+1 Test Results - Advice Needed

PyxieStyx

New Member
Hi all,

New member as of yesterday- still getting my bearings and filled with questions!

Romulus' AMPS was 274 mg/dL this morning on our pet meter. We're holding our dose at this point, so we dosed 2u (our vet's recommended dose at this time). Romulus ate 2 cans of RC Glycobalance food (current food, about to start working towards an FF classics transition).

I've not done a +1 test before, so I decided to spot-check him today after reading about fast onset for Vetsulin. He came in at 416 mg/dL.

Knowing the food causes his BG to increase, my question is this: is this amount of increase unusual at the +1 mark on Vetsulin? I know ECID, and I intend to test today at +3, +6 and +9 for a better overall understanding of his numbers until we can perform a 12 hour curve, but seeing the SS cell turn red this morning after dosing has given me the willies. :( Just looking for some reassurance if this is to be expected, or some advice if its not.
 
Hello and welcome! That definitely looks like a food bump to me. Make sure to test carefully and make your food transition slowly when switching to low carb. Any chance of switching to a better insulin for cats?
 
Back
Top