1/8: Jude: AMPS 334; +1.5 257; +5.5 55; +6 81; +7 142; +10.5 203; PMPS 359; +2 412; +6 427

Jude has gone down to 55. I'm working today, and I drove home to check his bg. I have to go back to work as soon as possible. My plan is to check him again in 15-20 mins to see what direction he is headed in. He is sleepy, but that's nothing new. Otherwise, non-symptomatic. Do I need to feed him some MC food? He's very bouncy, and I want to keep the bouncing down, if possible (though I know this low number is going to send him soaring).

@Wendy&Neko @Bandit's Mom @tiffmaxee
 
Jude has gone down to 55. I'm working today, and I drove home to check his bg. I have to go back to work as soon as possible. My plan is to check him again in 15-20 mins to see what direction he is headed in. He is sleepy, but that's nothing new. Otherwise, non-symptomatic. Do I need to feed him some MC food? He's very bouncy, and I want to keep the bouncing down, if possible (though I know this low number is going to send him soaring).
Is that 55 on a pet meter? Can you retest toske sure it's an accurate reading? If so, feed Hc
 
I only have about 20 mins. before I have to go back. I teach, and I have a class coming up. If I have to take him with me, I'll do that, but he'll be alone in my office while I'm in class.
He'll probably bounce. Wow you can take him with you that's so great.
We typically recommend testing every hour for two hours after feeding HC. Considering where he is in the cycle, he might just head up from here.

Let's see where he is then you can decide to take him with you or if he'll be ok until you come home later.
 
He'll probably bounce. Wow you can take him with you that's so great.
We typically recommend testing every hour for two hours after feeding HC. Considering where he is in the cycle, he might just head up from here.

Let's see where he is then you can decide to take him with you or if he'll be ok until you come home later.

I can take him, but I have to sneak him in--we're probably not allowed--but I'm not going to just leave him on his own if he could die. I'll test him in 20 mins. and see how he's doing.
 
I hope you and Jude are doing ok and he had a good adventure going to work with you.
Wishing you a very safe night!!

Are you taking a dose reduction tonight since he was 55 today?
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I'm not sure if Jude should get a dose reduction tonight or not. Could someone please guide me. According to this, he didn't go below 50 (is he newly diagnosed? He was diagnosed in March of 24 and went into remission and came back out of remission in Oct. 24.).

"Reducing the dose:
  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit."
Jude's PM shot is at 8:00 p.m., CST.

Thanks!
 
I'm not sure if Jude should get a dose reduction tonight or not. Could someone please guide me. According to this, he didn't go below 50 (is he newly diagnosed? He was diagnosed in March of 24 and went into remission and came back out of remission in Oct. 24.).

"Reducing the dose:
  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit."
Jude's PM shot is at 8:00 p.m., CST.

Thanks!
He’s newly diagnosed if under 1 year since diagnosis.
But you use an Alpha Track, correct?
And I believe they aren’t supposed to drop under 68 on thr pet meter (I may be wrong but thought that was the number and cut off)
Please correct me if I’m wrong

@Angela & Cleo @Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee
 
I hope you and Jude are doing ok and he had a good adventure going to work with you.
Wishing you a very safe night!!

Are you taking a dose reduction tonight since he was 55 today?
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks, Staci. Jude was not down for the adventure, sad to say. I have a brand new rolling carrier because Jude is so chonky, and with my hand/wrist issues, I cannot lift and carry, so as I was rolling him into my building, and as Jude was screaming like I was gutting him, we passed the Dean of Something Big. The dean looked at me, did a double-take in looking at Jude, turned around to approach us, but then walked on, thank God. Then J and I got on the elevator to go up to my office, and he promptly peed in the new carrier and onto the elevator floor. He was very upset. I'm sorry I had to take him as it's so destabilizing for him, but I was too afraid to leave him. I've got to figure out something to deal with situations like this. I have a feeling I'm going to hear from someone regarding a cat in the office.
 
