11/25 Henry AMPS 423, +5 408 +11.5 385, PMPS + 5.5 345

Marje

My thoughts on Henry's AMPS (PMPS + 10.5) which was (423) could the 423 be explained by shooting him 10.5 hours past PMPS which acts like an increase in dosage?

Therefore a bounce is occurring?

Thank You
 
Marje

My thoughts on Henry's AMPS (PMPS + 10.5) which was (423) could the 423 be explained by shooting him 10.5 hours past PMPS which acts like an increase in dosage?

Therefore a bounce is occurring?

Thank You
I’m not sure I understand the question but I wonder if you mean could it be like NDW since shooting early can act as a dose increase? Is that what you are asking?

In my experience, I rarely see shooting early or late having much effect but we err on the side of caution. Therefore, this looks exactly like a bounce to me.

Sorry if this question has been asked but I don’t recall if it has or whether I’ve seen it but what are the %carbs from calories in the wet food you feed and the Dr. Elsey’s dry? The reason I’m asking is because the carbs are either higher than they need to be or Henry is ultra carb sensitive. That little bit of extra dood you gave him last night should not have clipped his duration like it did unless one of the two above conditions exist.

When I look up the data for Earthborn, the only two that are LC are the Monterey Medley at 10% and Catalina Catch at 1%. All the others are high MC to HC.
 
I’m not sure I understand the question but I wonder if you mean could it be like NDW since shooting early can act as a dose increase? Is that what you are asking?

In my experience, I rarely see shooting early or late having much effect but we err on the side of caution. Therefore, this looks exactly like a bounce to me.

Sorry if this question has been asked but I don’t recall if it has or whether I’ve seen it but what are the %carbs from calories in the wet food you feed and the Dr. Elsey’s dry? The reason I’m asking is because the carbs are either higher than they need to be or Henry is ultra carb sensitive. That little bit of extra dood you gave him last night should not have clipped his duration like it did unless one of the two above conditions exist.

When I look up the data for Earthborn, the only two that are LC are the Monterey Medley at 10% and Catalina Catch at 1%. All the others are high MC to HC.

Henry's diet below


Dry Weight (kibble)
Dr Elsey's

Chicken
Protein (%) 63.45
Fat (%) 19.88
Fiber (%) 0.42
Ash (%) 6.44
Carbs (%) 4.632
ME (kcal/kg) 4061.39
Calcium (%) 1.20
Phosphorus (%) 0.90
Magnesium (%) 0.07
Sodium (%) 0.59
Potassium (%) 0.73


Earthborn Montery Medley

Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein, minimum 12.00%
Crude Fat, minimum 2.00%
Crude Fiber, maximum 1.50%
Moisture, maximum 82.00%
Ash, maximum 3.00%
Taurine, minimum 0.05%
Calorie Content: 776 kcal/kg, 121 kcal/5.5 oz. can, 66 kcal/3 oz. can

Carbohydrates: 2.0%

Earthborn Holistic® Monterey Medley™ Skipjack Tuna and Grilled Mackerel Dinner in Gravy is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Cat Food Nutrient Profiles for growth and maintenance.


 
Henry's diet below


Dry Weight (kibble)
Dr Elsey's

Chicken
Protein (%) 63.45
Fat (%) 19.88
Fiber (%) 0.42
Ash (%) 6.44
Carbs (%) 4.632
ME (kcal/kg) 4061.39
Calcium (%) 1.20
Phosphorus (%) 0.90
Magnesium (%) 0.07
Sodium (%) 0.59
Potassium (%) 0.73


Earthborn Montery Medley

Guaranteed Analysis
Crude Protein, minimum 12.00%
Crude Fat, minimum 2.00%
Crude Fiber, maximum 1.50%
Moisture, maximum 82.00%
Ash, maximum 3.00%
Taurine, minimum 0.05%
Calorie Content: 776 kcal/kg, 121 kcal/5.5 oz. can, 66 kcal/3 oz. can

Carbohydrates: 2.0%

Earthborn Holistic® Monterey Medley™ Skipjack Tuna and Grilled Mackerel Dinner in Gravy is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Cat Food Nutrient Profiles for growth and maintenance.

The Dr. Elsey’s % calories from carbs is right. But you can’t use guaranteed analysis to calculate % calories from carbs. The Monterey Medley is 10%. While I have an excel calculator that does the calculations, I also did this post to teach members how to calculate it manually.

Usually, cats do better with foods that are in the 6-10% calories from carbs range so the Monterey Medley is fine unless he’s super carb sensitive. The other varieties of that brand, except the Catalina Catch, are way too high for regular feeding.
 
The Dr. Elsey’s % calories from carbs is right. But you can’t use guaranteed analysis to calculate % calories from carbs. The Monterey Medley is 10%. While I have an excel calculator that does the calculations, I also did this post to teach members how to calculate it manually.

Usually, cats do better with foods that are in the 6-10% calories from carbs range so the Monterey Medley is fine unless he’s super carb sensitive. The other varieties of that brand, except the Catalina Catch, are way too high for regular feeding.

We have Catalina Catch too but it's been months since he had it

I staying with the same diet thru out this procedure so I do not throw additional variables

What are your thoughts about Henry being up?
 
I should mention the ratio of the diet during each feeding

50 Calories of wet and 30 Calories of dry for a total of 80 Calories times 4 per 24 hours
 
Back
Top