12/15 Minner - AMPS 225 +2 177 +3 136 +4 104 +6 113 +8 120 +10 129 PMPS 174 +2 164 +3 155 +4 175

MinnerPip

Active Member
Prior Post

I feel in a catch 22. We broke the 200 yellow barrier today. Cycle 1 at 7 units.

I should be elated that she has been in blue and within normal glucose range for most of the day. But I’m dreading the PM dose decision. We’re less than 2 hours away (4pm ET is dose time) and her +10 at 129 is barely up from her nadir of 104 at +4.

I think protocol would say dose the 7 units at PM dose assuming she stays 129 or higher …. But this is new territory for Minner/me. 149 is lowest I’ve ever shot and that was a rare blue and back when she was at 4.5 units.

I hope Wendy is around or one of her forum colleagues with experience here that I don’t have. There’s the IAA situation here too.

I’ll test again at +11 (3pm ET) and check in here. Thank you.
 
Last edited:
+11 is 153, so it moved up 24 points since +10. That’s almost the same increase in 1 hour as the increase over 6 hours from nadir at +4 to + 10

I think I’m supposed to stick to my 7U dose since no reduction earned. I would feel better if I could get some experienced points of view as its day 1 at 7 units and firsr day ever to see this much low blue.
 
An awesome streak of blues!:cool:. Some cats will give you a preview of what a dose can do in the first cycle. Especially true with IAA.

What do most cats do when they see numbers they aren't used to? Bounce! Minner is just taking her time getting there.

As long as you can monitor, get a test or two after PMPS, I would shoot full dose. You have shot full dose at 149 before.
 
Big sigh of relief! Thank you Wendy. PMPS was 174. Full dose done. Minner behaved differently today. Active for almost the entire morning. But she vocalized periodically throughout afternoon from her normal napping spot.

I will test until I can’t stay awake (and then continue testing - ha!). I have serious anxiety now that we are in new territory. Yellow got comfortable.
 
Done. 164 @ +2. Down 10 from pmps. She did not eat her entire post shot chicken fillet treat (about 30 kcal) so I offered her some FF beef pate (3%) at 30min post shot. She grazed on that. Then I fed her regular meal of FF LC pates at +1.5. Normally when I plan to get a +2, I still give post shot meat treat, but I don’t feed the FF pates until right after the +2 reading. So that’s different tonight since I fed meal before the +2.
 
Look at all that cool blue.:cool::cool::cool:

Could you update your subject line to be the most current data. In other words, PMPS onwards. That way if anything comes up, people might see if you need help by a quick glance.
 
Hmmmm. +4 is 175. I was not expecting it to increase from +3, especially by 20 points. This morning +4 was the nadir. I’m going to take a 2 or 3 hour nap and test again, but now I think she’ll be in yellow. Boo! The body’s revenge for forcing it into blue.

Title updated. Thank you Wendy for your help and watching over Minner.
 
Could be that bounce starting, but all those numbers are really within meter variance. Hope you get some sleep tonight. I'm heading out soon but if you need help, then add "help needed" to your title and add the "?" prefix, someone will stop by.

Today was a fantastic day for Minner!
 
Those cycles are looking amazing! Good job shooting the PM dose, it is scary at first, but you'll eventually get used to it. She's got some nice flat cycles going. When Bell was having good cycles, she would drop and hover around 50 or 60 and then eventually bounce back up. The more cycles of data you have, the more confidence you'll gain in her reaction to the insulin. Looking back at her spreadsheet, she seems to stay pretty flat throughout her past cycles. 11/21 was the only cycle that jumps out to me where she had a quicker drop. You're doing really well to monitor her closely on this new dose, just wanted to say that it will feel less scary as you gain more data!
 
Thank you again Wendy. The handholding during these amateur times is invaluable. Thank you Seth for the encouragement. I know you are right even though getting there is still anxiety packed! Yes on 11/21 observation. It’s like an anomaly — no idea how to explain that, it wasn’t a recent dose increase or anything I can logically understand.

