1/7, Binie, PMPS 241, +2 84 - big drop, what to do?

Heike & BInie

Very Active Member
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-243-2-242-4-240-6-5-275.297241/#post-3234599

Good evening,

I am in mild to medium panic. After a blue day I expected Binie to be flat at night. Now she had a big drop between PMPS and +2. I tested twice, to make sure it is correct. I gave her a tsp. of high carb 20 % and used high carb churus for testing. How can she drop that fast? How often should I test?

Help greatly appreciated. :nailbiting:
 
Hi Heike, breathe!
Since you are doing SLGS, Binie has earned a reduction going under 90. Congratulations!
I am hoping you get confirmation from an advisor.
I will write more. Just want to send you this.
 
They say after giving high carbs wear off to keep testing for 2 hours to make sure they don’t drop, since it’s early in the cycle.
She’s still in safe numbers where she is.
 
Out of curiosity, your spreadsheet says you gave your AM shot 35 minutes late. Did you give the PM shot at the same time (35 minutes late), or back on schedule? An earlier shot can act like an increase.

Looks like you've got this.
 
Hi Heike, 84 is a safe number! Congrats on the reduction. I see she's in the blue now. Avoid any more high carb food and get a test an hour after that +2.5. I'll keep a look out for your next test :cat:

Thank you so much Angela. While you wrote, I did the +3, it was 128. And I gave 1 more tsp. 20 %. :rolleyes: Shall I do a +3.45 then? Scared to wait a full hour.... :nailbiting: That was much easier with the libre....
 
Out of curiosity, your spreadsheet says you gave your AM shot 35 minutes late. Did you give the PM shot at the same time (35 minutes late), or back on schedule? An earlier shot can act like an increase.

Looks like you've got this.

Thank you Wendy! At night I walked her 10 minutes back. I wanted to take it slow, especially because she was not that high. Do you think the 10 minutes caused that? I did two +2 tests because I thought the test was wrong.
 
Now remember, Binie,
we’re hunting blue
upload_2025-1-7_13-32-31.jpeg


Sorry, wasn’t listening, what did you say?​
upload_2025-1-7_13-34-16.jpeg

catch me if you can!!!​

 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-1-7_13-32-31.jpeg
    upload_2025-1-7_13-32-31.jpeg
    66.6 KB · Views: 84
  • upload_2025-1-7_13-34-16.jpeg
    upload_2025-1-7_13-34-16.jpeg
    81 KB · Views: 91
I would wait an hour. No need to torture her and yourself with extra testing. I would also put the high carb food away ;).
Because you fed HC, you'll have to test at least once an hour for two hours after feeding it.

Shooting 10 minutes early should not have acted like an increase.
 
I would wait an hour. No need to torture her and yourself with extra testing. I would also put the high carb food away ;).
Because you fed HC, you'll have to test at least once an hour for two hours after feeding it.

Shooting 10 minutes early should not have acted like an increase.

O.k., thank you so much! Got it! So I test two more hours and now more high carb. But she can have low carb, right?
 
That could be.
When did she eat? Did she get anything at +1?
It could also be that she was clearing a bounce. You see how she started today at AMPS and much lower by PMPS, that can be a sign of an active upcoming cycle.
How has she been feeling lately?

She was eating a little at +12 and some more at +1. She is a grazer and doesn't eat much at once, so I left the food out and usually she gets hungry as the insulin kicks in. I didn't think about a bounce because she was going up from +10 on. My expectation was, that she would stay flat or even go up a little.

She is feeling much better than one would think, regarding the fact she has bacteria in her urine and has this issue with her breast wounds. Today we even played for some time and I thought I have to think about some indoor entertainment for her, because she is so much more awake and interested to do something.
 
didn't think about a bounce because she was going up from +10 on.
Am+9.75 211 to PMPS 241...is just within meter variance.
She is feeling much better than one would think, regarding the fact she has bacteria in her urine and has this issue with her breast wounds. Today we even played for some time and I thought I have to think about some indoor entertainment for her, because she is so much more awake and interested to do something.
Amazing :bighug::bighug: and could have contributed to the +2 drop.
 
Back
Top