12/29 Latte AMPS- 220, PMPS- 101

Status
Not open for further replies.

carolynandlatte

Very Active Member
Yesterday:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=91

Not a fantastic start to our day.

  • 1. Latte headed straight behind the litter box to look for litter to munch on.
    2. Refusing to eat, kept going to litter box. Remembered she didnt poop yesterday...Oh No! :o Yup, you guessed it...VOMIT!
    3. Decided to try eating 20 minutes later and threw a new one at me...Vomited IN her food bowl. :cry:
    4. Let's not even mention her amps

THis is all AFTER her insulin. I havent a clue what to do!

Do we want to place bets on how much her drop will be this a.m.?

What is going to happen on a day like this when Im back at work?

I will do a +1 or +1.5 shortly.

Carolyn (and Latte)
 
Re: 12/29 Latte AMPS- 212

"Vomited IN her food bowl"
Yikes! Morris vomited in his litter box last week when he was throwing up....guess what, vomit doesn't clump!!
Sorry about all your troubles with Latte...don't know what to tell you but here's a hug....(((((((((Carolyn))))))))))
 
+1- 198, +2- 98

She was able to start eating and keep things down (so far) shortly after some ondansetron. Still needs more food, has not eaten much.

carolyn and Latte
 
+4- 63

Going to let her ride this out w/o encouraging more food so I can see how she would do w/o me home.
Of course she always has access to food....just not going to beg and plead.

carolyn (and latte)
 
Re: 12/29 Latte AMPS- 220

((Carolyn)) Just don't know what to say...hope she keeps the food down ...
at least she ate a little. Hope it gets better for you both real soon.
 
Re: 12/29 Latte AMPS- 220

Have you thought about calling your vet about Latte's recent predilection for eating litter? I haven't a clue what that's all about.

Hopefully, Latte's stomach will settle down. Sorry your day isn't starting out as well as you and Latte would like.
 
Re: 12/29 Latte AMPS- 220, +6- 56

I sure hope this is her nadir!

She just snacked on some kibble. That will help for tonight when Im at work, I guess.

Sienne-
I did email her vet yesterday. He said it could be a sign of anemia (common with crf), a play thing, deficiency, or gi issue. I may consider bringing her in for a kidney panel in the very near future.
 
Re: 12/29 Latte AMPS- 220

((((Latte))))

There have been a few people here that have had anemia Dx after kitty started eating litter. Would certainly get that checked out if you can.

She is working on a reduction IMO given the last few days with nadirs in the 50's. Of course could have something to do with her eating too, but I'll bet she will earn one before you go back to work. Can always drop the dose for your comfort if she doesn't, though.

When do you go back?
 
Re: 12/29 Latte AMPS- 220

Hi Cassandra,
I go back to work on Tuesday next week. I do have to bartend tonight and NYE. NYE will be a hard one because I will be gone very long, and very late.

She is not going to get caught earning the reduction today. She started eating and drinking like crazy shortly after +6. A +6.75 revealed the same number. She was very stressed during this test and has had ENOUGH of this poking business (can you blame her?).

Part of me does not want her to get a reduction if it might cause her evening numbers to rise. They have been high the past few nights. Though I suppose that could be rebound. Of course I dont want her dropping to an unsafe level, either. Wish the cycles would even out a little more.

I wont be around past +1 tonight. Hopefully she gives me a comfortable shooting number. Will get a +11

ETA: Other than a bit ticked at me, she seems to be feeling better.
 
Re: 12/29 Latte AMPS- 220

Latte - This isn't a very attractive condo on your actions. :|

Carolyn - Check you messages. I think I sent you a link so you can have a avatar of latte. :)
 
Re: 12/29 Latte AMPS- 220

Hey Look! I figured out how to reply! Too bad I don't have much to say... :oops:

I, too, think she's working towards a dose decrease, but these are certainly LOVELY numbers! Now if we can get her appreciation for FOOD back up, and encourage a healthy distaste for litter - you'll be aheadof the game!

Tell her that's decidedly un-princess like behavior!!
 
Re: 12/29 Latte AMPS- 220, +11- STILL GREEN! (91)

Okay, so this is a night I will be gone about 1hr after shot until maybe +6, 7 or 8. I know she jumped up last night quite a bit between +11 and pmps. But if she does not tonight, what should I do?!?!

She has almost 1/3 cup kibble on board from earlier today. It should be hitting her system anytime, but does not appear to last much longer than a few hours. I cant guarantee I can get her to eat a lot after shot.

she theoretically will bounce, right?

Pred will raise her from somewhere around +1- +4 or 5.

Any other convinceing you can offer me if her pmps is still green or low blue to shoot entire dose? WOuld it be wise considering I wont be home? Maybe a 1.5 or 1.25 bcs?

LOL, watch she will bounce to 200 between now and then. Best to be prepared I suppose. ;)
 
Re: 12/29 Latte AMPS- 220, +11- 91 (PM planning help needed)

Latte has been surfing for hours, best case she'll just keep right on surfing!

Let's see how much she rises. If you're uncomfortable, you can go with 1.25 but really it sounds like she has been eating well today and her regular dose would probably be fine.
 
Re: 12/29 Latte AMPS- 220, +11- 91 (PM planning help needed)

Hi Libby,
I gave her pred about 15 min early. Will test in about 10min with regular dose ready to go. If I feel comfortable I will FIRST feed her some babyfood and then shoot. If not comfortable, I will post and see what you think (if you are around). I could stall probably up to 30 minutes. Though I already may have a conflict on NYE, so prefer not to get too thrown off on time. Tonight I will feed her babyfood BEFORE I shoot and then offer wet on my way out the door. Im sure she will eat it and it will make me feel better to know she has SOMETHING in her tummy before I leave.

Be back in a few!

Thank you!!!!!
 
We did it! :mrgreen:

+12.25- 119 (obviously going up)
She ate about 1/3 jar babyfood and will try wet and/or a little more bf before I leave.
Shot fat 1.5u (normal dose)

She will be SOOOOOOOOOOOO happy to get rid of me tonight!

Curious to see what will still be hanging around when I get home (pred, bounce, kibble) and where she will be!

Have a great night everyone...and thanks Libby for dbl checking. Im getting better with the lower numbers, but the lower ps are still scaring me. Ha! I cant believe I let her sit in the 50's for a few hrs and didnt freak out or offer her food!
 
Have a good evening, Carolyn. Latte did great today. (Well, except for the litter eating thing.) Nice lowish nadir and perfect number for PMPS.
 
Re: 12/29 Latte AMPS- 220, PMPS- 101, +6- 258

Ouch!
That would be a big bounce and lots of kibble today
Sure hope it clears by a.m. so we dont repeat the drop/bounce.

Got some winding down to do after work, so I may get another test in an hr or so.

She is definately nauseated tonight (lip licking. little gagging, drinking). *sigh* But her spirits are really high! She is so amazing!
 
Clear that bounce, Latte! I know you can. :)

Carolyn, Have you ever considered switching to an acid reducer other than Pepcid? With the Pred's potential to cause gastritis as well as the CKD, maybe Latte would benefit from a medication like Omeprazole/Prilosec? The dose is 1/4 of a tablet (really tiny), and I have about a month's worth here if you wanted to give it a go. It really helped Sasha (Pepcid didn't), and I know Linda/Bear likes it too. It's pretty popular on the IBD board, maybe because it is stronger/more effective than Pepcid in many kitties.

Just a thought. Sometimes kitties guzzle water if they have an acid stomach, and maybe the med switch would help.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top