12/27 Ruby AMPS 61/+4 74/+7 89/PMPS 118/+3 87

Katherine&Ruby

Very Active Member
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-63-7-44-8-60-9-64-pmps-72-2-56-4-102.257111/

I was surprised to see the AMPS given the last test result I got before I went to sleep. Made the call this morning to reduce to 3 units even though Ruby didn't technically "earn" it (I don't really like that word but everyone here knows what that means). Frankly, numbers below 40 scare the bejezzus out of me, and given all of the variables at play with Ruby's various conditions, it's hard for me to be brave and push the envelope despite many good examples here of long term diabetics who do better in lower numbers.

Hope everyone has a great start to the week! :bighug:
 
Morning Katherine, I was surprised too when I saw her AMPS.
I hope Ruby surfs safely today on the 3 units. When do you have to go back to work Katherine .
 
I hope Ruby surfs safely today. Getting a number below 40 to earn a reduction is one of the reasons I don't do TR. I know what you mean.
Yeah, Furball is so bouncy that TR with reductions below 40 would be hard.
Given the amount of data that you have and how well you know Ruby, I think the reduction made sense.
Thanks for the support, Sienne. Until recently Ruby never dropped below 50. Good thing though is that we’re not butting up against the insulin resistance caused by the pred. I’m glad we don’t have to take her dose higher. Every increase leaves me sad.
 
I wouldn't get upset by an increase in dose although I can empathize. I was much the same with Gabby. I was initially convinced I was doing something wrong. It helped me to remember that insulin is a hormone and insulin needs vary depending on any number of factors -- food, other medication, stress, illness, activity, and even the phase of the moon. I knew I was doing my best for Gabby and that had to be enough.
 
I wouldn't get upset by an increase in dose although I can empathize. I was much the same with Gabby. I was initially convinced I was doing something wrong. It helped me to remember that insulin is a hormone and insulin needs vary depending on any number of factors -- food, other medication, stress, illness, activity, and even the phase of the moon. I knew I was doing my best for Gabby and that had to be enough.
I know, intellectually, that a cat needs as much insulin as it needs, and those needs can indeed vary. A cat on a drop of insulin does seem "less sick" than ones on higher doses though and that is the emotional component of this that has nothing to do with science or reality.
 
Back
Top