12/31 BuddyM: AMPS 185, +2 58, +7 56, +9 70: Dosing?

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Mariette, Dec 31, 2020.

  1. Mariette

    Mariette Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2020
  2. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Yes. People do find certain foods lead to lower numbers. I was just reading how varied the ingredients are in the foods when tested on a Truth About Food. That’s quite a drop !!
     
    Mariette likes this.
  3. Mariette

    Mariette Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2020
    Good to know. Maybe I'll split the rabbit portion with something else going forward.

    Yes, it's a scary quick drop. Yikes!
     
  4. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    It’s a perfect example of why we test! Good catch.
     
    Mariette likes this.
  5. Mariette

    Mariette Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2020
    Took me forever to get blood from him for a test. We're pretty much at +3 now... 61.
    Going to give a bit more MC and LC. Hopefully food will still kick some more in and help keep it afloat.
     
    tiffmaxee likes this.
  6. Butters & Lyla

    Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    Nice catch!! Wow. Good call giving Buddy some more MC. With that steep a drop this early, you could be in for a long, active cycle:D:D.
     
    Mariette and tiffmaxee like this.
  7. Mariette

    Mariette Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2020
    Thanks Lyla. Yes, super early. I don't quite know his trends for green yet so it's a bit scary
     
  8. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Test in 20-30. You have this!
     
    Mariette likes this.
  9. Mariette

    Mariette Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2020
    He's 68 +3.5. Hopefully we've levelled out now. I'll test in an hour.
    Thanks for supporting us Elise and Lyla!
     
    Butters & Lyla and tiffmaxee like this.
  10. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    Buddy seems to be turning a corner here...Stay away from the sharkies, little man! :D:D
     
    tiffmaxee and Mariette like this.
  11. Mariette

    Mariette Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2020
    Thanks Katherine! Yes, I just measured him... he's 77 at +4.25. Looking good I think.
     
  12. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Looking very good
     
    Mariette likes this.
  13. Mariette

    Mariette Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2020
    He dipped back down to 56 at +7 and still only 70 at +9.

    Thoughts on giving him a reduction? I know it's below 50 on the TR protocol, but we worked pretty hard to keep him above that today.

    Otherwise give him the normal shot tonight? I'm a bit nervous to shoot normal if he doesn't clear the green. :nailbiting:
     
  14. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    We have to see an under 50 for a reduction on TR. If he really wants that reduction, he'll show it to you. Might not be too long.
     
  15. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    A lot can happen in 3 hours too.
     
  16. Mariette

    Mariette Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2020
    If he's close to 50 like he was today should I rather not intervene and see if he wants to go below 50 in future?

    I feel like he would have dipped further for sure if I didn't start giving gravy at +2
     
  17. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    The longer he spends in normal numbers the more healing. I know it’s scary but he had a really good cycle today. The saying here is shoot low to stay low. That’s the beauty of Lantus and when it works the best.
     
  18. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
  19. Mariette

    Mariette Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2020
    Thank you Elise and Wendy! :bighug:

    I will try and put my brave pants on.

    Do people let the blood sugar drop to see if it will go below 50 before intervening?
     
  20. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Usually we try to keep them from dropping as spending lots of time in normal numbers helps the pancreas to heal. If they really need a reduction they will earn it no matter how hard you try to prevent it. You are just starting to see those greens so I would try to prevent a reduction.
     
    Mariette likes this.
  21. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    What a lovely cycle today! God job shooting another low PS today. Buddy is really beginning to work the juice! :)
     
    tiffmaxee and Mariette like this.
  22. Mariette

    Mariette Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2020
    Okay gotcha!

    He was out of the greens for PMPS so I felt a bit better about that 4.5 dose :)
     
  23. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    :D I bet he earns a reduction soon.
     
    Mariette likes this.
  24. Mariette

    Mariette Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2020
    Thank you Bhooma! I'm sure it will get easier as I get used to seeing the lower numbers. The greens and even blues are still new to him!
     
  25. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Yes. It is indeed scary initially. Ironically, the kitty's liver and our nerves get used to the abnormally high numbers that the kitty has been suffering for weeks/months and we both have to be trained to get used to NORMAL numbers! :D
    Keep shooting those low pre-shots as long as you can monitor. It will make a big difference to Buddy's numbers. :)
     
    Mariette and tiffmaxee like this.
  26. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Those greens will soon become addictive. I promise.
     
    Mariette and Bandit's Mom like this.

Share This Page