11/19 Lily AMPS 242

Status
Not open for further replies.
She is still 242 at +1.
She didn't get much of a bump from her brekkie so she may start down in a little while. I'd suggest doing the next test at +2. Frequently the +2 tests can give an indication of where the cycle might head: if it's around the same as AMPS or lower then that often indicates an 'active' cycle where BG will go lower as the cycle progresses.


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
She didn't get much of a bump from her brekkie so she may start down in a little while. I'd suggest doing the next test at +2. Frequently the +2 tests can give an indication of where the cycle might head: if it's around the same as AMPS or lower then that usually indicates an 'active' cycle where BG will go lower as the cycle progresses.


Mogs
.
Hey Mogs, Lily is at 210 at +2.
 
Steady enough. +5 next?

Wondering whether today's numbers are possibly a little bounce-influenced after yesterday's dip into the 70s. The lower dose wouldn't do much to pull them down but if there is a bit of a bounce going on then numbers should improve again as it clears.


Mogs
.
Hope that is what it is. It is cold here today and Lily’s little ears are freezing. Having to microwave rice in sock for her. I think she likes it. +5 it is!
 
I agree Mogs. I think she is doing well. I was a little scared at first but love that her numbers have come down!! :)
I can understand your anxiety really well, Sally. I remember when Saoirse switched from Caninsulin (aka Vetsulin) to Lantus. It felt like going back to the very beginning again and I was really scared for the first few days till I saw that she was running in safe numbers after the depot had built up. Saoirse metabolised insulin quickly so she had quite an early nadir on her Lantus. (((Saoirse)))

Lily's responding really well to her Lantus thus far. :cat: Fingers and paws crossed that with the 0.1IU dose you'll be able to safely give her insulin morning and evening. Assuming that is the case, it will take a few days for the depot to build up before the full effect of the 0.1IU dose can be properly gauged. All going well, you should see steady improvement in Lily's numbers overall, and she should spend more of the day in the normal range, allowing her little beta cells to rest and recover.


Mogs
.
 
I can understand your anxiety really well, Sally. I remember when Saoirse switched from Caninsulin (aka Vetsulin) to Lantus. It felt like going back to the very beginning again and I was really scared for the first few days till I saw that she was running in safe numbers after the depot had built up. Saoirse metabolised insulin quickly so she had quite an early nadir on her Lantus. (((Saoirse)))

Lily's responding really well to her Lantus thus far. :cat: Fingers and paws crossed that with the 0.1IU dose you'll be able to safely give her insulin morning and evening. Assuming that is the case, it will take a few days for the depot to build up before the full effect of the 0.1IU dose can be properly gauged. All going well, you should see steady improvement in Lily's numbers overall, and she should spend more of the day in the normal range, allowing her little beta cells to rest and recover.


Mogs
.
Sounds great Mogs! Is Saoirse still on Lantus? What is the lowest I can give her Lantus?
 
I can understand your anxiety really well, Sally. I remember when Saoirse switched from Caninsulin (aka Vetsulin) to Lantus. It felt like going back to the very beginning again and I was really scared for the first few days till I saw that she was running in safe numbers after the depot had built up. Saoirse metabolised insulin quickly so she had quite an early nadir on her Lantus. (((Saoirse)))

Lily's responding really well to her Lantus thus far. :cat: Fingers and paws crossed that with the 0.1IU dose you'll be able to safely give her insulin morning and evening. Assuming that is the case, it will take a few days for the depot to build up before the full effect of the 0.1IU dose can be properly gauged. All going well, you should see steady improvement in Lily's numbers overall, and she should spend more of the day in the normal range, allowing her little beta cells to rest and recover.


Mogs
.
Lily is reading 116 at +9
 
Sadly Saoirse's no longer of this realm. :( She is perpetually in my heart.

Saoirse had an awful time of it when she was on Caninsulin because of its harsh action. After she made the switch to Lantus it was like getting my real cat back, and it helped her to achieve remission. (((Saoirse)))


Mogs
.
I know you loved her. You are an awesome cat mom! :bighug:
 
What is the lowest I can give her Lantus?
At the moment you'll need to be a little conservative on deciding to dose at lower numbers because Lily's only starting out on her Lantus and you need to gather some data. However, when you know a bit more about her response then you can gradually lower the number at which you give insulin. Once a kitty has enough data and their caregiver is able to test enough to keep it safe it's feasible to give Lantus at anything above 50.


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
It's possible that Lily's pancreas is trying to help out here.

Did you give a mix of regular LC and Gravy Lovers, or just straight Gravy Lovers (and which flavour of Gravy Lovers did you give)?

It's a given that you're going to skip tonight, right?

.
 
It's possible that Lily's pancreas is trying to help out here.

Did you give a mix of regular LC and Gravy Lovers, or just straight Gravy Lovers (and which flavour of Gravy Lovers did you give)?

It's a given that you're going to skip tonight, right?

.
Digging in the trash...chicken and beef feast, she loved it! I didn’t let her eat much though.
Yes, no shot tonight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top