Thanks, Staci. Jude was not down for the adventure, sad to say. I have a brand new rolling carrier because Jude is so chonky, and with my hand/wrist issues, I cannot lift and carry, so as I was rolling him into my building, and as Jude was screaming like I was gutting him, we passed the Dean of Something Big. The dean looked at me, did a double-take in looking at Jude, turned around to approach us, but then walked on, thank God. Then J and I got on the elevator to go up to my office, and he promptly peed in the new carrier and onto the elevator floor. He was very upset. I'm sorry I had to take him as it's so destabilizing for him, but I was too afraid to leave him. I've got to figure out something to deal with situations like this. I have a feeling I'm going to hear from someone regarding a cat in the office.
Oh no. I’m so sorry it was not a good adventure :(
 
Thanks, Staci. Jude was not down for the adventure, sad to say. I have a brand new rolling carrier because Jude is so chonky, and with my hand/wrist issues, I cannot lift and carry, so as I was rolling him into my building, and as Jude was screaming like I was gutting him, we passed the Dean of Something Big. The dean looked at me, did a double-take in looking at Jude, turned around to approach us, but then walked on, thank God. Then J and I got on the elevator to go up to my office, and he promptly peed in the new carrier and onto the elevator floor. He was very upset. I'm sorry I had to take him as it's so destabilizing for him, but I was too afraid to leave him. I've got to figure out something to deal with situations like this. I have a feeling I'm going to hear from someone regarding a cat in the office.
Awww I’m sorry about the trip today. I do really admire your willingness to take than on though. You’re doing great for Jude - hopefully the reduction goes well if you do it.
 
I've got to figure out something to deal with situations like this
I think today's data shows you quite a bit of information. He came up within 20 minutes and stayed up with just a bit of HC 20% then some LC. That's good info to have :cat:. Hard to say if the same would happen at a different point in the cycle.
 
Awww I’m sorry about the trip today. I do really admire your willingness to take than on though. You’re doing great for Jude - hopefully the reduction goes well if you do it.

Thanks, Tim. It's difficult managing this illness when working full time AND when alone and without additional support. I'm not the only one, though; most everyone here is trying to manage this disease with their own limitations.
 
I think today's data shows you quite a bit of information. He came up within 20 minutes and stayed up with just a bit of HC 20% then some LC. That's good info to have :cat:. Hard to say if the same would happen at a different point in the cycle.

Agreed! I'm so glad he bounced back up with the tsp of HC. When I wrote that, though, I was thinking more along the lines of needing to find someone who can monitor Jude if he goes low when I need to be at work. I might check with my vet to see if, when he goes low like this, they can take him and monitor until I get home.
 
I think today's data shows you quite a bit of information. He came up within 20 minutes and stayed up with just a bit of HC 20% then some LC. That's good info to have :cat:. Hard to say if the same would happen at a different point in the cycle.

Angela, In the future, at what point should I begin feeding MC or HC food if Jude goes low?
 
Anytime Jude is under 68, feed higher carb food. If it's later in the cycle, you might be able to get away with MC. But this is one of those ECID things, you have to Know Thy Cat. Cats differ in how carb sensitive they are. Recording how much you gave when, like you did, is a good reference for next time.
Since there is no equivalent, any number under 68 on a pet meter is a reduction. I think you should reduce for safety.
Tagging @Wendy&Neko @Bandit's Mom for confirmation.
We don't even know for sure that 68 is equivalent to 50, we just know that it is close-ish and we don't want a kitty on insulin below that. As far as what the equivalent on the pet meter is of 40 on a human meter. That is anyone's guess. I've seen people compare the two meters in lower numbers, and most, but not all of the times, the AT is higher. There a reason the Dosing Method Sticky says "THE USE OF PET-SPECIFIC METERS IS DISCOURAGED BECAUSE THE DOSING METHODS USED ON THE FDMB WERE CREATED WITH METERS CALIBRATED FOR HUMANS. ALL REFERENCED NUMBERS CORRESPOND WITH METERS FOR HUMANS, NOT PET METERS."
 
