Jack & Mopem'sMom
Member since 2020
Well, yesterday I stated we would go to 7.5units if I didn't see blue numbers. Jack-Jack the crazy cat decided to throw an 89 at me for his PMPS last night. I am assuming he didn't eat what I left out for him while I was out at work. Technically we should have reduced to 6.5 units then, due to his lower than 90 number, but considering he ate prime filets with some kibble on top and mixed in, I stuck to 7. This morning we had 159 @ the AMPS and prime filets again for breakfast (because heaven forbid he eat any of the multiple cans of pate I open every day) so we again stayed at 7units. I don't know what to do anymore. I know we are not following the accepted protocol, but it seems like maybe we are seeing some better and more consistent numbers on the 7 units with his ridiculous filet addiction. When he eats the pate, we go lower and I have no choice but to lower the dose, but with the 100% pure stubbornness Jack exhibits, I'm kind of OK with the slight derivation from protocol. Any thoughts on this, anyone?
In other news, no blood tests scheduled yet at vet clinic- surprise, surprise. I swear I'm just going to have to take a few hours off work, show up there in person and make a nuisance of my self to get an appointment. And I tried my sister's vet clinic (could not get her vet, but another Dr in the clinic) and was seriously under- impressed. Less than 5 (seriously, no exaggeration) combined minutes with her and the tech (who came in first) spent on exam, diagnosis and meds. So, the search for a new vet clinic for Jack continues. There is a possibility west of where I am, but it would take almost two hours one way, and Jack does not travel well, so I'm very hesitant to even try. SIGH....
Yesterday's post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-2-jack-294-amps.271405/#post-3021069
In other news, no blood tests scheduled yet at vet clinic- surprise, surprise. I swear I'm just going to have to take a few hours off work, show up there in person and make a nuisance of my self to get an appointment. And I tried my sister's vet clinic (could not get her vet, but another Dr in the clinic) and was seriously under- impressed. Less than 5 (seriously, no exaggeration) combined minutes with her and the tech (who came in first) spent on exam, diagnosis and meds. So, the search for a new vet clinic for Jack continues. There is a possibility west of where I am, but it would take almost two hours one way, and Jack does not travel well, so I'm very hesitant to even try. SIGH....
Yesterday's post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-2-jack-294-amps.271405/#post-3021069