+7 is 285. Big jump. Wendy saw that coming. I don’t really know how I’m supposed to manage a bounce. I give her the 7 units for start of cycle 3 in 5 hours. I just hope she isn’t a lot higher by then.

Thanks again. Wishing all a safe and peaceful evening. :cat:
 
Sleep well. Keep shooting 7 units for a few days yet. She got to low blues (awesome!) and we hold doses with blue nadirs for 6-10 cycles. To the longer end for low blues. Let's see what she does when the bounce resolves.
 
Thank you again Wendy. The handholding during these amateur times is invaluable. Thank you Seth for the encouragement. I know you are right even though getting there is still anxiety packed! Yes on 11/21 observation. It’s like an anomaly — no idea how to explain that, it wasn’t a recent dose increase or anything I can logically understand.

+7 is 285. Big jump. Wendy saw that coming. I don’t really know how I’m supposed to manage a bounce. I give her the 7 units for start of cycle 3 in 5 hours. I just hope she isn’t a lot higher by then.

Thanks again. Wishing all a safe and peaceful evening. :cat:
Welcome to “the bounce” part of your journey :rolleyes:. A lot of cats seem to react this way and there’s not really anything you can do once they are bouncing except wait it out. As you can probably tell from all my blathering about Bell, it really stresses me out because I can’t control it. You just keep following your protocol and be careful once the bounce breaks, as some cats can dip low during this period. I’m sure more experienced folks can give you much better guidance, but for me it is more of managing my own mental stressors than doing anything specifically for the high numbers for Bell.
 
Wendy may or may not be some kind of sorcerer/future seer. Us mere normal folks just keep following our protocols.

I think once you have more data and can identify bounce triggers, you can use food as a tool to keep your cat from dropping too low too fast to try and avoid a bounce. I have yet to be very successful at that
 
Look at your super great blue cycles as great healing time for Minner and the bounce as just the negative byproduct of that healing. Minner will come down again for you soon!
 
Seth, your comment about managing lows with food is something I’ve contemplated. Heck, earlier on I’d see a higher blue and whip out slightly higher carb food. I got some guidance one day when pre shot was too low for my comfort zone that it’s good to not feed to see what direction things are heading … so yesterday I purposely did not feed anything to manipulate the numbers so we would have a pure view. However, I embrace your strategy for future as it seems like a fair tool to use to manage a going low cycle, vs a pre shot when you are making a shooting decision. I need to find a food she’ll eat in the 6-10% range. Her diet is all FF classics pate, so 3% and lower. I have a FF chunky turkey she will eat that is 5%. She likes the FF naturals gourmet trout in gravy that I thought was under 5, turns out its like 11 so that got shelved. She also like FF florentine chicken which is 12 or so. I’ve tried a zillion foods. Seems FF is the one she’ll tolerate.

amps was 297. I was surprised it was below 300. +2 was 267. We’ll see what the day brings. Hopefully my last full day of work until the 6th!!! I’ve got vet appt this afternoon and I keep waffling on delaying it. She hates it.
 
Glad to see she may be coming down from her bounce already! If you’re curious about “feeding the curve” you may want to add a question to your topic and get some input from the folks here that do that. Like you mentioned, I don’t think you want to affect Minner’s pre shot numbers, since you need to be able to determine if it is safe for insulin. I have seen members use higher calories once their cat’s numbers are dropping quickly or are getting lower than they are comfortable with. Or they have to leave the house for some reason and want to make sure their cat is ok while they are gone.

I would keep doing what you’re doing, since Minner isn’t low enough yet to need higher calories, but maybe ask around about it for the future.

Bell is very similar to Minner! She only will eat low carb fancy feast pates. She turns her nose up at anything else, even the higher calorie fancy feasts :rolleyes:.
 
Back
Top