1/8 Fistuk AMPS 79, +3 128, +7 108 PMPS 90, +2.75 106

Fistuk & Shelly

Member Since 2023
Good morning Shelly!
Good luck with the increase. Hope that will bring steady greens for Fistuk!

I used to give a subQ injection of glucosamine for a senior kitty some years ago. That seems to help with the joint issues.
Maybe to talk with the vet about it? Hope there's something that can ease the joint discomfort for him.

Have a lovely Monday, Shelly! :bighug:
 
Hi Shelly, nice Amps for Fistuk today. I’m sorry to hear he’s feeling stiff in walking. Did you ever try a heating pad to lie on?
I know the cosequin is very common for joint pain. I wonder what other supplements may alleviate stiffness too?
Have you met with the new vet yet? Maybe they have a suggestion, yet another question. Or do a search on the main health forum for other ideas.
I hope the new dose will be a good one for Fistuk. Safe surfing little guy.
Have a peaceful Monday, Shelly :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good morning Shelly!
Good luck with the increase. Hope that will bring steady greens for Fistuk!

I used to give a subQ injection of glucosamine for a senior kitty some years ago. That seems to help with the joint issues.
Maybe to talk with the vet about it? Hope there's something that can ease the joint discomfort for him.

Have a lovely Monday, Shelly! :bighug:

Hi Kit :)
It's like Fistuk made every effort today to justify the increase :banghead:
So strange how he's numbers go up even though he gets more and more insulin.

Thanks for the suggestion. I'll ask about that. I did some research today about the right dosing of glucosamine. It looks like the one pill a day I'm giving is not engouh.

I hope you're having a good day :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Shelly, nice Amps for Fistuk today. I’m sorry to hear he’s feeling stiff in walking. Did you ever try a heating pad to lie on?
I know the cosequin is very common for joint pain. I wonder what other supplements may alleviate stiffness too?
Have you met with the new vet yet? Maybe they have a suggestion, yet another question. Or do a search on the main health forum for other ideas.
I hope the new dose will be a good one for Fistuk. Safe surfing little guy.
Have a peaceful Monday, Shelly :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Staci :)
Yes, he's had a nice AMPS but all the quite high blues. I do wonder if it's the cat flu. Ugh trying to decipher...
I havne't tried a heating pad. Fistuk is always looking for hot spaces to lie on but I think our bed or his bed are quite hot. I guess I can try and see if it helps.
I haven't yet met with the new vet. I honestly can't afford a vet at the moment. I'll have to wait wit this a bit. But I'll do a search in the main forum-I always forget this option so thanks for reminding me!
I hope you'r having a good day :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Staci :)
Yes, he's had a nice AMPS but all the quite high blues. I do wonder if it's the cat flu. Ugh trying to decipher...
I havne't tried a heating pad. Fistuk is always looking for hot spaces to lie on but I think our bed or his bed are quite hot. I guess I can try and see if it helps.
I haven't yet met with the new vet. I honestly can't afford a vet at the moment. I'll have to wait wit this a bit. But I'll do a search in the main forum-I always forget this option so thanks for reminding me!
I hope you'r having a good day :bighug::bighug::bighug:
You said:
So strange how he's numbers go up even though he gets more and more insulin.
Remember, it can be NDW with a new increased dose, new dose wonkiness, can give higher BGs for a few days/cycles. It’s not uncommon. Hang in there with the dose to see what it does for him :bighug::bighug:
 
You said:
So strange how he's numbers go up even though he gets more and more insulin.
Remember, it can be NDW with a new increased dose, new dose wonkiness, can give higher BGs for a few days/cycles. It’s not uncommon. Hang in there with the dose to see what it does for him :bighug::bighug:
Once again, thanks for reminding me! because I did forget :woot:
 
Fistuk's walk is very fragile again. His hips are stiff, he's walking very slowly and takes a break after a foot steps. I've increased B12 to 11mg. He gets cosequine. Don'e know what else I could give him.

Wishing you all a wonderful start to the week :bighug:
Hi Shelly , I think I remember you said Fistuk has arthritis
Here is one of your posts where one of our members suggested Adequan ,but you said you can't get it
Here is the post look at post numbers 33 down to #37
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...95-10-5-86-pmps-92-2-112.284428/#post-3131202

@Fistuk & Shelly
 
Last edited:
. I honestly can't afford a vet at the moment. I'll have to wait wit this a bit.
I hear you about not being able to afford a vet visit at the moment
When you can ask your vet about the adequan injections or solensia injections or something else they can suggest
Poor Fistuk I hate to hear his hips are stiff and he has to take a break after a few foot steps, so heartbreaking .
Good luck with the increase :bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:

@Fistuk & Shelly
 
Hi Shelly , I think I remember you said Fistuk has arthritis
Here is one of your posts where one of our members suggested Adequan ,but you said you can't get it
Here is the post look at post numbers 33 down to #37
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...95-10-5-86-pmps-92-2-112.284428/#post-3131202

@Fistuk & Shelly
Thanks for fishing the out, Diane.
Indeed I can't get it here. But the main ingredient is glucosamine which is what he gets from the cosequine.
I wanted to up the dose yesterday but since he had a bit of mush on top of his poo I needed to eliminate the possibility that it comes from the vitamin C so I didn't want to add another change then I won't be able to identify what's giving him the partly loos stool :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I hear you about not being able to afford a vet visit at the moment
When you can ask your vet about the adequan injections or solensia injections or something else they can suggest
Poor Fistuk I hate to hear his hips are stiff and he has to take a break after a few foot steps, so heartbreaking .
Good luck with the increase :bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:

