? 10/3 Minner AMPS 215 PMPS 80, +1 146, +6 vomiting, +7 361

MinnerPip

Active Member
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-29-minner-amps-220-pmps-82-vomiting.294467/

Tonight we had almost identical repeat of 9/29 evening. We have been at reduced 4.25 since the Sunday night scare. I am so frustrated and scared. The repeated ear pricking is not sustainable yet the Lantus seems to have become so dynamic it’s becoming risky to not have CGM. The vet had told me he thinks the vomiting may be gastric reflex response to large fluctuations in BG levels. It doesn’t seem we really know what is going on.

I was able to get half of a 16mg cerenia into her at PMPS +8. I’m expecting her BG to be in 400-500 range by time for AM dose. She’s starving and is losing weight. We’ve been on Lantus almost 3 months now and I’m starting to question if we should try another insulin since ECID and maybe something else would work better for her. Totally guessing, just desperate and frustrated.

I’m assuming this community will recommend I reduce again by 0.25 to 4.0 units, but please let me know. I’m scared to shoot her here in 4-5 hours given the vomiting that happened (i thought we always should get food into them before Lantus kicks in).

Advice and help and opinions please? Thank you so much.
 
10/4 AMPS is 249. It is so confusing. How did she drop from 361 at +7 last night to 249 AMPS ? I waited an hour later for AM shot so it’s been 25 hours since her 4.25 dose yesterday AM. I also reduced to 4.0.

I think my vet is going to dispense ondansetron (Zofran) this morning for her. Has anyone needed to use this in conjunction with their insulin therapy? I am divided about it b/c it will suppress what might be a warning sign I should know about (??). At same time, I need her to be able to eat and keep food down when taking insulin. I would be afraid to dose her regardless of her BG value if she had already vomited and I did not have cerenia or zofran in her following that. All these decisions are overwhelming. :(

I have appt to get Libre on her tomorrow. It’s been 2 months since she had it on her. Given these two strange episodes of dropping way down by PMPS time, skipping PM dose and then vomiting this week, I’m really confused about what to do to get back to some kind of stability. Even with BG consistently in 200 range … it seems that is a better regulated situation (and less stressful for all) than the drastic swings experienced with these two episodes this week.

Advice and encouragement needed. Thank you.
 
Here’s your previous post for continuity.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...mps-220-pmps-82-vomiting.294467/#post-3210584

On this forum we ask you to post a new condo each day you post. This one was started yesterday.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/posting-guidelines-please-read.231511/

I will answer your questions but ask you to start a new condo. I’ve given ondansetron to Max who was on insulin and it was a wonder drug for him. It was correct to reduce to 4.0 as a reduction is earned starting the next dose every time the bg falls under 90 when following SLGS.
 
Back
Top