12/10, Binie, AMPS 321, +2 343, +4 239, +5.5 250

Heike & BInie

Member Since 2024
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-9-binie-amps-348-2-340-5-324.296447/

Good afternoon,

not sure what kind of cycle Binie had last night and today. I am still missing the complete overview with the libre. At least she saw yellow numbers. If you have any ideas which other testing times would be helpful, let me know! I am still trying to find out what is a good schedule. I think a +2 is really good, as it gives me an overview how the cycle will be.

Binies skin, especially on the left side, does not become better. Just different. It gets very hard all over and flakes are coming off. There is still some redness beneath. Also on the right side, where I just took off the libre, it is uneven but not that bad. The effected area is a bit bigger than the shaved area so I tend to think the skin tac has to do with it. I did some research today. It contains rosin, which can lead to contact allergys. I looked at the pictures with human skin and contact allergies and it looked a bit similar to what I see with Binie. I bought some skin glu on the internet but as it contains "tree sap" it might not be very different to the rosin in skin tac. I decided not to do any experiments until her skin is fully normal again. Even if she can't use skin tac, she might not react on the sensor itself. So we'll see... My vet likes to say that whenever something has a side effect or risk, Binie likes to make her cross. :rolleyes: She told me I should hide the medication leaflets from Binie. :)

I hope we get more and more in the routine of poking. I think I have to work on my timing and also my technique, as her ears look a little bruised. As her vein is very close to the edge of the ear, I sometimes hit it. :confused:

Hope everyone has a relaxed day! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Heike!
At night I always do a+3 and then one before I go to bed, it could be +4, +5 if I shoot earlier, sometimes +6 on weekends but that's rare. If the +4 is much lower than the +3, I try to do at least one more.
During the day I do +3, then 5 or 6, and then depending oin if I'm home and how she was morving. If she was flat, I leave her alone. I try to test if she acts weirdly, although I wonder if she did not catch on that and sometimes meows really loudly because she realized that meks me test and especially give a snack :facepalm:
For her ears, I always press her ear between my fingers after poking, while I wait for the result (she usually jumps when she hears the beep, so that's not very long), it stops the bleeding and prevents bruising. I used Calendula too, when it was bad, or Arnica. They both helped.
I think you are doing great :bighug:
 
Hi Heike!
At night I always do a+3 and then one before I go to bed, it could be +4, +5 if I shoot earlier, sometimes +6 on weekends but that's rare. If the +4 is much lower than the +3, I try to do at least one more.
During the day I do +3, then 5 or 6, and then depending oin if I'm home and how she was morving. If she was flat, I leave her alone. I try to test if she acts weirdly, although I wonder if she did not catch on that and sometimes meows really loudly because she realized that meks me test and especially give a snack :facepalm:
For her ears, I always press her ear between my fingers after poking, while I wait for the result (she usually jumps when she hears the beep, so that's not very long), it stops the bleeding and prevents bruising. I used Calendula too, when it was bad, or Arnica. They both helped.
I think you are doing great :bighug:

Hi Cecile, this is great! Thank you so much! I will safe that and try! I always thought +2 is the test to do but I went through the data again and thought as we usually start very high +3 might be more interesting. +5 and +6 also makes sense to me and as you said before, it could be interesting to get a late test at +9 or +10 also sometimes. Funny Bella might found that acting strange is a way to get more treats. :) She knows how to make you do things her way. :cat:

Calendula/Arnica is a great idea! I wil get some tomorrow. I used Traumeel so far, which is homeopathic and also has arnica and calendula inside but homeopathic. I will see, what works better for Binie. The only thing I don't like is I can do it only on the ear I am not testing on this day, because it messes up the tests, because the blood doesn't bead up.

Hope you have a great afternoon! I let you know how we are doing! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Heike

I am running out for my yearly eye exam but wanted to let you know you can download libre data into a spreadsheet using libreview.com. It gives you days worth of readings. I log in with my same credentials.
 
