hi all.. milo and i head to the vet shortly to get his new libre on today which is perfect timing.
last night milo went hypo at +5 and lasted till +6... i stayed up with Bandits Mom ( don't know how to tag) till + 8.
So this means dose decrease .. i will be shooting 1.25 in a few minutes
his PMPS is in a few minutes and right now it says he is 386
I didn't wake up to pick up his food - i missed my alarm- but the food was picked up at +11
so that read isn't 100% for sure without food for two hours.. he might have had some
Sounds like he was just in low numbers and no hypo symptoms, right? Looks like you got him up quickly. It takes longer than 10 minutes for food to bring up the bg, more like 20-30 so either it wasn’t really that low or he came up on his own. I know either way when you see line it’s normal to get scared. Congrats on the reduction.
so milo was hissing at his carrier ( not surprised after the last vet visit he runs when he sees it ).. so he is still home. i called the vet to update with what happened last night. the gal on the phone thinks that the vet might want me to stay at 1.5 because if his PMPS was so high that means he needs the insulin.. i tried to explain the new dose wonkiness of him being new to that dose and how its an adjustment period but she said she would call back with what the vet wanted me to do. .. She said its pretty frowned upon to be moving doses so much - ugh i hate that they see dosing fully different than this group it makes it so uncomfortable
To keep at 1.50 is dangerous. The people working at the vet should not give that kind of advice. If I had even a penny for all the bad advice vet’s and techs give I could start my condo remodel right now! Then we are left to pick up the pieces or the cats end up at the ER.
I was shocked when people here started giving me dosing advice. What? Listen to lay folks over my vet? I learned slowly and started listening. My vet who is an internist and excellent stopped giving me advice. He managed all of Max’s other issues. I sent him the spreadsheet every few weeks which he showed to his students who spent a week following him in the office. He said I managed Max better than any other client.
You have to do what makes you feel comfortable. We are here if you need us.
i definitely feel best listening to this group- its just an awkward conversation to have with someone whose profession it is ha! i agree that keeping at 1.5 is dangerous- it just calls for another hypo. it sounds like she may base dosing off of AMPS/PMPS and this group from what I've learned bases it off nadir? But i do believe she was a vet tech- she talks like a vet but she kept mentioning that she would "check with the vet"
So with milo refusing to be cooperative about leaving- do you think it would be okay to give him gabapentin to calm him down so i can try in a few hours? The one thing im worried about is that his sensor is now expired- that's the reason we are going to the vet, to get his new one placed. sO i am nervous after last night to not be able to watch his symptoms
just got off the phone with them again- i was asking about the gabapentin.. she said do it. but then she went on to tell me she talked to the vet ( who is off today) and said that they think Lantus must not be working for him since he dropped from his PMPS to 45 so quickly. She said they might have me switch insulin today and that i "have to follow exactly what the vet says because your making it more dangerous for him"
just got off the phone with them again- i was asking about the gabapentin.. she said do it. but then she went on to tell me she talked to the vet ( who is off today) and said that they think Lantus must not be working for him since he dropped from his PMPS to 45 so quickly. She said they might have me switch insulin today and that i "have to follow exactly what the vet says because your making it more dangerous for him"
Are you using a vial or pens? The vial will last at least 5-6 months. A box of pens will last at least year. But the time you need a refill you can show your ss or find a new vet. I’d have a talk with your vet. Maybe he/she will respond differently than the tech. For today you could get the Libre put in and work on learning to test over the next couple of weeks. What do you think?
I am so curious which insulin they would switch him to as lantus and Levemir are the best for cats.
I’d like to stay on Lantus … she had called several vets and not one has prozinc so I’m hoping we stay here. And I do the pen. The prescription was only for one … so I went to Costco and got the single one. They don’t like my syringes being u-100 and she suggesting u-40
I’d like to stay on Lantus … she had called several vets and not one has prozinc so I’m hoping we stay here. And I do the pen. The prescription was only for one … so I went to Costco and got the single one. They don’t like my syringes being u-100 and she suggesting u-40
That is WRONG! U40 is not for lantus. This shows they don’t know about lantus and I would be running from them. Ask a pharmacist if you dint believe me. That is malpractice in my opinion.
Okay I’m finally home From vet. So she circled back to her u-40 comment - she was saying if we switched to prozinc. I explained how I just got this new pen maybe Two weeks ago and just ordered two hundred syringes of u-100 that are delivered literally today. So I said I want to stay where we are because I can’t afford the change snd I think Lantus should have more time. She and the vet ( whom she was texting because she is as home) said we can give it a week at 1.25 and see how he does but thrh aren’t ruling out prozinc . The libre was placed by me which I’m happy about it was easier than I thought. Milos BG read right now at +5 is 113. Which to me is suspicious since he was just at the vet for so long I expected to be higher. He did have gabapentin this morning at +2 snd he is fully zonked from it
One thing that bothered me was she said the vet thinks I’m too involved snd im stressing myself out unnecessarily. Which I mean I am insanely stressed snd I haven’t been sleeping But too involved?? They say I scan to much snd I need to back off snd let them do the work. She said imagine the days when I didn’t have the libre , and he could have hit lows ( 40s) without me knowing and everything was fine in the End because I didn’t know. Which is nuts because I had to bring him back up from the 40s. Like that was a serious event in my eyes and she’s essentially brushing off like “ignorance is bliss” kind of attitude
So I fed Milo at +5.5 and since has been dropping slightly. Any thoughts ? Should I be concerned? In my spreadsheet I’ve attached a screenshot of his numbers. He ate at 2:05
I agree with everything Elise has said.
I would stay with the Lantus. Not sure your vet knows much about feline diabetes.
Of course you are stressed out. I would be too if I’d had the run around you have had with your vet and vet tech.
You aren’t too involved. You are Milo’s advocate and need to be involved. I think some vets just like people who do what they say and don’t challenge them……
Keep doing what you are doing!
So vet things aside.. milo has remained low today which i love to see.. almost our +10 .. right now he is at 119 and he just ate about twenty minutes ago. If he doesn't go above 200 i need to skip tonights shot right? i know there is still time for it to rise, but given that +10 is when he starts fasting i can't imagine it rising much
If you can monitor and have hc and mc tonight he doesn’t need to be above 200 to shoot. Post his pmps and ask for dosing advice. As you get comfortable you can shoot lower and lower numbers with the goal of shooting anything over 50. Hrs already higher than he was yesterday.
Hey all, so Milo had a hypo event last night and today his numbers have been fantastic... i have on the SS his PMPS is 195, but his PMPS is actually in twenty minutes.. i just wanted to jot it down for now. I went out and bout medium carb and high carb canned food to monitor him tonight just incase.... Do we think i can go ahead and still give him his dose of 1.25? what are the chances he will go hypo again?
I’m going to set my alarm for his +4.5 just to check because I’m nosey but it does seem like a bounce. I hate that a small part of me was thinking he could ride out what he has earlier today
This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.