16.1. Simba PMPS 94 +1 54 +1.25min 27 +1.45min 47 +2.25 74 +2.75 92 +4 92 +5 83

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Lina and Simba, Jan 15, 2021.

  1. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
  2. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    I would, in fact say, avoid the MC till he shows that he needs it. Let's see where he goes on this dose without propping him up unless we absolutely have to :)
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  3. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    How are you feeling?
     
  4. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Alright! LC brekkie +1.5units going Simba's way. I'll ask one of Simba's grandparent's to measure +1 and we will go from there.
    I'm okay, thanks! I jumped out of bed a couple of times to find Simba but resisted the urge to test him. :D
     
    tiffmaxee and Bandit's Mom like this.
  5. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Nice amps. Gives you some breathing room.
     
    Lina and Simba and Bandit's Mom like this.
  6. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    The +1 94 eliminated that :D Time for MC?
     
  7. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Yes.
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  8. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Your spreadsheet says 16% @+2 in the comments? 16% is HC not MC and did you give that at +1?
     
  9. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Yes, I gave that at +1. I think I've gotten confused at what's considered MC and what's HC. I read earlier that MC is 10-20% (?).
     
  10. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    MC is >10% but less than 15%
    HC is 15% and above

    He is on a lower dose now. He might have flatter cycles. We want him to nadir in the 50s or 60s, so let's see if he does need the higher carbs at this dose. Only time will tell!
     
  11. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Ahh, okay! I'll check his BG in 25mins. Ditching the 16% can for now. Looking back I've given him HC multiple times by this criteria :banghead:
     
  12. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    25 mins will be +2? Get a +3 instead since he has been carbed up! :joyful:

    ETA: The effect of the carbs would have worn off.
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  13. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Okay! Back at +3.
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  14. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    That's how much time later? I might also grab a nap after my huge Saturday lunch! ;)
     
  15. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    1hour 15minutes. :) Happy napping!
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  16. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    +3 68. Should I feed him immediately or in an hour? Is my boy really trying to hint at another reduction soon?
     
  17. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Woah! Yes. Feed a little MC, if you have it.
    I think he will need a reduction from the PM cycle.
     
  18. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    If you don't mix a little of the 16% with his usual LC and give it to him.
     
  19. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    I've got cans of 14% - that should do the trick?
    Also - can I check back at +5 next?
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2021
  20. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    His usual LC is SO SMELLY :D Maybe because I'm ill but opening the can awakens my gag reflex instantly :D I think Simba eats more in a day than I do!
     
  21. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Yes it should and yes, lets try +5.
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  22. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Yes, their food smells awful but obviously it smells like heaven to them.
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  23. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    I hope Simba surfs safely today. He sure is keeping you on your toes. I hope you feel better soon.
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  24. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
  25. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Thank you! He’s on the green wave :D
     
  26. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Not bad. Did you feed the 14% at +3?

    Some of that heavenly smelling LC to keep him surfing. :D
     
  27. Sue and Luci

    Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    Lovely surfing in the lagoon! So nice that Simba has found his way to the lagoon already!

    Have a great day!
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  28. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Yes I did.

    Now he got 20 grams of 3.1%. Different flavour, same revolting smell. :D At least proves that I don’t have covid!

    Back at +7?
     
    Butters & Lyla and Bandit's Mom like this.
  29. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    He's really caught onto this quickly! Thank you & have a wonderful day :cat:
     
    Sue and Luci likes this.
  30. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Want to reconfirm that by checking the taste as well? :p
    +7 is fine.
     
  31. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Nope, nope - never! :confused:
     
    Bandit's Mom and Sue and Luci like this.
  32. Butters & Lyla

    Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    I hope you slept well. I see that Simba is still at it:joyful:. All of that MC and his numbers are still green....:eek:
    I'm wondering the same thing.
     
  33. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    We discovered today that what Lina though was MC was actually HC! :eek:
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  34. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    What I thought was MC... was actually HC :D
    My HC cans are 33% :D :D :D
     
  35. Butters & Lyla

    Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    I just went back and re-read your condo:eek::eek::eek:!!!
    I'm wondering even more if he will be able to settle down and surf on this dose with just LC.
     
    Lina and Simba and Bandit's Mom like this.
  36. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Simba is still surfing nicely. +7 85.
     
  37. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    I think a reduction makes sense. She was started at too high a dose, there was also a food change from HC to LC. And it's too early in her journey to feed the drops or prop Simba up with carbs.
     
