11/17 Lulu PMPS 136, +3 279, AMPS 401 - Increase dose?

@Bandit's Mom @tiffmaxee Thank you both! Just tested Lulu's PMPS and it's currently 82. I gave 1.25 units in the morning and was going to start 1.5 tonight. Based on the PMPS, should I still continue with the increase?
 
Lulu’s BG numbers have been dropping all day, and this looks like your first time shooting green. I’d suggest monitoring closely, starting with a +1 and +2 and go from there depending on her numbers. Do you have high carb food and or syrup to intervene with if necessary?
 
Lulu’s BG numbers have been dropping all day, and this looks like your first time shooting green. I’d suggest monitoring closely, starting with a +1 and +2 and go from there depending on her numbers. Do you have high carb food and or syrup to intervene with if necessary?

Yes I have syrup on hand just in case. I will monitor at +1 and +2 to see how it goes, keep you posted
 
Good job getting that +1, let’s see where she is at in 20 minutes or so, and if the syrup gives her a bit of a bump. With the AT3, a BG under 68 earns a a reduction. Looks like she didn’t want an increase after all. Depending on how her appetite usually is, let’s keep the feeding down to just a few bites, max 2 teaspoons, and just keep monitoring.

Here is the sticky on when numbers are lower, although numbers are based on human meter but the intent is the same.

How to Handle Low numbers
I’ll watch for your next test.
 
Good job getting that +1, let’s see where she is at in 20 minutes or so, and if the syrup gives her a bit of a bump. With the AT3, a BG under 68 earns a a reduction. Looks like she didn’t want an increase after all. Depending on how her appetite usually is, let’s keep the feeding down to just a few bites, max 2 teaspoons, and just keep monitoring.

Here is the sticky on when numbers are lower, although numbers are based on human meter but the intent is the same.

How to Handle Low numbers
I’ll watch for your next test.

Thank you. Going to test again in about 5 mins, will let you know asap
 
Try and resist doing it sooner than 15-20 minutes, since it takes some time for the carbs introduced to get into the bloodstream. But I get it, the waiting when you see a lower number feels awful :bighug:

Yes feels like time moves slow while waiting! But just tested and now it's up to 104, I'll test again in 1 hour to see where it goes :)
 
Good stuff, back above 68 is what we want to see, and checking again is important since the high carbs can wear off quickly, especially since it’s still early in the cycle. How’s Miss Lulu feeling with all this extra attention? :cat:
 
And…there is a tradition here on the LLB forum when you shoot your first green, you get awarded this:

upload_2024-11-17_20-28-16.gif
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-11-17_20-28-16.gif
    upload_2024-11-17_20-28-16.gif
    18.4 KB · Views: 217
Good stuff, back above 68 is what we want to see, and checking again is important since the high carbs can wear off quickly, especially since it’s still early in the cycle. How’s Miss Lulu feeling with all this extra attention? :cat:

Yep will keep checking her levels and give more food if needed. She seems happy and now is taking a little nap :cat:
 
Okay, is that at +2? I’d give her a little LC snack now and check at +3, she may start a bounce here from getting to greens.

This is at +2.5 since the dose was given but about 1 hour after the last test. Can I give her a small meal or just treats? Would the bounce be an increase in her levels?
 
Yes, give a small meal of her usual food. If her numbers continue upward at +3,5 that would be an indication she won’t be heading back down. Most cats onset around +2 so when numbers go higher after +2 they won’t be having much action for the rest of the cycle.
 
This is at +2.5 since the dose was given but about 1 hour after the last test. Can I give her a small meal or just treats? Would the bounce be an increase in her levels?
Yes, give a small meal of her usual food. If her numbers continue upward at +3,5 that would be an indication she won’t be heading back down. Most cats onset around +2 so when numbers go higher after +2 they won’t be having much action for the rest of the cycle.

Her level now at +3.5 is 228, haven't fed her yet but will give her meal now
 
Sorry, just seeing this, I would just feed her snacks/small amounts as usual. You can catch a +5 if you’d like just to see how the cycle is going, but I suspect it won’t be anything exciting, and you can stop testing until preshot tomorrow. Remember with that 61 she gets a reduction back to 1u tomorrow.
 
Sorry, just seeing this, I would just feed her snacks/small amounts as usual. You can catch a +5 if you’d like just to see how the cycle is going, but I suspect it won’t be anything exciting, and you can stop testing until preshot tomorrow. Remember with that 61 she gets a reduction back to 1u tomorrow.

No worries! Her levels were 274 at +9 and 293 at AMPS. Yes, will reduce the dose to 1 unit today. Will update her levels, thank you for your help!
 
Back
Top