11/20 Kona AMPS 248, +1 227, +3.5 224, +8 255, PMPS 199, +1 151, +2 75, +3 67, +4 70

She's working it... I can't keep up. ;)

Today's Summary:
6:16am - AMPS 248
6:17am - Fed 2oz of TruLuxe Quick N' Quirky (0.4% carbs) + 1oz of Weruva Wx Phos Focused Chicken in Gravy (0.0%)
6:25am - Shot 1.25U
7:38am (+1) - BG 227
9:54am (+3.5) - BG 224
2:30pm (+8) - BG 255
6:09pm - PMPS 199
6:12pm - Fed 4oz of Weruva Wx Phos Focused Chicken & Tilapia in Gravy (0.0%)
6:28pm - Shot 1.25U

7:31pm (+1) - BG 151 + fed 1 tsp of TruLuxe Honor Roll (2.9% carbs)
8:34pm (+2) - BG 75 + fed 1 tsp of Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Beef Feast (20% carbs)
 
@Staci & Ivy

On the Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Beef Feast > https://www.chewy.com/fancy-feast-gravy-lovers-beef-feast/dp/103839

Whhhhaaaat, 14% for dry matter, but I thought we go off of as-fed? If so, it's only 2.5%?

Please don't tell me this whole time we thought this was a 20% and it was a 2.5%? 14% is still kinda annoying, considering it says "Same product" different look.

upload_2024-11-20_21-1-17.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-11-20_21-1-17.png
    upload_2024-11-20_21-1-17.png
    72.1 KB · Views: 127
@Jason - Kona's Dad
Hi Jason. We had a member ask the same question about this good. Dr Pierson's chart does say 20%
I went on the Chewy site like you did and it is only 13.9 on a dry matter basis. Dr Pierson's chart goes by as fed as far as I know. Some members have told me to go by dry matter.
 
@Jason - Kona's Dad
Hi Jason. We had a member ask the same question about this good. Dr Pierson's chart does say 20%
I went on the Chewy site like you did and it is only 13.9 on a dry matter basis. Dr Pierson's chart goes by as fed as far as I know. Some members have told me to go by dry matter.

Thanks, Diane, I've been doing this for over a year now and I'm still annoyed about how confusing this whole carb thing is. LOL

For the Weruva foods, their charts do as fed, dry matter, and I go by their "Calories and metabolizable energy (ME) profile" chart of what I feed. That's how I've always done it, but when I need the Fancy Feast, expecting 20% or whatever higher than what the TruLuxe line offers, which is 14%, I always have to scratch my head on the as fed and dry matter BS. ha ha

Source: https://www.weruva.com/pages/cat-nutritional-information
upload_2024-11-20_21-21-44.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-11-20_21-21-44.png
    upload_2024-11-20_21-21-44.png
    296.7 KB · Views: 108
the Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Beef Feast In Roasted Beef Flavor Gravy (which. Dr Pierson’s list says is 20%
Comes back with 14%
Here is a screen shot to show the data put in

Thanks! I confirmed that just now as well with a different calculator... okay, so it's 14% as we expect, NOT 20% or my fear that it was 2.5% for as fed.

Well.. I'm moving on from Fancy Feast it looks like. I had a coworker that gave me a case of Royal Canin Renal Support. Looking on the can, they don't even provide the Ash % to put in a calculator. SMH!
 
This is all I know about the Weruva foods
You want the metabolizable energy profile percentage of carbs to be less than 10%, and the phosphorus which Weruva lists in Minerals to be less than 250 mg per 100 cals. So you have to look at two different places in the Weruva charts.

Does Kona have kidney issues

if you tap on this link and look at post #32 I listed some Weruva pates for another member that's low carb/ low phosphorus.
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-member-11-8-and-i-am-tired.283363/#post-3124085
 
No wonder why I can't keep her BG up, this weak ass, deceiving carb food be lying! ha ha ha :p

Today's Summary:
6:16am - AMPS 248
6:17am - Fed 2oz of TruLuxe Quick N' Quirky (0.4% carbs) + 1oz of Weruva Wx Phos Focused Chicken in Gravy (0.0%)
6:25am - Shot 1.25U
7:38am (+1) - BG 227
9:54am (+3.5) - BG 224
2:30pm (+8) - BG 255
6:09pm - PMPS 199
6:12pm - Fed 4oz of Weruva Wx Phos Focused Chicken & Tilapia in Gravy (0.0%)
6:28pm - Shot 1.25U
7:31pm
(+1) -
BG 151 + fed 1 tsp of TruLuxe Honor Roll (2.9% carbs)
8:34pm (+2) - BG 75 + fed 1 tsp of Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Beef Feast (14% carbs)
9:25pm (+3) - BG 67 + fed 1 tsp of Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Beef Feast (14% carbs)
 
No wonder why I can't keep her BG up, this weak ass, deceiving carb food be lying! ha ha ha :p

