12/27-Dolly-AMPS 157 -115@+2 -73@+3 -73@+4 -71@+6.25 - 90@8.25 -PMPS 86 -91@+2-91@+3

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Our Dolly Girl (GA), Dec 27, 2020.

  1. Our Dolly Girl (GA)

    Our Dolly Girl (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2019
  2. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    I think this depends on how fast she is dropping...especially early in the cycle.

    Those greens are healing numbers and the idea is to keep her in those pretty, safe greens as long as possible. Kitties will usually show us that reduction, not matter what, when they are ready, but I understand the logic of your question. Maybe others can provide more insight or advice :)

    Are you using a pet meter still? I think it says so on the top of your SS? Your signature says relion.
     
  3. Our Dolly Girl (GA)

    Our Dolly Girl (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2019
    Yes, Relion Prime meter. She is 73@+3 with no mc given. Have I done the wrong thing?
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  4. Our Dolly Girl (GA)

    Our Dolly Girl (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2019
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  5. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    It looks like another active cycle. Every cat is a little different in how they respond to carbs, where they nadir is, etc.

    At 73, I would feed something to help her coast - whether LC or MC, I don’t know Dolly’s history that well and how carb sensitive she is.
     
    Our Dolly Girl (GA) likes this.
  6. Our Dolly Girl (GA)

    Our Dolly Girl (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2019
     
  7. Our Dolly Girl (GA)

    Our Dolly Girl (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2019
    Thank you Tanya (?). I will give her some more food, she always has food, she’s a grazer. I will give her some lc with a touch of 11% on top. :D
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  8. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    I am headed to work in a bit, so I’ll tag a few people to see if they can advise when MC or HC would be a good idea today :bighug:

    @tiffmaxee @Butters & Lyla are you around today?
     
    Our Dolly Girl (GA) likes this.
  9. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Yep! Tanya :)

    Sounds good. If you are around today to monitor, trying more LC to see how she steers isn’t a bad thing. You might need to pull out the safety food at some point today though (MC, HC). When, is a bit of a guessing game and depends on what the next tests say.
     
  10. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    It's nearly midnight here and am headed to bed in a few. Tagging @tiffmaxee too to take over.

    The idea behind the MC @+2 was because Dolly was dropping steeply at +3 and we wanted the curve to be more gentle to see if that prevented the higher pre-shots. This was some weeks back when she was seeing yellows. Now that she is not, and the dose is lower, you could experiment with not giving her MC and seeing how she works the dose. The idea is to keep her surfing in the 50-100 range for as long as possible.
     
  11. Our Dolly Girl (GA)

    Our Dolly Girl (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2019
    Thanks Bhooma. Sleep well, happy dreams. See you tonight. :D:bighug::bighug:
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  12. Our Dolly Girl (GA)

    Our Dolly Girl (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2019
    Thank you. I did exactly what I said, its gets her eating more of her lc. I am always around to monitor with a few exceptions, mostly isolation.:):)
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  13. Our Dolly Girl (GA)

    Our Dolly Girl (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2019
    Thanks Elise. I think we will be fine. :) Have a good day.
     
  14. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Hi Adrienne. The more time spent between 50-100, the more time healing and the better chance of another remission. A second remission is harder to achieve so being aggressive gives the best chance. If you were feeding lots of hc over a few hours she would be telling you she wants a reduction. If she surfs with mostly lc and mc she’s healing.
     
    Our Dolly Girl (GA) likes this.
  15. Our Dolly Girl (GA)

    Our Dolly Girl (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2019
    So all is okay with what I did? Tsp of 11% on her lc @+3? She remained flat, 73@+3 / 73@+4.
     
  16. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Yes. That’s your goal. Good job.
     
  17. Butters & Lyla

    Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    Sorry I wasn't on when Tanya tagged me.
    Beautiful numbers today. Great job getting Dolly to surf, Adrienne.
     
    Our Dolly Girl (GA) likes this.
  18. Our Dolly Girl (GA)

    Our Dolly Girl (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2019
    Thanks Lyla. Hope you’re having a nice day. :)
     
    Butters & Lyla likes this.
  19. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Nice surf today, Adrienne and a lovely PMPS! :)
     
    Our Dolly Girl (GA) likes this.
  20. Our Dolly Girl (GA)

    Our Dolly Girl (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2019
    The unpredictable Dolly :smuggrin:
     
  21. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    They all are! :rolleyes:
     
  22. Our Dolly Girl (GA)

    Our Dolly Girl (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2019
    Hope you had a good nights sleep.
    It is so interesting to me that Dolly and Bandit are almost the same age, diagnosed a couple of days apart, weigh almost the same, temperament the same, anxious and does not deal well with change. Dolly was also a dry food grazer, ate very little, if any, wet food (FF Shredded white meat chicken). Dolly hates people food, real chicken or raw makes her gag. You were destined to be our support and teacher and patient, caring helper. :p:p
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  23. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    How did you manage to transition her to wet food? I have tried everything and failed. Bandit has always been indifferent to food. She too doesn't like people's food. The only food I have seen her ABSOLUTELY LOVE is one variant of HC kibble (N&D Grain Free) that I use when she goes low.

