12/13 Mocha PMPS 370 +2 174 +3 95 +4 119 +6 199

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mocha'sMom

Member
Yesterday's Condo

12/12 Recap:
AMPS 386
PMPS 259
+4 43
+4.5 57
+5 80
+8 358

cat(2)_steam And we are off! Bouncing through the cycles, no end in sight...
Zzzz Mocha sure likes to keep me on my toes.

Does anyone have suggestions on how to break the cycle of bounces? I shot the .50U to help with the bounce today, and I *could* reduce his dose tonight, but should I? His numbers otherwise are so high! If we were consistently getting better numbers then I would be much more excited about the reductions.

Well, all 5 P's are in place today, and seems no worse for his exciting night. Though he thought it was rather uneventful, and was simply excited about the extra freeze dried chicken he got :roll:

My thoughts are with Ripley and Josie today, sending lots of positive vines :YMHUG: Travel softly Ripley.
 
Re: 12/13 Mocha AMPS 378 Bouncy Bounce

Cheryl, you have a couple of options about the reduction. So far, he's been holding his reductions well when he goes below 50, so you could reduce tonight. If he doesn't hold the reduction, then you can take him back up again. Alternatively, from the TR protocol:
Reducing the dose:

If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit.
SInce Mocha was diagnosed over a year ago, he is considered a long term diabetic so you could wait for a drop below 40. However, this is a more aggressive approach and you'll have to be available to test. With the weekend coming up it may be an opportunity to try this. Once a kitty drops below 50 on a dose, it's often not long until they go low again. But it might get Mocha spending more time in green.

If anyone here had a solution for bounces, they would have a money maker. :lol: The saying is that cats bounce until they don't. Neko is still bouncing two years after starting insulin, but not bouncing nearly as badly as she used to. I measure the height of the bounce and how long it takes to get over a bounce as a sign of progress. The best way for me to get Neko to bounce less is to get her to spend more time in green.
 
Re: 12/13 Mocha AMPS 378 Bouncy Bounce

Wendy&Neko said:
The best way for me to get Neko to bounce less is to get her to spend more time in green.

That makes sense to me, I was also thinking the other night as he started to take a steep nose dive that if I could slow the dive and control how low he went, I would be letting his body get used to lower numbers slowly, i.e. compromising for blue instead of gunning for green (since he was coming down from a pink). I think I will try the shaved dose tonight. We did that once before when he was working his way down from 1.50 U. Thanks Wendy for the input!
 
Re: 12/13 Mocha AMPS 378 +2 387 PMPS 370 +2 174

Low number following PM shot. I am going to watch him for now, see how he does.
 
Re: 12/13 Mocha AMPS 378 +2 387 PMPS 370 +2 174

Did you give him a little food at +2? Might want to slow further diving.
 
Re: 12/13 Mocha AMPS 378 +2 387 PMPS 370 +2 174

Hey Cheryl!! Looks like it's me and you again tonight!

You get to bring the ~O) this time! I have some little mini-cupcakes (chocolate of course)

I gave China a little higher carb food at +3 to hopefully slow down her slide..when Mocha does these big drops, you might try to steer him with a little medium carb food
 
Re: 12/13 Mocha AMPS 378 +2 387 PMPS 370 +2 174

Mocha...let's ease into those lower numbers, OK? Your bean needs some sleep! I think you are right that slowing his dives could really help him adjust to those lower numbers...I think the extreme ups and downs can slow the regulation process. Of course, though, since Mocha is a cat, he's in charge...but steering early on with food can definitely be helpful. I hope you get some rest tonight!!
 
Re: 12/13 Mocha AMPS 378 +2 387 PMPS 370 +2 174

PMPS 307
+2 174
+3 95

I have given him ~1 tsp of HC mixed with ~4 T regular FF.

So, it is you and me tonight Chris ;-)
 
Re: 12/13 Mocha AMPS 378 +2 387 PMPS 370 +2 174

PMPS 307
+2 174
+3 95
+4 119

A nice rise, will check again at +6. Sadly, unlike last night he seems uncomfortable in his low numbers tonight. :sad: Not sure why...
 
Re: 12/13 Mocha AMPS 378 +2 387 PMPS 370 +2 174

Well China went up but came back down, so I'll be here awhile longer..setting my alarm though...it was a long night last night, and a long day today...she's lucky I love her to death!

What's Mocha doing differently tonight?
 
Re: 12/13 Mocha AMPS 378 +2 387 PMPS 370 +2 174

PMPS 370
+2 174
+3 95
+4 119
+6 199

Phew, I think we have made it. Maybe he won't bounce from this? :? *hopeful*
 
Cheryl

I'm. It sure if your question was answered but, yes....when you see he is coming down, slow him down because the bounces seem to be a little worse when they are fast drops.

My other suggestion, to add to Wendy's thoughts, is feed the curve to get him to surf and, hopefully, avoid the reductions. If you can anticipate when he normally comes down to his lowest point, you can feed his regular food to try and flatten him out and stay in green longer. It takes some experimentation and you might need to fine tune from time to time but it's worth a try.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top