? 12/29 Evey Dosing Advice AMPS 148 +6 110 PMPS 128 +3 61 +5 54

Evey

Active Member
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...s-155-3-160-5-135-pmps-162-3-101-5-94.296977/

12/29 Evey AMPS 148 +6 110 PMPS 128 +3 61

Happy Sunday~

I will be out of town for the next 2 days but I can test her and prick her in the morning of 30th and I will be back in time for her evening shot on the 31st. I tried to teach my folks how to test her during the weekend but it's too complicated for them. Based on her BG now, is it possible to skip two shots when I am gone? or should my folks give her 0.5U or give her 0.25U to be safe? Thank you in advance~
@Bandit's Mom @Wendy&Neko


29th feeding schedule: AMS, +2, +3.5, +5, PMS, +2, +3.5, +5
 
This dose dropped her to 54 last night. If your parents can't test her, you want to go down to a vacation dose of 0.25u from tonight itself. You can go back up to 0.5u when you return.

Do ask them to feed her as per the feeding schedule you have posted above.
 
When I had to go out of town, I would reduce Gabby's dose. You might want to drop the dose back to 0.25u tonight given that there's carry over from the depot. Like Bhooma suggested, just bring the dose back up to 0.5u when you get back home.
 
I taught my parents how to draw 0.25U but it's hard for them because they hard time seeing it. How bad would it be if they skip a dose or two?
 
Has she ever tested positive for ketones? If yes, then skipping insulin can be a concern. If not, pretend it was two fur shots in a row.
 
Has she ever tested positive for ketones? If yes, then skipping insulin can be a concern. If not, pretend it was two fur shots in a row.

No, she has never tested positive for ketones. They will try to draw 0.25U tonight. If they can't draw it, I will just tell them to skip the dose then.
 
No, she has never tested positive for ketones. They will try to draw 0.25U tonight. If they can't draw it, I will just tell them to skip the dose then.
Would you be able to draw it up in advance and keep the syringes in the frig? That is what I did when I went on vacation. Good luck! Enjoy your break!
 
Would you be able to draw it up in advance and keep the syringes in the frig? That is what I did when I went on vacation. Good luck! Enjoy your break!

If I remember correctly, it's bad to draw up the dose in advance and put it in the fridge? I don't remember where I read that. If I can draw it up in advance, that would solve lots of problems.
 
If I remember correctly, it's bad to draw up the dose in advance and put it in the fridge? I don't remember where I read that. If I can draw it up in advance, that would solve lots of problems.
Wow! I did not know that. I did that for my vacation and do it for the occasional evening out. I hope someone on here can clarify that. Thanks
 
You are correct @Evey The manufacturer does not recommended prefilling syringes for any length of time. We had someone check with a pharmacy prof who said that it might be OK if you could fill in a sterile environment, which is not something we have at home. I think if you did it a couple hours in advance it might be OK, but not days in advance. The concern is the bit of silicon on the inside of the barrel and contamination of the insulin.
 
Back
Top