The one I was using is homeopathic too, it's from Boiron. I did not notice it messing up with the testing. I used a cream and an alcool-based ointment; I prefer the cream. I massage a little bit on her ear whenever she will let me (while she eats, usually).
 
Hi Heike

I am running out for my yearly eye exam but wanted to let you know you can download libre data into a spreadsheet using libreview.com. It gives you days worth of readings. I log in with my same credentials.

Great, thank you! I didn't know that and I will try, as soon as we can use the libre again. Good luck with your eye exam! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
The one I was using is homeopathic too, it's from Boiron. I did not notice it messing up with the testing. I used a cream and an alcool-based ointment; I prefer the cream. I massage a little bit on her ear whenever she will let me (while she eats, usually).

Ah, great! So they might be similar. Might be I am using too much or don't massage it in enough. I will keep on trying. Thank you so much for all your great tipps! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Heike!
Not a bad cycle, sometimes uneventful is good. Gives us a little brake.
Also just wanted to let you know your AMPS shows 32, which is really scary but I know you just missed the 1 (321).
If you wanna correct that so you're not giving anyone a scare.
Have a good night meow :cat::cat:
 
For a lot of cats on Lantus, if the +2 is lower than preshot, that tends to mean an active cycle, where additional tests would be helpful. If the +2 is higher, that usually signals that the cat isn’t going to be up to much action, and you don’t need to pay close attention to the cycle.

When Maverick was on Lantus, I liked the +2 because I tended to give a little LC snack at +2 already, and if I saw a pretty good drop from preshot, usually more than 20% I’d prop up the numbers a little with some higher LC like a 6-9%, especially if we were starting with a blue preshot and he was already into high greens by +2. It will just take a little getting used to finding Binie’s onsets, nadirs and how much duration she is getting without the Libre. In some ways, it’s easier to see those patterns with the handheld; you can actually see the forest for the trees now ;)
 
Hi Heike!
Not a bad cycle, sometimes uneventful is good. Gives us a little brake.
Also just wanted to let you know your AMPS shows 32, which is really scary but I know you just missed the 1 (321).
If you wanna correct that so you're not giving anyone a scare.
Have a good night meow :cat::cat:

Thank you so much Karolina! :bighug::bighug::bighug: That was a mistake (thank god) and I corrected it. :) I hope Nestle and his brother are fine! I think the guest already went home?
 
For a lot of cats on Lantus, if the +2 is lower than preshot, that tends to mean an active cycle, where additional tests would be helpful. If the +2 is higher, that usually signals that the cat isn’t going to be up to much action, and you don’t need to pay close attention to the cycle.

When Maverick was on Lantus, I liked the +2 because I tended to give a little LC snack at +2 already, and if I saw a pretty good drop from preshot, usually more than 20% I’d prop up the numbers a little with some higher LC like a 6-9%, especially if we were starting with a blue preshot and he was already into high greens by +2. It will just take a little getting used to finding Binie’s onsets, nadirs and how much duration she is getting without the Libre. In some ways, it’s easier to see those patterns with the handheld; you can actually see the forest for the trees now ;)

Thank you so much Christie, that is very helpful! :bighug: I feel without the libre I have to use my brain, while with the libre I can just wait what happens in the moment. Hopefully that helps me to get more insights.
 
Thank you so much Karolina! :bighug::bighug::bighug: That was a mistake (thank god) and I corrected it. :) I hope Nestle and his brother are fine! I think the guest already went home?

Thank you. Even I had a mini heart attack when I read it but then I double checked your SS.
Nestle are Peanut are doing well. Thanks for asking. And yes Simon has gone back home meow. :cat::cat:
 
Thank you. Even I had a mini heart attack when I read it but then I double checked your SS.
Nestle are Peanut are doing well. Thanks for asking. And yes Simon has gone back home meow. :cat::cat:

Ohhhhh.....sorry for the heart attack. :rolleyes: Glad the boys are doing well! I hope Simon was not too sad to leave and was happy to see his mum again. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top