12/31 Butters PMBG 47/+0.5 61/+1.5 56/+2.5 99

Butters & Lyla

Member Since 2020
Yesterday Butters missed a +8 snack in her auto feeder overnight. You know, the auto feeder that is literally right next to her while she sleeps:confused:. She ate the +10 snack, though, and her full breakfast.

This morning, her belly was harder than it has been lately. I was concerned. She is getting the gabapentin @+1 each cycle (as of yesterday). By @+2, her belly was noticeably softer and she was acting snuggly/happy.
I don't know if this is a coincidence. Too soon to say, I think. I'm going to increase the bupe a tiny bit and will continue to observe.

We are on cycle four of 3.5U.

Have a great day, all.
 
Last edited:
83 @AMPS - raw breakfast
67 @+2.5 - fed a little raw
59 @+3.5 - fed a little 13% (since it is early in the cycle to have dropped from 83 to 59)
56 @+4 - fed a little raw
 
How’s her weight? I keep forgetting to ask you? You don’t think a little 13% is needed?

I fed her 13% at +3.5. You're right. I probably should have fed her more of that @+4.
Her weight is currently just over 10.5 lbs. She could stand to lose a little bit of weight. She usually bobbles between 9.5 - 10.5 lbs.
 
I fed her 13% at +3.5. You're right. I probably should have fed her more of that @+4.
Her weight is currently just over 10.5 lbs. She could stand to lose a little bit of weight. She usually bobbles between 9.5 - 10.5 lbs.

I actually like that she hasn’t lost any weight right now. With 67@ +4.5 with lc, I t “think” you can wait an hour. What about 45?
 
Do you think the not losing weight is another sign right now that she is feeling good?
45 is a good idea.

That is a really good sign Lyla :)! T has lost anywhere from 1-1.5 pounds with flares. Not only does lack of appetite effect their weight, but also the inability of the GI system to function properly due to the digestive enzymes of the pancreas as well as potential issues with the mucosa of the intestines effecting absorption of nutrients. As a result, the cat may be eating, but still lose weight & also experience issues with cobalamin and folate levels.
 
Do you think the not losing weight is another sign right now that she is feeling good?
45 is a good idea.
Yes, I do. I just didn’t know why her tummy keeps getting harder when you withdraw pain meds. All signs are that the episode is over so why is she still in pain? I wonder if it’s from food and IBD related. What’s in the 13%? I’m wondering if she would do better with raw and syrup for mc?
 
61 @+5.25

That is a really good sign Lyla :)! T has lost anywhere from 1-1.5 pounds with flares. Not only does lack of appetite effect their weight, but also the inability of the GI system to function properly due to the digestive enzymes of the pancreas as well as potential issues with the mucosa of the intestines effecting absorption of nutrients. As a result, the cat may be eating, but still lose weight & have issues with cobalamin and folate levels.
That's good news! Possibly another sign that the raw is working well for her and that the flare could be behind us.
I didn't consider that weight loss could be caused due to other factors, besides lack of appetite and uncontrolled DM. Thank you for explaining:bighug:.
 
I forgot to mention, it also effected the absorption of carbohydrates for T & therefore, what one would think would bring BG up with respect to carb % didn’t do anything for him. It was not that he wasn’t sensitive to carbs—-it was that the absorption wasn’t happening so therefore, neither was an increase in BG. Just something else to watch for with Butters if the intestines are involved.

You need an alarm clock next to the feeder :woot:....you all will be awake when that feeder opens...LOL :D. She would probably look at you with disdain, look at the feeder & just go back to sleep o_O:)!!
 
Yes, I do. I just didn’t know why her tummy keeps getting harder when you withdraw pain meds. All signs are that the episode is over so why is she still in pain? I wonder if it’s from food and IBD related. What’s in the 13%? I’m wondering if she would do better with raw and syrup for mc?
Good question. I really don't know. Her vet wants to work on her diet to make sure nothing aggravates her GI tract. But figuring it out will be a slow process I think. I hate that she had that hard tummy this morning. She is doing great right now, though.

The 13% is Ziwipeak venison, there aren't many ingredients in it and she used to eat other ziwipeak foods sometimes. I only just started using it this cycle. I would add syrup to it make HC. I was using Weruva gravy foods previously, which I don't think were good for her. I could try raw and syrup for MC if the ziwipeak seems to aggravate her.
 
Hope Butters surfs safely and her tummy stays soft :bighug: you seemed to break your FTC pants in justtttt fine :p Have a wonderful day, Lyla :bighug:
 
I forgot to mention, it also effected the absorption of carbohydrates for T & therefore, what one would think would bring BG up with respect to carb % didn’t do anything for him. It was not that he wasn’t sensitive to carbs—-it was that the absorption wasn’t happening so therefore, neither was an increase in BG. Just something else to watch for with Butters if the intestines are involved.

You need an alarm clock next to the feeder :woot:....you all will be awake when that feeder opens...LOL :D. She would probably look at you with disdain, look at the feeder & just go back to sleep o_O:)!!
She has generally been responsive to carbs....except when she isn't:nailbiting:. Definitely something I'll have to keep in mind. Goal is ultimately to manage her without higher carb foods, but she may have other plans. I will keep my eyes peeled for that.
 
Afternoon Lyla , happy to hear her tummy got soft. She's looking great.
I hope she has a comfortable day .♥♥:bighug::bighug:
Wishing you and Butters a Happy and Healthy New Year
 
Last edited:
You are doing a fabulous job with Butters! Look at her rock the greens!
She is rocking them. A little too much rocking, perhaps.
She also swatted me when I touched the right side of her tummy a little while ago. I'm so sad. I am still hoping it is a coincidence that it happened on day two of switching to q12 with the gabapentin.
 