Anytime Jude is under 68, feed higher carb food. If it's later in the cycle, you might be able to get away with MC. But this is one of those ECID things, you have to Know Thy Cat. Cats differ in how carb sensitive they are. Recording how much you gave when, like you did, is a good reference for next time.

We don't even know for sure that 68 is equivalent to 50, we just know that it is close-ish and we don't want a kitty on insulin below that. As far as what the equivalent on the pet meter is of 40 on a human meter. That is anyone's guess. I've seen people compare the two meters in lower numbers, and most, but not all of the times, the AT is higher. There a reason the Dosing Method Sticky says "THE USE OF PET-SPECIFIC METERS IS DISCOURAGED BECAUSE THE DOSING METHODS USED ON THE FDMB WERE CREATED WITH METERS CALIBRATED FOR HUMANS. ALL REFERENCED NUMBERS CORRESPOND WITH METERS FOR HUMANS, NOT PET METERS."

Wendy, should I give him a dose reduction tonight?
 
I went ahead and shot Jude with a .25 reduction (2.75). I didn't really want to do this because I'm trying so hard to regulate him. 2.75 has brought him into the greens, but so has 2.50. Who knows.

Thanks, everyone, for your feedback and help.
 
I went ahead and shot Jude with a .25 reduction (2.75). I didn't really want to do this because I'm trying so hard to regulate him. 2.75 has brought him into the greens, but so has 2.50. Who knows.

Thanks, everyone, for your feedback and help.
It’s for his safety. Best thing to do!! That’s what matters most :bighug::bighug:
 
I would have done exactly what you did Marielle. If there were to be any kind of repercussion I might even open a dialogue about job accommodation for emotional support animal for my anxiety disorder. That is a bit of a stretch, but we do what we have to do within reason.

Given the human meter vs pet meter situation, I was wondering if you want to go to the human meter but have not done so for some reason. I *think* I recall that the volume of blood needed may differ and that could be why you are using pet meter … if so, I want to share my process and tools for the whole ear prick situation b/c altho it took some time, this has become a routine that works for Minner.

The picture is of her box. All ear pricking happens in the box. The stuff in the box is in order of use, left to right. The rice filled sock is warmed in microwave. The cat man doo freeze dried chicken is used to get Minner to jump in the box. I shake the bag, throw pieces in the box and she usually jumps in w/o much trouble. Sock is pressed against ear a few times in between rubbing ear. Cotton ball put in ear as padding, and so I don’t prick my own finger, ultra thin lancet pricks outside of ear in “sweet spot” zone. Squeeze a bit to get beaded blood. Then, these strips literally suck up the blood. I have the strip already almost all the way in the meter in advance so a final tap to activate it then pickup the whole meter with active strip and touch the strip to the bead of blood. I previously used a slightly larger lancet but her ear is trained now so smaller ones work fine. Then use kleenex to press / stop any blood flow. Then she gets one of the fancy feast hand selected chicken treats.

If someone had told me 7 months ago that one day soon I would be giving injections with needles and taking blood samples multiple times a day I would not have believed it to be possible. Yet here we are. :)

upload_2025-1-8_22-32-47.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-1-8_22-32-47.jpeg
    upload_2025-1-8_22-32-47.jpeg
    122 KB · Views: 68
Thanks for that explanation, Laura. Our system is basically the same except Jude is pretty good with not getting treats. He's very motivated by scritches, and I give him a lot of them when testing. And you're correct; I haven't wanted to switch to the human meter bc of the required sample amount--pet meters require .03 and human meters .05. Sometimes, I poke in a spot that just doesn't result in a lot of blood--I try to stay in the "zone," and try to warm the ear, but it just happens. It's then that I'm glad the meter only requires a small amount of blood, and I don't need to re-poke. But I'm going to make the switch to the human meter, likely this next week. I know it helps here on this site when everyone is using an instrument that is calibrated similarly. Plus, it will save me a lot of money.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top