12/29 Six's AMPS 393, +3 307, PMPS 300 - advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy and Six

Very Active Member
Good Morning!

12/28

+7 355
AMPS (11.5) 393
+3 307

yesterday's condo
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=74

Q1: This is day 12 at 1 unit BID and low carb diet/canned food. Will be talk to the vet later after sending Six's numbers to her. Is it time to increase his dose, maybe to 1.25 BID? Advice?

Thank you
 
Re: 12/28 Six's AMPS 393 - advice?

My hunch is that you have room and the data to increase the dose but one of the dosing advisers will be by to make a recommendation. Six's SS is remarkable though. Clearly, he was getting too much insulin at 5 units. The lack of black is very good to see!
 
Re: 12/28 Six's AMPS 393 - advice?

Normally we increase Lantus after 6 cycles unless there is some blue in there then we wait 10 cycles. Since your first blue was on a PS 2 days ago, I've sent out a call to the rest of the dosing team to stop by and weigh in.
 
Re: 12/28 Six's AMPS 393 - advice?

More helpful info???

I have no idea about BG between PM 12/25 and AM 12/27. We were out of town. A cat sitter was in charge of injections while we were gone, but did not feel comfortable asking her to take BG. Could be there were more blues during that time...

I opted not to ask about dose increase before that time because I knew I would be out of town and unable to monitor BG.

I will be around for the remainder of the week (on vacation), but back to work on Monday 1/4.

Six has been on Lantus a total of 18 days...first 6 days at 1 unit SID, last 12 at 1 unit BID.
 
Re: 12/28 Six's AMPS 393 - advice?

You are out of the black & pink. and That is Great!! You are doing very well for a newbie!! Keep up the great work!!
 
Re: 12/29 Six's AMPS 393, +3 307

Amy, are you finished with the shot time adjustments you are making? I see that the last three shots were 1/2 hour early, at these numbers it's not doing much harm but we try not to do two 1/2 hour shots in a row because it can create too much overlap.
 
Hi Libby -

I'm still shifting...the cat sitters hours were 2 hours off of my schedule (that we have to be back to by Sunday 1/3).

I'm trying to make shifts by 15 minutes every shot.

So tonight...I tested him at 8:00pm, 30 minutes before the 12 hour mark for the next shot. I gave him his shot at 8:15pm. Does that make sense? So when I am recording the PMPS it's really @ the 11.5 mark and the shot is at the 11.75 mark.

Should I adjust this shift? If so, how?

I am also still looking for dosing advice. Is it time to consider increasing his dose? Should I wait until the shift is done?

Thank you.
 
Hi Libby -

I'm still shifting...the cat sitters hours were 2 hours off of my schedule (that we have to be back to by Sunday 1/3).

I'm trying to make shifts by 15 minutes every shot.

So tonight...I tested him at 8:00pm, 30 minutes before the 12 hour mark for the next shot. I gave him his shot at 8:15pm. Does that make sense? So when I am recording the PMPS it's really @ the 11.5 mark and the shot is at the 11.75 mark.

Should I adjust this shift? If so, how?

I am also still looking for dosing advice. Is it time to consider increasing his dose? Should I wait until the shift is done?

Thank you.
 
the reason I asked about your time adjustments is because if you're shooting 1/2 hour early every cycle, I would definitely not suggest a dose increase at the same time. Since your shots are only 15 minutes early, I think Six has room for an increase to 1.25 units.

The way you're recording your shots makes it look like you're shooting at +11.5. Since the test is within 15 minutes of the shot, I would just record it as the PMPS. I would write 300 (+11.75) in the box to show that you shot at +11.75.

Good luck with the new dose!
 
I'll fix the PMPS in his spreadsheet. Let me know if I do it incorrectly.

I have 7 more shifts to make (90 minutes). Six should be back to his normal schedule as of Saturday morning.

Thanks Jill and Libby!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top