11/7 BuddyM AMPS 116 | +2 44 | +4.5 70 | +6 81 | +7 92

Hi Mariette, don't panic. Does Buddy seem all right to you? Feed him another small amount, about 1 teaspoon, of HC and test again in 15-20 minutes.
 
He's sleepy.
I gave 1 tsp HC and 3 MC at +3... He's only up to 50 at about 3.5
 
I gave some gravy with Karo. But I'm worried that this is still early in the cycle. Will I be able to keep him afloat with HC and Karo?
 
Yes, you can control this by feeding every 20-30 minutes. The build up of hc and karo might even cause him to go high. Otherwise he will flatten out. It’s just a question of rinse, lather, repeat. Just keep him hungry. Don’t feed a lot at an time.
 
The HC and karo should bring him up, but the karo can wear off quickly, so it is good that you also fed HC too.

I fed mostly the gravy with the karo. He had a lot of food this morning before the low readings
 
My first under 40 was 3/4 14. Max went from PMPS 340 to 200 to 40 and was green the rest of the day.
 
Doesn’t look like a FS, lol. Reduction earned officially this time! Lol.
 
Last edited:
Only up to 52 after quite a bit of HC gravy and some Karo. He's not so keen on eating anymore. I don't know if it's because he had too much food this morning. Or if it's possible he doesn't like the Karo? Do some of them not want Karo/honey?
 
It is always better to overdo than under in these cases. You did well! it is stresful!

Super stressful!
His nadir should be coming up around this time so hopefully it gives him enough of a bump to stay afloat. Just scared he's going to crash from all the carbs.
 
Perhaps. Take a break and stop testing until PMPS. If he bounces he will likely continue to rise. I don’t think he will be coming down.
 
I've decided to do a token dose instead. Filled the spreadsheet prematurely.
Not sure what to do really.
 
Thanks Elise. I thought about doing 1 as well, but I don't know what's going on with Buddy. I read they can be quite sensitive to insulin after a near hypo and Buddy was clearly not doing well today. Not just talking about the numbers. He sat huddled and at one point lay with these half lidded eyes. No purring or grooming, no appetite. He was just a little lump from +3 to +8.

Sadly I don't trust that TR would keep Buddy safe. With only being allowed 0.25 unit reductions and no back to back reductions either, he would still have been over 3 units if I only reduced him when was considered appropriate. I really think that it needs more flexibility because it didn't fit for Buddy.
 
He’s responding really well to Lantus. He would have earned those reductions rapidly I think. He might turn out to be a cat that quickly goes into remission. He’s definitely not a bouncer so far. There’s nothing that says you can’t take back to back reductions. For most cats they aren’t successful. Remember which I know you already know, you hold the syringe.
 
Back
Top