10/20 Lucky +12@65 stalled, +12.15@52, +12.3@52, +12.45@50, +13@46, + 13.3@68, +14.3@313

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by allison snyder, Oct 20, 2020.

  1. allison snyder

    allison snyder Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2020
  2. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    At 46, we want to bring kitty up above 50 with HC (high carb food) and a bit of honey/syrup (1/4 tsp). Then test in 20-30 mins.
     
  3. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Did you give insulin? If not, please don’t.
     
  4. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    I am confused by your SS. Was 46 at +12? And then you stalled without food for an hour? Have you re-tested?
    Sorry, just catching up.
     
  5. allison snyder

    allison snyder Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2020
    No, I have not. I'll do the above..,
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  6. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Could you please update the spreadsheet with the numbers?
     
  7. allison snyder

    allison snyder Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2020
    No, he was 65 for his PMPS without food. Went down to 52 and stayed there for 1/2 an hour and then down to 46.
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  8. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Ahh ok. I would say feed the kitty. Looks like you may need to skip insulin tonight, with the momentum of the bounce break.

    Once fed, let’s retest in 20-30.

    you may need to monitor for several hours still, as the depot is still in play.
     
  9. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I know a reduction was earned yesterday but I think you might need to reduce again in the morning. I would not shoot tonight. When low like that at shot time without food they can drop more which is what happened.
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  10. allison snyder

    allison snyder Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2020
    No, he was
    yes, I also have numbers in my comments.
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  11. allison snyder

    allison snyder Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2020
    Ok
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  12. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    I agree on the skip. How long after the 65 was the 52? Oh, sorry, see it's in the comments. It's much better to have the numbers in the hours cells. In the PMPS cell you could put 65; 52@12.3; 52@+12.5;50@+12.75;46@+13.75, then put Skip or NS (no shot) in the units.

    The problem with stalling, is that if you wait too long they keep dropping and become unshootable.
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  13. allison snyder

    allison snyder Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2020
    That makes sense. I was expecting his insulin to wear off. Should I reduce by .25 again?
     
  14. allison snyder

    allison snyder Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2020
    So, should I have shot at the 65 or 52? Last time, I shot at 57, he was in the 40's for a bit.
     
  15. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I’m kind of on the fence on that because the depot of the 2.75 is in play still and you are going to skip tonight so I would probably not reduce again. See what the amps is and post for advice. If it’s high I would not reduce again.
     
  16. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    No. She’s too new to insulin to shoot that low. You were right to stall. After 20 minutes when she didn’t go up I would have fed normal lc food and skipped. If after 20 she came up over 100 I would have shot. If she had come up a little I would stall another 20 and see if over 100.
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  17. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Have you had a chance to test again?
     
  18. allison snyder

    allison snyder Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2020
    Just did @68
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  19. allison snyder

    allison snyder Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2020
    Ok, Thank you!
     
  20. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Ok, good! And kitty has eaten? What did you end up feeding?

    If honey or syrup, probably want to test in 30 mins. It wears off fast.

    If just HC or regular food, I would test in 1 hr. Even with no insulin, you could have some duration into this cycle from the depot.
     
  21. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Oops, it’s in your thread title... ok, 30 mins is next test.
     
  22. allison snyder

    allison snyder Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2020
    I fed HC with 1/4 tsp of karo. I will test in an hour. Thanks for the advice!
     
  23. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Ok :) you are welcome:bighug:

    Once you are able, now that kitty is up above 50 and you hav skipped insulin, it would be helpful to update your thread title to something like:

    10/20 Lucky +12 65, stall, +12.25 52, +12.5 52, +13 46 skip, +13.5 68

    When you do your next test in an hour... it will be +14.5, or something like that...depending on what time in the cycle it is. Since you didn’t give insulin, you are still technically on the am cycle. Hope that helps!
     
  24. allison snyder

    allison snyder Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2020
    Got it! He's jumped to 313
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  25. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    I see that. What are you thinking from here? Could be karo/HC induced number, but could be a bounce?
     
  26. allison snyder

    allison snyder Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2020
    I think it's more of a bounce pushing that number. A couple of nights ago, he was in the 40's at +5 and I gave him HC and karo. He did not go that high that fast. I'm going to set my alarm and check him in a couple of hours.
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.

Share This Page