1/7 Putty AMPS 281

Status
Not open for further replies.

Miriam and Putty (GA)

Very Active Member
A<PS 28ttp://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1465

Still bouncing from those 20's and 30's. I hope Putty is feeling ok today. After breffis he usually goes btb on either my bed or on a chair in the office. I looked everywhere for him and could not find him. My DD found him under the bed in the guest room. The only time he has ever gone there is we were remodeling. He ate all of his breffis and litterbox seems to be fine.
 
He is likely still not quite feeling himself and that is his little safe place . At least he is coming down from those highs! Come out Putty for some love!
 
I find Spike in odd places sometimes. His safe place is under the couch. I think he goes there to get away from it all too.
 
A little worried

Putty never refuses food...ever. This morning he did come out from under the bed but he has been in weird places that he never goes to all morning. He hissed at me a couple of times which is rare for him. When he hears me pick up his bowl he always comes to be tested and waits for his food. I took his food out, put it in his bowl and he did not move. When I went to get him he ran upstairs back under the bed. I brought his food to him and he would not come out. He growled at me. Is this a sign of pain. He came downstairs fine this morning for his shot and breffis but since then he is not himself. I even offered treats which he refused.....another thing he never refuses.

Any thoughts? Is as if he is scared of something although nothing has changed.
 
Re: 1/7 Putty AMPS 281 questions?

i'd be worried too. could something have spooked him? has he eaten anything at all?
 
Re: 1/7 Putty AMPS 281 questions?

This does not sound like the Putty we all know and love. Something is definately wrong here. How's the litter box action? Could he be constipated or maybe have a UTI beginning?
Poor Putty....hope things get better as the day progresses, if not, maybe trip to vet....oh, poor putty.
 
Re: 1/7 Putty AMPS 281 questions?

Come on Putty, Snap Out Of It!! Moonie does it sometimes, hides, doesnt come out for food, etc..Thay have days they dont feel so great, just like we do..Wait a little while, & see what happens--Could you give him some real chicken or Halos? Moonie will always eat that..
He did go high for him, so now hopefully he'll come down & feel well--He's not used to higher numbers Miriam, but dont panic--Let's see what happens later in the day..
If he's hungry he will eat... Hugs & get better vines to Putman!
 
Re: 1/7 Putty AMPS 281 questions?

I'd leave him alone and give him a little more time to see if he settles down. Something may have spooked him as others suggested. If he's still hiding after a few hours, I'd see if you can sort out what's going on. Putty doesn't sound overtly symptomatic - just cranky.
 
Re: 1/7 Putty AMPS 281 questions?

I forgot to add about an hour after breffis he did vomit a little.
I made an appointment for the vet tonight which will be a challenge if he does not come out of hiding.
It is not with my regular vet and I am not very fond of the vet we will be seeing......regular vet is at least there at the same time if vet needs to consult with her.
 
Re: 1/7 Putty AMPS 281 questions?

Well, I am not liking the sound of this report Miriam...the hissing and growling at you...hmmmm...
I hope it's something that will be done with by this evening. How is he with hairballs? Can you do another BG test
maybe or do you now want to upset him further? Might be a challenge to find him and do it, but it might be important.

I would probably have made the appointment too...glad you did that. Who knows? Maybe he will be back to feeling like himself
by then....but still, the behavior and hiding is not normal for him.... :sad: Best to have him checked instead of trying to guess...
Keep us posted...well, I know you will.... Hope you feel better Putty....
 
Re: 1/7 Putty AMPS 281 questions?

sorry putty isn't feeling great today. cleo pulls that sometimes, too (hiding under the bed). usually it's coz the other kitties are fighting or she just isn't feeling well.

hope whatever it is, it's easily and cheaply caught and fixed. will look for your update.
 
Re: 1/7 Putty AMPS 281 questions?

not liking that he threw up. he doesn't tend to eat forbidden stuff, does he? plants, ribbons, etc.? when was last litterbox action, everything normal at that end?

will he let you feel him up? see if he seems tender around the abdominal area?
 
Re: 1/7 Putty AMPS 281 questions?

I had to go out for a couple of hours so I left Putty's food in his dish expecting he would come out if I left. The food is still there and he is still hiding under the bed.
DH fed and gave him his shot this morning. He said he came down like he usually does but he went under the dining room table which he usually does not do. DH had to put the food bowl down so he would come out from under the table. He hissed and growled at him. He pooped right before he ate.
He slept on the bed with me last night like he usually does. I have no idea what could have spooked him. He gets fed at 5:45 am so it is pretty quiet in the house. At 6:30 am is when my DD found him under the bed.
Now I am really worried about him since he did not come out when I was gone.

