11/27 Jax PMPS 84,+2 80,+4 75

Sounds like a nice holiday was had by all! And Jax looks like he's back at work already. Nice to see the turkey and trimmings didn't impact his BG numbers.:)
have a great day.
 
@tiffmaxee @Wendy&Neko Any thoughts on increasing back to 1u? Jax has been at 0.75u for 14 cycles now (increased from failed reduction to 0.5u) and while I know he's tightly regulated (hurray!), I was hoping for a shot at OTJ should it be in the cards. Thank you for all of your help!
 
@tiffmaxee @Wendy&Neko Any thoughts on increasing back to 1u? Jax has been at 0.75u for 14 cycles now (increased from failed reduction to 0.5u) and while I know he's tightly regulated (hurray!), I was hoping for a shot at OTJ should it be in the cards. Thank you for all of your help!

He is trending higher than he has been. I think you have room to increase because you test a lot and watch him closely. I’d like to see what Wendy or Marje thinks though.
 
Thanks, Elise :bighug: Hope you had a good Thanksgiving.

@Wendy&Neko @Marje and Gracie - What do you all think about increasing Jax in the AM?
That is a beautiful SS! I love it when I see one like this where the liver snaps. You’ve done a great job, Suzanne.

Since you test like you do, I agree you could take him up to 1u. One of the mentors here when I was new told me that it’s reasonable, when you have this sea of green, to decide what nadir you are comfortable with and then hold the dose. So, if you can ignore the blue bookends and you like the flatness and stability around the nadir, it wouldn’t be wrong to hold the dose. If you don’t mind potentially lower nadirs, you can increase to 1u. As you probably know, the AMPS is often the last number to come down but he did have all green PSs on 1u before.

I found with Gracie that sometimes it just took a cycle or two at a little higher dose to kickstart her and then she’d quickly earn a reduction.

If he were lower in dose (0.1u) we would suggest a feeding trial while on that small dose to see if his pancreas was working but his dose needs to be much lower to do that.

We also watched the dog shows and our male kitty, Tobey, sat on the TV stand right in front of the TV (which is 65”) and watched the dogs, even occasionally jumping up and swatting them especially during the trials. It was hysterical. I also liked the affenpinscher, the miniature American shepherd, and the black dog named Smudge that is a Pumi.
 
Thanks Marje for taking the time to respond :bighug: Looks like I'll nudge him back up in the morning to see what 1u does.

One of the mentors here when I was new told me that it’s reasonable, when you have this sea of green, to decide what nadir you are comfortable with and then hold the dose.
Ah, haven't heard this bit of advice before - I like that guidance.

If he were lower in dose (0.1u) we would suggest a feeding trial while on that small dose to see if his pancreas was working but his dose needs to be much lower to do that.
On this, are you referring to feeding at +9ish? I have been doing that but am wondering if maybe I shouldn't be until he's a much lower dose? I have been giving a snack at +9/+10 for a while - at first it was because he'd double-dip at PMPS. Then, the snack was suggested to help with the blue preshots on a different dose but perhaps that was pre-emptive. He does often come down from his +9ish number (like today) but is that the snack or just double-dipping?
 
On this, are you referring to feeding at +9ish? I have been doing that but am wondering if maybe I shouldn't be until he's a much lower dose? I have been giving a snack at +9/+10 for a while - at first it was because he'd double-dip at PMPS. Then, the snack was suggested to help with the blue preshots on a different dose but perhaps that was pre-emptive. He does often come down from his +9ish number (like today) but is that the snack or just double-dipping?
This has been an urban legend that keeps circulating around here and was being said when we were new. The only time a +9 snack will help bring PSs down is for a cat that is basically ready to go OTJ on a tiny dose and is just hanging on to blue PSs or even just a blue AMPS. Other than that, it actually works to put the brakes on the duration of the insulin.

I’d get rid of it and try to feed before nadir as the last meal unless you are dealing with really low numbers that you have to feed.

Good luck with the new dose!
 
I’d get rid of it and try to feed before nadir as the last meal unless you are dealing with really low numbers that you have to feed.
Thanks for saying that - so his nadir is around +4 usually so I'll change his feeding so he'll be done around +3...we'll see how this goes over...good thing loves food :p

Thanks for your help Elise, Wendy, & Marje :bighug:

PS - Marje - my daughter wanted me to tell you her favorite was the Golden Retriever <3
 
Thanks for saying that - so his nadir is around +4 usually so I'll change his feeding so he'll be done around +3...we'll see how this goes over...good thing loves food :p

Thanks for your help Elise, Wendy, & Marje :bighug:

PS - Marje - my daughter wanted me to tell you her favorite was the Golden Retriever <3
You’re welcome and tell your daughter I agree...the golden retriever was gorgeous.
 
Back
Top