10/20 Panini AMPS 120, +0.5 115, +1.5 134, +3.5 99, +6 104, +9 168, +11 145, PMPS 228 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

10/20 Panini AMPS 120, +0.5 115, +1.5 134, +3.5 99, +6 104, +9 168, +11 145, PMPS 228

Hello,

I am new to shooting low I would usually not given insulin at 120 BG - should I shoot? I also just started lantus and I know it is a depot shot and takes a few days. So should I keep dose at 2U if i shoot? I know changing dose can affect BG in a few days per the sticky note. Please advise.


https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-19-panini-amps-336-3-399-pmps-391.295046/
Did you shoot yet? Did you feed yet?
If you shoot can you monitor?
 
Do you have enough test strips, high carb food and honey/syrup?

Yes, please test her an hour after the shot (+1) and let us know where she is at?
 
@Diane Tyler's Mom GA

Thank you! I'm definitely trying to figure out the right dosage, it's definitely tricky. I was reading over the information again and I know it is recommended to do .25 increment changes and his blood was under 90 so I was going to see how it trends with 1.75U. He was doing so good Sunday then Monday I was worried about giving him 2units at 105 BG and then leave to work without being able to monitor him or give him food.. then I regretted that decision when I got home and tested and he was back into 300s. Maybe I should have given him HC food that morning and gave insulin.. just didn't want him to go hypo. He was in 300s this morning, I got off work a little earlier and tested it's 66. I was going to feed him a snack and retest in two hours before dinner time. Any advice or suggestions?
 
@Jessica’s Panini
Hi Jess can you start a new post for today on the Lantus Board and link your previous post which is from (10-20) You need to reduce to 1.50 units since he dropped to 66 .
I'm going to tag a few experienced members for you to take a look at your spreadsheet and see if they can suggest a dose that you can shoot for both cycles. I know you can only get the AMPS test and then have to head off to work
 
Last edited:
@Diane Tyler's Mom GA

Thank you! I'm definitely trying to figure out the right dosage, it's definitely tricky. I was reading over the information again and I know it is recommended to do .25 increment changes and his blood was under 90 so I was going to see how it trends with 1.75U. He was doing so good Sunday then Monday I was worried about giving him 2units at 105 BG and then leave to work without being able to monitor him or give him food.. then I regretted that decision when I got home and tested and he was back into 300s. Maybe I should have given him HC food that morning and gave insulin.. just didn't want him to go hypo. He was in 300s this morning, I got off work a little earlier and tested it's 66. I was going to feed him a snack and retest in two hours before dinner time. Any advice or suggestions?
@tiffmaxee
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Bandit's Mom
@Wendy&Neko

Hi ladies I asked Jessica to start a new thread for today
 
@Jessica’s Panini
Hi Jess can you start a new post for today on the Lantus Board and link your previous post which is from (10-20) You need to reduce to 1.25 units since he dropped to 66 .
I'm going to tag a few experienced members for you to take a look at your spreadsheet and see if they can suggest a dose that you can shoot for both cycles. I know you can only get the AMPS test and then have to head off to work
@tiffmaxee
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Bandit's Mom
@Wendy&Neko
 
Looks like Panini came up and you fave insulin. Whether you reduce or not depends on which method you follow. With SLGS a reduction to 1.5 was earned since the BG was under 90 yesterday but you didn’t reduce and again today. The dose gets reduced the next cycle if you see a BG under 90 the next cycle you shoot and it becomes your new dose.
 
Back
Top