    Butters & Lyla likes this.
  38. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Hi Lina :bighug: Another nice cycle for Simba :D Beautiful surf!
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  39. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Last time at the vets Simbas fructosamine was 655 and I was seriously concerned he’d go into DKA. I have an appointment in just under two weeks time to hopefully see improvements!
     
  40. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Hello! :cat: Simba is enjoying this new thing called normal BG levels.
     
    JaxBenji likes this.
  41. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Btw, when I said she, I meant you and not Simba. Haven't given him a sex change yet! :)

    Not sure you should waste money on a fructosamine test when you have actual test data with you!

    Let's see what @tiffmaxee thinks about that as well as a reduction!
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  42. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Hahah no worries :D
    I think I'll go... out of curiosity. And to compare his labs to previous ones.

    I'll test Simba again at +9.5. Probs feed him some LC (or MC, if he needs it) and then be back for PMPS! I'll need to weigh that chunky furball too, to see if his weight has shifted with the diet change!
     
    Butters & Lyla and Bandit's Mom like this.
  43. Butters & Lyla

    Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    I agree 100%. It seems to me like far too much food propping at this point. I'll be curious to see what Elise thinks about a reduction.
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  44. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I’m going to disagree about taking a reduction at this point. Here’s why. First he hasn’t dropped under 50. Second, I consider 16% to be mc, with 10% and under being lc, mc is amd 20%+ hc. What I would do is see if you can keep him over 50 on lc now. If he drops under 50, then take a reduction

    Edit
    I think we all have slightly different ideas about what is mc and hc. A lot depends on the cat. Some need 28% + to come up to safe numbers. Some need teaspoons of syrup added. Max just need 20-30% and never more than a couple drops of karro syrup. So perhaps it will turn out that 16% or 18% is high carb for you. It’s good to find this out early on so if he does drop under 40 you know what to feed him.
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2021
    Reason for edit: Info added.
  45. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Agree! :)
     
  46. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    So should I feed LC exclusively and see if he drops below 50? :nailbiting: Yikes!
     
  47. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Try it tomorrow in the AM cycle. Less scary. Though all of US will be awake at your night! :)
     
    Butters & Lyla likes this.
  48. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    I just thought of that.. I'll play it safe tonight and hopefully get a couple of hours sleep in, and then gear up tomorrow for hourly testing. Unless Simba has other plans :D
     
  49. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    I think you've figured this out, but Rule #1, 2 and 3 of FD is "They ALWAYS have other plans"... Especially when you make plans. :cool:
     
    JaxBenji and Lina and Simba like this.
  50. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Definitely do the lc during the day. If he drops under 50 you can get him up with hc and syrup and be generous with the carbs so you won’t be testing every hour. You need to learn how he will respond should he drop under 50 at some point. We have gotten him used to normal numbers without bouncing so let’s see him earn his reduction.
     
    Bandit's Mom and Lina and Simba like this.
  51. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Sounds like a plan :cat: I also want to be awake and see if he shows any signs of dipping under 50. Sometimes I freak out because he twitches in his sleep, sometimes he imitates drinking water or running while asleep too :p
     
    tiffmaxee and Bandit's Mom like this.
  52. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Usually when they are getting low they get very hungry and go looking for food. That’s one thing to watch for. Unfortunately it doesn’t happen every time. :cat::banghead:
     
  53. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Sounds like Simba’s normal behavior every time I walk past the kitchen :D
     
  54. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Then there are cats that are food oriented that don’t help us. My two girls I have now are always hungry too. Was Simba always a foodie?
     
  55. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Oh yes, definitely! He is not a fussy eater either. He will walk around the table when we’re having food at home and beg for something from everyone. Front paws and his nose on the side of the table :D and we can’t leave any food out for my mums cat without supervision because Simba will go for it.
     
  56. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    True. I've had Bandit pester me for food even before the drop below 50 comes. Almost like she can sense that her BG is going down at a good pace. But it's not foolproof.
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  57. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Max wasn’t like that. These two are. I have to stand by them while they eat. One inhales her found and I have to keep telling her no as she tries to eat her sister’s food. Her sister just eats quickly.
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2021
    Bandit's Mom and Lina and Simba like this.
  58. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    So last night when I heard Simba meowing in the kitchen I ran to check his BG! He was fine. Just hungry :D
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  59. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Yup, we have someone on guard duty in the kitchen while the boys eat. Same dynamics over here!
     