    Thank you. You are too generous. I should show this to my sister. She will laugh for days, if not weeks, after reading it! :D
     
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2020
    Our Dolly Girl (GA) likes this.
  24. Our Dolly Girl (GA)

    Our Dolly Girl (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2019
    She won’t eat. She has two bowls, different food. :rolleyes:
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  25. Our Dolly Girl (GA)

    Our Dolly Girl (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2019
    FortiFlora on everything or she won’t eat it.
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  26. Our Dolly Girl (GA)

    Our Dolly Girl (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2019
    She gets Young Again treats.

    She won’t eat anything tonight.
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  27. Our Dolly Girl (GA)

    Our Dolly Girl (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2019
    Is she not eating because of the low number? Maybe?
     
  28. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Yup. Low number that's not too low = not interested in food. For Bandit, I find she is very hungry (a) above 25-280 (b) below 60 (c) when a drop below 50 is coming

    Not even MC?
     
    Our Dolly Girl (GA) likes this.
  29. Our Dolly Girl (GA)

    Our Dolly Girl (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2019
    I haven’t tried any yet.
     
  30. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    You could try giving her a spoon of it.
     
    Our Dolly Girl (GA) likes this.
  31. Our Dolly Girl (GA)

    Our Dolly Girl (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2019
    She’s eating like I never feed her. Tiny bit of 11% on her first bowl after she just ate most of her 2nd bowl o_O:D:p
     
  32. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    It's +1 now? Later? How much has she eaten then since her shot?
     
    Our Dolly Girl (GA) likes this.
  33. Our Dolly Girl (GA)

    Our Dolly Girl (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2019
    Maybe 2 - 3 ounces. So hard to tell.
     
  34. Our Dolly Girl (GA)

    Our Dolly Girl (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2019
    She didn’t eat the mc on her reg food. It’s been +1.5, should I test her?
     
  35. Our Dolly Girl (GA)

    Our Dolly Girl (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2019
    She maintains her weight but does not eat like some cats, 5.5 ounce cans. She barely eats a 3 ounce can. Because she grazes I am always giving her fresh food after 2-3 hours. Sometimes heated up but she eats fresh better.
     
  36. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Yes, please do. We will get some idea on whether to feed her to leave her be!
     
    Our Dolly Girl (GA) likes this.
  37. Our Dolly Girl (GA)

    Our Dolly Girl (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2019
    she is keeping away from me, places I can’t grab her. Honestly, I am ready to fall over tonight, feel like there is no way I can stay awake. It’s going to take a few to get her. It’s rare that she does this but when she does it’s best to let her give in rather than chase or grab her.
     
  38. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    OK. Try in a while. With that green PMPS, a test at some point would be essential.
    Do you want to try another reduction (unearned) and see if she holds it?
     
    Our Dolly Girl (GA) likes this.
  39. Our Dolly Girl (GA)

    Our Dolly Girl (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2019
    She’s 91@+2, never know with her. She had a tsp of 11% about 45 minutes ago.
     
  40. Our Dolly Girl (GA)

    Our Dolly Girl (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2019
    I don’t know Bhooma. I just want to do what’s best and unfortunately I don’t understand the pancreas enough to know what route to take.
     
  41. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Guess we will need one more test at least.
     
    Our Dolly Girl (GA) likes this.
  42. Our Dolly Girl (GA)

    Our Dolly Girl (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2019
    I guess it’s a little like a “crap shoot” to take unearned reductions
     
  43. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    I had to look up crap shoot! :)
    She has held the last couple of reductions. Okay, if you can keep up the testing, let's hold this dose for a few more days and see. :)
     
    Our Dolly Girl (GA) likes this.
  44. Our Dolly Girl (GA)

    Our Dolly Girl (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2019
    If you think it’s a good idea, I’m on board :)
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  45. Our Dolly Girl (GA)

    Our Dolly Girl (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2019
    She’s in a bad mood :mad:
     
  46. Our Dolly Girl (GA)

    Our Dolly Girl (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2019
    91@+3 :rolleyes:

    she finally ate some more lc. She’s really off today. Do I need to worry about ketones? She was 0.7 this am. I don’t think I need to but then what do I know?:eek:
     
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2020
  47. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    leave out food and go to bed!


    Let me ask @tiffmaxee
     
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2020
  48. Our Dolly Girl (GA)

    Our Dolly Girl (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2019
    You’re the best :joyful: . Ketones? She’s been higher by a little bit before. I was told 2 + is a concern. Just checking:cat: Thanks Bhooma. Have a lovely day. Tell Bandit to be a good girl. Have you tried FortiFlora? It changed the whole wet food problem but it’s expensive. I get it from eBay when I can get a good deal. Goodnight :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.

Share This Page