CF.... I cannot even get to him to feel his stomach. He did let me test him at +2.5 this morning and he had a few treats after. He growled while he was eating them.
 
Re: 1/7 Putty AMPS 281 questions?

He doesn't have a history of chronic pancreatitis, does he?

If finances are not an issue, and he's not eating anyway, I wonder if you should withhold food from now on and have the vet send out for an fPL test this evening. It's done by Idexx, and turnaround should be a day or two. I know he's not fasted, but he's not eaten a lot either, from the sound of it, so the sample may not be lipemic (you can't run the fPL on a lipemic sample, AFAIK).

If he hadn't pooped, I'd say to get an x-ray too. Now I'm not sure. Maybe Cassandra will stop in with suggestions. Has he urinated?
 
Re: 1/7 Putty AMPS 281 questions?

CF, I did not see him urinate but when I cleaned the litterbox he had gone a couple of times....probably once last night and once this morning.
He does not have CP but I was wondering if maybe that is a possibility.
I just got off the phone with DH and he said that last night he caught Putty trying to eat from my DD' s dinner plate that she left near the sink. He does not think he could have gotten very much since he caught him but I was just wondering if maybe it could be from the little bit he did eat.

It was Chicken Marsala..... chicken that had been dipped in herb seasoned bread crumbs, mozzarella cheese, a little garlic powder, chicken broth and Marsala wine. I was not home at the time so I did not really see how much he ate........DH probably has no idea either.
He usually does not steal people food except chicken and maybe lettuce....he likes cheese.
 
Re: 1/7 Putty AMPS 281 questions?

I just put a bowl of food in the guest room and Putty came out and ate all the food (1/4 of a can) but is now hiding again. I really want to test......you know withdrawals for me.

It really seems as if something spooked him although I have no idea what.
Since he was in the 20's the other day could that have done something?? Grasping at straws here.
 
Insulin for tonight?

Putty ate about a 1/4 of a 3oz. can of food at +10. He is scheduled to go to the vet at + 12.5.
I don't want to skip or delay his shot but I don't want to feed him again in case the vet has to sedate him which depending on how upset he is they might have to do.

Is it ok to shoot the full dose and not feed? I can bring some food with me. If they do sedate him I would have to wait a little bit to feed him anyway after he is sedated.
 
Re: 1/7 Putty question about shot before I go to vet

Oh Miriam, I don't know about the shot, but hate to hear Putty is not himself today.

Hope the vet can find out what's going on. (((hugs))).
 
Re: 1/7 Putty question about shot before I go to vet

Just wanted to pop over and send you some lovies...hang in there; it's so hard when they're not being "normal"...

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 1/7 Putty question about shot before I go to vet

Doesn't sound like the Polite Putty we're and you're used to... Sending feel better vines.
 
Re: 1/7 Putty question about shot before I go to vet

Just catching up on Putty's condo and see that he did eat and that you are taking him to vet. I hope the vettie bean can give you some answers. Sending good vettiebean vines to Putty.
 
Putty recap

AMPS 281
+2.5 291
+10 234
PMPS 224
+ 3 194 not bad considering an hour and a half after vet and an hour after eating.

The vet is not sure what is going on. Blood work should be back tomorrow. She did test for pancreatitis.(sp). Putty ate his dinner and let me test him. He is very quiet right now. Going to the vet is an ordeal for him. We ended up seeing my regular vet that I love because the office lady likes Putty and knows I like my own vet so she snuck us in a room before the other vet came to get us. :thumbup
 
Hey Putty,
I hope you are having a pleasant evening and have recovered from your vet visit trauma.
 
I hope putty settles in tonight and feels better tomorrow. Sending vines for good blood work report. Will check in tomorrow. Hopefully I will have my head on right by then.
 
((((Miriam)))) I hope Putty will feel better tomorrow, and that the bloodwork will come back crystal clear. I agree, though, that Putty hiding and growling warranted a vet visit. Something must not have felt good.
 
So happy that you got to see your favorite vet!!! And that Putty's numbers were ok...all things
considered. Hoping for a peaceful night for you & Putty and that the results will be available soon.
Maybe Putty will feel better in the morning....
Thinking of you guys.... ((hugs))
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top