12/31, boomer, AMPS=137

Status
Not open for further replies.

Traci and Boomer

Very Active Member
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=395&view=unread#unread

Just when I think I know what's going to happen...I thought last night he'd go really low, show me a 50 and then we'd get a dosecrease. What does he do??? Go back up to blue. I don't get it.

VENT: And he's constantly yelling at me for MORE food! And his poop stinks! More than usual. Every time I get up to go to the kitchen he follows me. He wants high-carb treats because he's a crack addict, LOL. :twisted:
 
Tracy, you are here a short time...This disease is unpredictable!! It is a lot of trial & error..Just when you think Boomer will zig, he zags..Being consistant & patient helps to get us through each day--
Amps of 137 looks pretty good to me!! Shot times do count..Boomer is doing terrific! Consistant dosing is needed...
Wish my Moonie had that amps..Look at the bright side--Your cat feels good & is hungry because Boomer is diabetic..It's natural.
Hope you get the numbers you want today--Happy & Healthy New Year.
 
Any thought about giving Boomer a little less food at mealtime and giving more snacks throughout the day?

Great start for Boomer's day, btw.
 
OMG! I can't believe you brought up my "secret paranoia", the feeding issue! I honestly feel like since his DX I've been feeding him too much. But he's Mr. Drama and always whining for more food or treats. It's driving me crazy. I never questioned how much food I fed him before his DX, but I do now. I've noticed other people ask this question a lot too. I think he eats more than the "regular" cat. I'm always giving him bits of food to quiet him down. It seems that I'm always needing to stall feeding him until the next test or shot and he's always wanting more food. I got an auto feeder and he's gets food all day.
This is what I feed:
Frozen cat food in the auto feeder every few hours - about 1/3 can of FF in each slot.
A 3 oz can (or two) at AM and PM
A couple HC treats with tests or a LC vitamin with tests
Random deli meat treats

I feel like he's going to be a blimp! I have a human scale at home that I weigh him on. He used to be between 9 and 9.2 pounds and now he's 9.4 to 9.6. He's not over-weight yet, he's good but his stomach is filling out like a goat's; side to side, not down. Maybe I'm also afraid that he's in danger of a hypo because the kind folks here always remind me to have food out. Well, I do.

What's the "normal" amount of food to give a cat to maintain his weight? (Or do I need to figure that out?)
 

Attachments

  • Christmas picture small.JPG
    Christmas picture small.JPG
    24.8 KB · Views: 1,085
GREAT AMPS for Boomer this morning!! Yay!
It's good to remember that before insulin, our kitties were literally starving their cells...no nourishment was
really being used properly by their bodies. My Shadow was a bottomless pit even when we first started with insulin.
It slowly stopped and his appetite was more normal after awhile....snacks throughout the day help...just don't feed too
close to PMPS time...feed at the beginning of the cycle...
You are doig great and so is Boomer!!

Hope you have a very Happy New Year!! All the best!!
 
Food is a touchy subject with me and Shadoe; she has become a bottomless pit and I swear her legs have become hollow. She is approaching the shape of a football, and any waist she once had, has followed my own to some unknown location. Her nickname is now Chunky Monkey. She was 5kg, then 5.2kg, and I am betting she has put on a bit more too.

I don't know if it's right or wrong, but I feed her what she wants except for the 2 hours prior to amps and pmps. Otherwise, she can eat what she wants, but I never put out whole cans of food at a time - just small portions more frequently. Some days, she goes through over 3 cans of 5oz Sophisticat, so I stick to the LC foods, under 5 carbs in the food list, and most are 0 or 1. Her treats have been steamed chicken breast that's chopped into tiny diced pieces which I keep in the freezer until needed. Shadoe's not yet been regulated, so I was told to just let her eat. And she does. Very well.

I do like the autofeeder because I fill it with 5 equal portions of about 1/4cup of food; I freeze the portions too and put them out just before I leave for work in the morn. I am gone for 12hrs so she can complain all she wants; I can't hear her. Those portions must be enough because she is never howling when I get home. She has learned that she can follow me all over the place; she will get only a couple pieces of the chicken before her shot and that is all. She just goes to her shot chair, sits and sulks till shot time.

Now about Boomer's numbers and expecting this or that. Don't bother because I firmly believe that they are out to mess around with you (they could join a football team with their amazing zig/zag talents). And all the while, they are just a purring and looking happy as all get out!

And that's what I watch; watch how Boomer's acting, playing more or scooting around the place, and the numbers will follow soon enough.

I hope you and Boomer have an awesome New Years, tell him we want to ring in the new year with some lower numbers.
 
Hi Traci, what a cute photograph. You both look adorable!

As for the amount of food, here is what I use to estimate the amount of food I give my kitty. (from Dr. Lisa's site.)

[13.6 x ideal weight of kitty] + 70 = calories per day

So if your kitty's ideal weight is 9.5 lbs. ... (13.6 x 9.5) + 70 = 199.2 calories
Then look at Janet & Binky's food chart to see how many calories are in what you feed.

Note that it is the IDEAL weight is used in the calculations, not the current weight (unless cat is already at ideal weight.)

Some days I end up giving a little more, some a little less depending on my cat's appetite, but I do try to keep the average close to the correct amount. Nothing is exact, including kitty's appetite so just use this as a guide and not an absolute.

I hope this helps. Remember this is for a kitty that is regulated... diabetes under control. If not quite there yet, the kitty will be hungrier and need more food since the food isn't being processed as well as a regulated kitty. You guys are doing really well. :D
 
I'm constantly thinking about what Kitty eats. I always feed him a meal at shots, and an early snack at +2 (because "early snacks rule! :) ). When he doesn't get these, his numbers show it.

If you feel like it, take a look at our spreadsheet. You'll see how much Kitty fluctuated in the first months. But eventually, as Pat said, it gets better. Kitty ate huge amounts in the early months.

I have one question. I think I see mentions of HC -- or did you mean LC? When do you give HC? He doesn't need that, of course, except when he's really low.
 
I am referring to HC treats like Temptations. I still give him about 3 after some tests. I know I shouldn't. As soon as I can find a substitute that he will eat I'm going to stop.

FYI Kathy-I tried to look at your profile but it won't let me. You have to "share" it on Google or no one else can see it.
 
Re: 12/31, boomer, AMPS=137, +6.5=89

Just got home and he's going fine. On the way I stopped at a pet supply store that I never go to and looked at the treats. I found two that I haven't tried - one is Wellness core jerky for dogs and one is Evo treats. He liked both and hopefully he'll continue to like them. I'd like to remove all high carb treats (even though he doesn't get many....don't freak out on me)
It's snowing here.
 
Traci -- thanks, I will fix my profile (assuming I can figure out how! :)

Have you tried Liv-a-Little freeze-dried chicken treats? Kitty LOVES them.

Getting these little guys off the HC isn't easy. It took me a while to phase out kibble; I left some for him overnight for a long time. I didn't stop until I forgot to leave it out one night, and he ate the soft food instead!

Happy New Year!!
 
have a good dinner, Happy New Year!

I'm not a good one to talk about food quantities, because I let Lucy's weight gain get WAY out of control while I was treating her and now she is seriously obese. However, I will say that at one time I was feeding her about 5-6 cans of Fancy Feast per day (just for her), and now I'm down to 6 or maybe 7 cans for all three cats together. Whew!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top