Today's Summary:
6:16am - AMPS 248
6:17am - Fed 2oz of TruLuxe Quick N' Quirky (0.4% carbs) + 1oz of Weruva Wx Phos Focused Chicken in Gravy (0.0%)
6:25am - Shot 1.25U
7:38am (+1) - BG 227
9:54am (+3.5) - BG 224
2:30pm (+8) - BG 255
6:09pm - PMPS 199
6:12pm - Fed 4oz of Weruva Wx Phos Focused Chicken & Tilapia in Gravy (0.0%)
6:28pm - Shot 1.25U
7:31pm
(+1) -
BG 151 + fed 1 tsp of TruLuxe Honor Roll (2.9% carbs)
8:34pm (+2) - BG 75 + fed 1 tsp of Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Beef Feast (14% carbs)
9:25pm (+3) - BG 67 + fed 1 tsp of Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Beef Feast (14% carbs)
Raises hand, I’m “the other member” Diane referred to. Lol :rolleyes:
But seriously. I had the same issue lately. I was feeding Ivy what I thought was 20%, hoping it was going to raise her when I really needed to and it wasn’t doing anything and it made me start looking into it.
And it came back as 14% on thr calculator, which is what all their other gravies are, so no higher.
So it led me down a whole rabbit hole trying to find a higher carb just to have on hand in case of a real emergency, because 14% isn’t gonna do it if you really need high carbs.
I guess I’m gonna have to try to find some of that Royal Canin just in case of an emergency to keep in the cabinet
:spam::spam::spam:
 
11/21 - "I've been doing this for over a year now and I'm still annoyed about how confusing this whole carb thing is." Truer words were never spoken...and I've been doing it for just about 3 years and am worse off than you I think!

Anyway, good to see you and Kona! I'm sorry to see she had some dental issues, but happy that it is not too serious. Hope she is recovering well from surgery and that she steadies out for you soon...and safely....lots of pretty colors on her SS...just like Jack! Sending hugs..and thanks for the much needed laugh this morning...."week ass . deceiving carb food"....LOL!
 
11/21 - "I've been doing this for over a year now and I'm still annoyed about how confusing this whole carb thing is." Truer words were never spoken...and I've been doing it for just about 3 years and am worse off than you I think!

Anyway, good to see you and Kona! I'm sorry to see she had some dental issues, but happy that it is not too serious. Hope she is recovering well from surgery and that she steadies out for you soon...and safely....lots of pretty colors on her SS...just like Jack! Sending hugs..and thanks for the much needed laugh this morning...."week ass . deceiving carb food"....LOL!
Jason is a card. Love his humor amidst all our tensions, right? :p:p
 
@Staci & Ivy
Isn't that something that Jason had the same problem about the carbs
I know. I wasn’t sure he made the connection so I wanted to let him know what I found. (I’m still not sure what the actual situation is with the carbs and I’m still not sure if it was an Ivy situation or the can of food situation. I’ll probably test it again at some point just to see what I get out of curiosity) :rolleyes:
@Diane Tyler's Mom GA
 
11/21 - "I've been doing this for over a year now and I'm still annoyed about how confusing this whole carb thing is." Truer words were never spoken...and I've been doing it for just about 3 years and am worse off than you I think!

Anyway, good to see you and Kona! I'm sorry to see she had some dental issues, but happy that it is not too serious. Hope she is recovering well from surgery and that she steadies out for you soon...and safely....lots of pretty colors on her SS...just like Jack! Sending hugs..and thanks for the much needed laugh this morning...."week ass . deceiving carb food"....LOL!

Thanks, Christine! Yes, she is doing well overall.

And yes, ha ha, Kona and Jack have very similar numbers, we are all over the board.
 
I know. I wasn’t sure he made the connection so I wanted to let him know what I found. (I’m still not sure what the actual situation is with the carbs and I’m still not sure if it was an Ivy situation or the can of food situation. I’ll probably test it again at some point just to see what I get out of curiosity) :rolleyes:
@Diane Tyler's Mom GA

Well, you should have seen me, I was running around with THREE meters and opening different fresh new testing strips thinking it was the meters.

You might be on to something though, it might be the cat too or a combination, because Kona's number drops lately I have never seen. Who knows...
 
Well, you should have seen me, I was running around with THREE meters and opening different fresh new testing strips thinking it was the meters.

You might be on to something though, it might be the cat too or a combination, because Kona's number drops lately I have never seen. Who knows...
Same, Jason. I was feeding what I thought was "high carbs" adding honey, karo and nothing was bringing Ivy up (this was about 2 weeks ago and suddenly her BG overall went DOWN and I was lowering her dose almost daily).
I "think" it MAY have something to do with her T4 levels as we had recently upped her dose of methimazole for her thyroid regulation (still working on getting that under control).
So it was a SH%T storm of factors and I was freaking out :spam::spam::spam:
 
Back
Top