I am sorry about the painful tummy :(. Is there any plan to repeat an ultrasound at some point to see if there have been any changes since the last one?

I am hoping there hasn’t been any significant changes, but if labs are pretty normal but there is still an issue, it might be something to think about. After Ts initial flare back in 2015 & inability to wean him off of some of the meds, we had a repeat ultrasound done (a few months later) & there were changes that were not seen on the initial one.
Again, just a thought.

Does it seem to be more common within a time period after she eats....while digesting?
 

Attachments

  • 02B267A3-323F-4402-820A-84525DE36A84.jpeg
    02B267A3-323F-4402-820A-84525DE36A84.jpeg
    33.5 KB · Views: 81
I was also thinking a repeat ultrasound is a good idea but was holding off suggesting it as it seemed her tummy was softening or maybe due to the food.
 
Last edited:
I am sorry about the painful tummy :(. Is there any plan to repeat an ultrasound at some point to see if there have been any changes since the last one?

I am hoping there hasn’t been any significant changes, but if labs are pretty normal but there is still an issue, it might be something to think about. After Ts initial flare back in 2015 & inability to wean him off of some of the meds, we had a repeat ultrasound done (a few months later) & there were changes that were not seen on the initial one.
Again, just a thought.

Does it seem to be more common within a time period after she eats....while digesting?

I was also thinking a repeat ultrasound is a good idea but was holding off suggest it as it seemed her tummy was softening or maybe due to the food.

There isn't a date for another u/s set, but her vet recommended it a while ago as something to think about, especially if I have difficulty weaning her off the meds. It does seem like it is worth repeating, given what is going on. I'll discuss it whenever he is back in the office. I haven't been able to get in touch with anyone there this week.

I haven't been able to tell because I haven't been diligent about marking the time. And today she has been eating all day.

Hope the gravy slows things down Lyla :bighug:!
Thanks...that's going to give me nightmares. lol:p

I'm just trying to keep her safe as best I know how:).
 
It plays the happy, non creepy Tom & Jerry theme....NO “Pop Goes the Weasel” being sent your way :nailbiting::cool:!! I wouldn’t do that to you...LOL
 
Fun day:rolleyes:. Is it 2021 yet?

Here is just this afternoon:
67 @+7 - withheld food
41 @+7.5 - fed 1 tsp 13% w/ syrup
56 @+8 - fed 1 tsp 13%
41 @+8.5 - fed 1 tsp 21%
56 @+9 - fed 13%
38 @+9.5 - fed 21% gravy w/ syrup
50 @+10 - fed 13%
52 @+10.5 - no food
Currently 63 @+11

Ok, Butters. You get three "Oy vey"s today!
Accurate!

It plays the happy, non creepy Tom & Jerry theme....NO “Pop Goes the Weasel” being sent your way :nailbiting::cool:!! I wouldn’t do that to you...LOL
Thank you!!! It already plays over and over in my mind:eek:.
 
I'm barely keeping up with her. The many reductions, BCS and skip don't seem to have slowed her down. Thinking of reducing by .5U.
 
I'm barely keeping up with her. The many reductions, BCS and skip don't seem to have slowed her down. Thinking of reducing by .5U.
Given all of this, and my goal of a well regulated cat, does it seem at all wise just to do a .25U reduction? My intuition says no.

My thought is either a reduction by .5U (instead of .25U), OR a BCS/skip tonight and reduce by .25U in the morning. If any of you are around, I'm curious if you have any thoughts. I know it goes against TR.

@tiffmaxee
@Wendy&Neko
@Marje and Gracie
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Tomlin
@Bandit's Mom

Thanks in advance.
 
Last edited:
Well, guess Butters started New Year's celebrations a tad early :p orrrr she got the memo about catcation this time around. Hope you can get some rest tonight :bighug:
 
You can also do a bcs if you think you can stay up and she will still want to eat, and then reduce by .25. My gut says skip fwiw.
Oops. I thought BCS could be a skip. My bad. Okay, I'm definitely skipping tonight. What your gut says is worth a lot to me. And my gut says the same thing.
Thank you:bighug:.
 
Given all of this, and my goal of a well regulated cat, does it seem at all wise just to do a .25U reduction? My intuition says no.

My thought is either a reduction by .5U (instead of .25U), OR a BCS/skip tonight and reduce by .25U in the morning. If any of you are around, I'm curious if you have any thoughts. I know it goes against TR.

@tiffmaxee
@Wendy&Neko
@Marje and Gracie
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Tomlin
@Bandit's Mom

Thanks in advance.
Considering how much food she has had today, the consistent low numbers, her tummy hurting, and you being worn out, I vote for a skip and then a reduction to 0.25u in the morning.

Happy New Year, right??? :p:woot::woot:
 
Happy New Year Lyla and Butters!

It sounds like you've both had a very big day! I'm sorry to hear about her tummy being tender again...I do hope you'll get some rest tonight and you guys can start over again tomorrow..she gets serious about her drops doesn't she?

Hang in there you two...sending special thoughts and warm Florida breezes your way (it was downright hot here today, 82 and humid this afternoon)...so the warmth is real...feel it coming your way now? :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
At least if you skip, you can indulge in an adult beverage and if you fall asleep, you know Butters will be fine.

I think we should all join her.

Bottoms up! (There’s at least one liqueur in this hot chocolate, I’m certain).
View attachment 59030

@Marje and Gracie .....OMG—-what a classic picture!! I want what the kitten is having please :p...with the more than one liquor in it :bighug::bighug:!!

We need everyone’s participation here...........mandatory!!

LOL Thank you all this is literally how I'm celebrating new year's eve tonight. And it's perfect.
I'm buying the next round:smuggrin:.
 
Back
Top