  60. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    5CE08205-C24F-4A5E-9E7E-753F58FF054A.jpeg
    I’m having dinner now. How can you resist this?! :kiss:
     
  61. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    Just dropping by to say hi and to say how wonderfully well Simba is doing! I had the same confusion with MC and LC, but in the end, Elise is right: it doesn't matter what you label the food given to the cat as long is it's what he/she needs. Ruby is not very carb sensitive when she's dropping, so I always fed her 15-20% carb food (what I thought was MC) whenever she dropped rapidly below 59 and 28-30% carb when she dropped below 50.
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  62. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Hi! Ah, that’s nice you have a similar experience with the carb %. I’m keeping the 33% for BG going under 50 in that case. Simba’s done well on this carb mix, let’s see what he’ll say about tomorrow with LC only! :)
     
    tiffmaxee and Katherine&Ruby like this.
  63. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    PMPS 94. I am very tempted to feed LC only and see the night through!
     
  64. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    OMG! What a CUTIE!

    I think he will drop at +3 and you will earn you reduction. LOL.
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  65. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    I just thought that! I am wide awake until PMPS+4 either way and I'll be sleeping on the sofa because the heating in my room doesn't work (and it's -18 degrees celsius...)
    I think I will go for it! Sundays are for sleeping in anyway ;)
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  66. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    How tired are you ? It might happen early or not at all or late.
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  67. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    I feel as well rested as I did before this nightly shenanigans started 5 nights ago. :D
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  68. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    So what do you want to do?
     
  69. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Give LC and see how he does!
     
    tiffmaxee and Bandit's Mom like this.
  70. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    The second we get an under 50 we will carb him up and see how he reacts. I hope he earns a reduction.
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  71. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    So when/if he goes under... should I immediately give him some honey and the 33% carb?
     
  72. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    No. You can give just a teaspoon or two of 33% at first. We will learn what it takes and exactly how carb sensitive he is.
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  73. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Oh and it’s when, not IF. I think tonight!
     
  74. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    I think tonight's the night too. :D
     
  75. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    I'm off to bed. I will catch up tomorrow morning. Good luck! :D
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  76. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Thank you & goodnight! I hope we will have some good news in the morning ;)
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  77. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    I am placing by bet on +3. Let's hope I am better at predicting Simba's numbers than I am Bandit's!
     
    tiffmaxee and Lina and Simba like this.
  78. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Simba isn't messing around... +1 54. So, what do I do now? Give him some more LC and check back in an hour? @tiffmaxee
     
  79. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    He’s going to drop under 50 before that. Give him some lc and test in 20-30.
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  80. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I predict the next test will be under 50. Get the hc out!
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  81. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Okay.
    I could prepare a little HC mix for him already? Something like 15 grams of 33%?
     
  82. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I could be wrong. You dint need to ope; the can in advance . Once he drops you will feed the 15 grams and test again in 20 minutes.
     
  83. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    I've got the can out anyway :) Just waiting... 5 more minutes!
     
  84. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    27!!! HC on the way
     
  85. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Break out the hc. Test in 20.
     
  86. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    He's eating 15g of it. Ooooh my heart is racing!
     
  87. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    If it doesn’t bring him up to food we will add syrup to the hc next time.
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  88. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Congrats on the reduction.
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  89. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Okay. I'll test in just under 20. He's cleared the HC. Honey does the same job, right?
     
  90. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Thank you! :) I will fix the SS once he's back in safe numbers, looks a mess now!
     
  91. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Yes honey or syrup. He’s acting like he always does?
     
  92. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    He had a bit of a zoomie moment, laid down for a while and now is sniffing at the bag of chicken treats. Pretty normal? The slowest 20 minutes though!
     
  93. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I bet. He’s extra hungry from low numbers. That’s good. We want him hungry.
     
  94. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    47. 15 more grams?
     
  95. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Yes. Test in 20.
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  96. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    There’s an issue with the HC. He’s not a fan of the flavor/consistency! I mixed 5grams of a very fishy 1.2% in and he’s happily eating it now. I’ll need to find some more tempting HC foods. Shame there’s not a list for those :D
     
  97. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    How can I make the SS look somewhat organised? Three tests in one hour...
     
  98. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    But he ate it with fish? The carbs are in the gravy so you can squeeze out the gravy and mix with the food he likes.
     
  99. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    We will deal with the ss later. You stack them in one box. You can look at Max’s 2015.
     
    Lina and Simba likes this.
  100. Lina and Simba

    Lina and Simba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    He ate it all yes. The 33% is pate consistency. I have a 11.3% gourmet in gravy - I could mix the gravy with the pate.
     

Share This Page