’t check T3. She was willing to learn and prescribe it.

Oh…and btw, the kitty has to be at a safe level of radiation to leave the hospital. I did not have to do anything special with his litter and I think your clinic is being a little ridiculous. My Tobey is a mama’s baby and my vet said he could still sleep with me once he came home. Clinics are different and if Oreo gets a large dose, perhaps it’s better to not have him sleep with you but you can ask the FTMG.

Good luck and try not to worry!
 
Ask around about all that stuff. I’ve read people may not isolate them so strictly. You may want to do a post on the main thread to see what others have done. There’s lots of people here who have been down this road already. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

I've joined a few hyperthyroidism groups. I know a lot of people don't completely isolate them for the whole time. We'll probably just put him in the bathroom at night to be honest. He usually either sleeps on me or he sleeps in between me and my husband right next to our heads so probably don't want that to happen until the radiation wears off.
 
Hi Shawnee

I’ve had two cats that have had I131 and they both did great. Are they doing a scan beforehand to determine what dose of milliCuries he will get? That’s the best way to ensure he does not become hypothyroid. The clinic we went to allowed us to bring beds from home and then they kept them for cats who came in with no beds. It’s too bad where you are going won’t do the same. I’m sure our clinic probably got too many but they had no problem keeping and destroying them.

My first cat went in on Monday and came home Thursday and the most recent one, Tobey, who had I131 in 2023, got a very low dose. He went in Monday afternoon and came home on Wednesday afternoon. Both cats received loving care and the clinic had large enclosures and windows looking out at trees with birds. Tobey wouldn’t come out of his cube but the top lifted off so they could syringe feed him as he didn’t want to eat. I knew he’d want to be syringe fed because he gets fed a balanced raw diet and they didn’t allow raw so I had to cook it, which he didn’t like. But they were wonderful with him. He did become hypothyroid and he now takes levothyroxine (T4) and liothyronine (T3) at low doses and is doing great.

I strongly urge you to join the groups.io Feline Thyroid Management Group. They are fantastic and really know their stuff especially the administrator, Ro. They are responsible for Tobey doing so well. the I131 vet checked him post procedure and he was really HypoT, so she put him on T4 and a month later his tT4 was in the normal range so she proclaimed him euthyroid. However, clinically, he was still very hypoT. I joined the FTMG and they had me get a full thyroid panel from Hemopet and his tT3 was almost nonexistent so he was not converting T4 to T3 and T3 runs the body. It took some time to get his liothyronine dose right but they advised me along the way and our regular vet was on board even though most vets, including her, don’t check T3. She was willing to learn and prescribe it.

Oh…and btw, the kitty has to be at a safe level of radiation to leave the hospital. I did not have to do anything special with his litter and I think your clinic is being a little ridiculous. My Tobey is a mama’s baby and my vet said he could still sleep with me once he came home. Clinics are different and if Oreo gets a large dose, perhaps it’s better to not have him sleep with you but you can ask the FTMG.

Good luck and try not to worry!

I did join that group. They're using his initial T4 level for the injection, which was 6.8, so the doctor said he would be getting a low dose. He goes in on Monday and will come home on Friday. I probably wouldn't be as nervous if it weren't for the diabetes and him having to get insulin. That's my biggest worry. The doctor who is doing it has really good reviews. I'm also in a group on Facebook and several people in there have had it done at this clinic and have been happy. They did say he wouldn't be released unless he was at a safe level and the quarantine precautions were just for extra safety. They said the litter is because he would be expelling the radioactive material in his waste and if it's illegal to throw out radioactive material in the regular trash and the county could fine you for that.
 
Definitely hang onto the litter as instructed and dispose no earlier than told. There are radiation sensors at landfills—if they get set off and government men in three piece suits—men with very particular skill sets, dig through garbage hunting terrorists activity, only to find cat litter
upload_2025-1-8_18-1-11.jpeg


they contact all the local veterinarians and ask who has a cat recently treated with i131. They will track you down and fine you.

if there are children or pregnant women in the home I’d take everything they tell you very very seriously.
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-1-8_18-1-11.jpeg
    upload_2025-1-8_18-1-11.jpeg
    14.2 KB · Views: 53
Definitely hang onto the litter as instructed and dispose no earlier than told. There are radiation sensors at landfills—if they get set off and government men in three piece suits—men with very particular skill sets, dig through garbage hunting terrorists activity, only to find cat litter
View attachment 72247

they contact all the local veterinarians and ask who has a cat recently treated with i131. They will track you down and fine you.

if there are children or pregnant women in the home I’d take everything they tell you very very seriously.

Yeah, we're definitely going to do the litter protocol. No kids or anyone pregnant in the house. We're probably going to have to lock him in the bathroom at night because he usually either sleeps on my legs or between me and my husband, right next to our heads.
 
Yeah, we're definitely going to do the litter protocol. No kids or anyone pregnant in the house. We're probably going to have to lock him in the bathroom at night because he usually either sleeps on my legs or between me and my husband, right next to our heads.
I didn’t want him around my other cat so Tammuz lived in my library for a week and I’d visit and play with him there. I used the 5 gallon plastic paint pails that you get at Home Depot with a lid, and I put the litter inside a bag and then put the bags inside those paint pails and put that inside a trash barrel and left it in my backyard. that was probably overkill, but my backyard backs up against an oak preserve, and I didn’t want some raccoon deciding he wanted to visit. A more suburban setting I’m sure just the paint pails or something similar would work fine for storing the litter
 
I didn’t want him around my other cat so Tammuz lived in my library for a week and I’d visit and play with him there. I used the 5 gallon plastic paint pails that you get at Home Depot with a lid, and I put the litter inside a bag and then put the bags inside those paint pails and put that inside a trash barrel and left it in my backyard. that was probably overkill, but my backyard backs up against an oak preserve, and I didn’t want some raccoon deciding he wanted to visit. A more suburban setting I’m sure just the paint pails or something similar would work fine for storing the litter

That's what we're going to get to store it in and stick it out in the barn. No one goes in there very often.
 
Hi Shawnee (and Oreo) Just wanted to wish you good luck with the I-131. I have had a few of mine go through it, all quite successfully, and honestly the worst part is the litter storage after. I believe the disposal requirements are based on what state you live in- recently PA increased the amount of time you have to hold onto the waste before handing it off to the garbage company. I never quarantined any of mine, regardless of how much radiation they received (that's just me though) so do what you feel most comfortable with when Oreo comes home. Sending love, hugs, and positive vibes for Oreo! :bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Shawnee (and Oreo) Just wanted to wish you good luck with the I-131. I have had a few of mine go through it, all quite successfully, and honestly the worst part is the litter storage after. I believe the disposal requirements are based on what state you live in- recently PA increased the amount of time you have to hold onto the waste before handing it off to the garbage company. I never quarantined any of mine, regardless of how much radiation they received (that's just me though) so do what you feel most comfortable with when Oreo comes home. Sending love, hugs, and positive vibes for Oreo! :bighug::bighug:

Thank you! We picked him up this morning.
 
Back
Top