Re: 12/29 Esse AMPS: 347
Pat, indeed about the Core. Although, there are days where I've run out of catsicles, and wish I had something to put down for all of them....but since I've managed to switch all 9 from dry (even the holdouts...) to wet, I think that bringing in dry at this time is, well...silly.
Yes, CD, if it were something she was alarmed about, she'd've said 'do it now...it can't wait'. But we discussed which to do first, and she wants to see the infection gone. Her reasoning, which I completely agree with, is that should Esse need general anesthesia to remove the lump, complications are far more often with a concurrent infection than without one; and two, that if we can get the infection gone, her numbers might stablize a bit more, which would be easier on her if she needs general anesthesia. Thirdly, since the lump was, as I told her it would be, clean edges, small, attached by a small (something like a string) and not grown into a muscle or skin, and non-painful at all, she thinks it's probably lipoma...but the only sure way would be to aspirate, and even then, sometimes it comes back inconclusive...which would mean general anesthesia to remove it.
She, out of all the vets I've seen recently, doesn't think I'm a whackadoo. She understands that I'm working for my cat's best interest, and is willing to support and help me in that. And she and I share similar senses of humor, too...and if I can laugh with someone, then I can work with them about my precious babies. She will be doing Malachi's neutering when the time comes, too...
And yes, it feels good to know she's there, and is willing to work with me, is familiar with the Tilly protocol, and agrees with it (mostly), didn't castigate me for taking her off it when she was wonky, and agrees with my dosing, and didn't try to get me to buy the H/D.
Now, since I forgot to ask her, I'll ask you all. I grabbed a serious deal on some extra-lean ground beef (4.8 pounds for $7), and as I was splitting it up into freezer packages, I was thinking perhaps the cats could eat some of this. Only one meal a week, and raw, but what are your thoughts on extra-lean ground beef as an occasional 'raw food' kinda thing?
Best-
Michele