@Fistuk & Shelly
Thanks, Diane. As you can imagine it's heartbreaking for me. This months we need to make sure we're able to buy food buy the end of the month. And we have lots of bills with some companies that are not so patient. It's a painful reality and that's what I have to face now.
I will try to give him more cosequine today. I read that I can give up to 500mg and in cosequine it's only 125mg a pill so there's room for more and hopefully it'll be helpful.
I read that there's no danger of over dosing. It's just going to give hi, diarrhoea or noses if it's too much.So it's good to know that I can't really harm him by giving too much.
Thanks for your support and compassion :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
btw @Diane Tyler's Mom. I was looking for some Physiotherpay or manual therapy for his joint. There's a woman on instagram I follow. She specialises in jin shin juts for animals. I used her anxiety relaxing technique a lot when Fistuk was at the hospital. I used another pressure point just now for the back leg, to release energy and it seems to work well. I'll keep doing that during the day and see how it helps

Here's the link to her IG account if anyone else is interested in trying out her stuff. Pretty powerful
https://www.instagram.com/jenniferbradleyjsj/
 
btw @Diane Tyler's Mom. I was looking for some Physiotherpay or manual therapy for his joint. There's a woman on instagram I follow. She specialises in jin shin juts for animals. I used her anxiety relaxing technique a lot when Fistuk was at the hospital. I used another pressure point just now for the back leg, to release energy and it seems to work well. I'll keep doing that during the day and see how it helps

Here's the link to her IG account if anyone else is interested in trying out her stuff. Pretty powerful
https://www.instagram.com/jenniferbradleyjsj/
Morning Shelly , yes try increasing the cosequin and see how it goes.
I have heard about doing that technique you are talking about.
I'm glad it seemed to help this morning, I would keep doing it during the day also.

Oh I hear you about money, about 2 years ago I had to file bankruptcy.
Thank God everything was cleared . It wasn't even as if I was buying things for myself , or tons of crap I didn't need .
Was for car repairs, vet visits things like that.

I collect SS Income so I am very careful with the money I spend.
I got rid of my landline phone, my cable,
My nephew got me the Firestick and added me to his account so I have a lot to watch there.
Food prices just keep going up and up it's crazy, I don't know how people can afford to buy anything anymore.
My husband passed in 2008 ,so it's just me now when it comes to income.
Living in NJ. is so experience, prices for apartments are nuts
I live in a 4 family apartment and it's rent control,so it's not that bad
I only have a 1 bedroom apartment and pay 1014.00 a month.
My landlord hasn't raised me in 2 years , but I know it's coming soon, I hope not.
I hope upping the cosequin and doing the pressure points help Fistuk.
Catch you later :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
@Fistuk & Shelly
 
Morning Shelly , yes try increasing the cosequin and see how it goes.
I have heard about doing that technique you are talking about.
I'm glad it seemed to help this morning, I would keep doing it during the day also.

Oh I hear you about money, about 2 years ago I had to file bankruptcy.
Thank God everything was cleared . It wasn't even as if I was buying things for myself , or tons of crap I didn't need .
Was for car repairs, vet visits things like that.

I collect SS Income so I am very careful with the money I spend.
I got rid of my landline phone, my cable,
My nephew got me the Firestick and added me to his account so I have a lot to watch there.
Food prices just keep going up and up it's crazy, I don't know how people can afford to buy anything anymore.
My husband passed in 2008 ,so it's just me now when it comes to income.
Living in NJ. is so experience, prices for apartments are nuts
I live in a 4 family apartment and it's rent control,so it's not that bad
I only have a 1 bedroom apartment and pay 1014.00 a month.
My landlord hasn't raised me in 2 years , but I know it's coming soon, I hope not.
I hope upping the cosequin and doing the pressure points help Fistuk.
Catch you later :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
@Fistuk & Shelly
Thanks for sharing, Diane. Sounds like you were going through a demanding process. I admire you for keeping your spirit up through it!
We owe the vet clinic for all the hospitalisation 5K. It's a lot of money. And there's the monthly spending on test strips and and ... I'm sure you know all about it.
And Zurich was just nominated to be the most expensive city in the world:p:p:p honestly I gotta luagh.
On Thursday morning I have a job interview. If I can get a part time job with my previous profession as a kindergarten teacher that will be extremely helpful.
I'm grateful for your support. When it comes to money there's often so much shame around that people don't talk about it. But yes, living expenses is getting higher and higher.
I'll sell a kidney for Fistuk. the only thing that comforts me about not being able to have a vet visit (yet bc it'll happen) is that even though this one looks promising, I don't pin any hopes on getting much help or answers from her. The best help I've received so far is in this forum:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
@Fistuk & Shelly
Good luck with the interview on Thursday, that would be great if you can land the job. I'll say a prayer that it works out for you.
I have no shame about talking about money problems lol
It is what it is
Yes 5K is a lot of money, you would think these vets would give you a break, if I was a vet I'd probably be broke because I would feel so bad for all the kitties and not charge them that much .
Hang in there Shelly, I hope the interview goes well :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top