2/01 Bert AMPS 291 + 4 331 PMPS 305 +2 321 +6 307

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kathy

Member
If you can take a quick peek at Bert's SS, can you give me your opinion?

His AMPS is 291.
Would you give him a full unit of Lantus?
 
Re: Quick question

I'm pretty sure you could have done the 1U you have given 1U when he had 304, it's pretty much the same number. dosing is based on the lower numbers, which you don't have many spot checks but I don't think he has gone into green on this dose yet.
 
Re: Quick question

So since I gave 1/2 a unit ohmygod_smile (sorry I was nervous and really do not know what I am doing) should I leave it at that and wait till his next dose or should I give hime the other 1/2 unit.

I just did not want a hypo kitty and am not sure how easily it happens.
 
Re: Quick question

lol, sorry u scared me.


It's ok, Kathy, he will be fine, if u can grab a couple of spotchecks today that would be ok, fill in the blanks for the day.

Can u EDIT ur title line to say 02/01 Bert AMPS 291 when u have a chance?
 
Re: 2/01 Bert AMPS 291

looks good Kathy!

This is Bert's official thread/condo for today , nice and spacious :-D
 
2/01 Bert AMPS 291

You scared me!!!
:lol:

I did edit my subject line.
I was sort on time and he was due for his insulin, so I got nervous :?

Another newbie question, how much wiggle room do I have on his insulin shots?
I knew I needed to take my daughter to school and would not be back till about 1/2 hour after he was due for his insulin.
I gave it to him about 10 minutes early.

I also have to work tomorrow night and Bert gets his insulin at 7:45 AM/PM

I will not be home till about 8:15 PM....is this OK?
I would have to have my son do it otherwise. He is 16 and I think he can handle it.
 
Re: Quick question

Was your concern that Bert's numbers were too low to shoot the full dose? If so, you did the right thing by asking here about what to do. It does help, though, if you can give more that a few minutes before you have to shoot in case there's no one around immediately.

Like Ronnie indicated, you never want to shoot twice. If you give a reduced dose or if you have a fur shot (a shot that you're not sure went where it was supposed to go), do not try to course correct by giving another shot. There are too many unknowns that could create a significant risk for Bert.

If you are concerned that Bert's PS number is too low to shoot, you have 3 options. You can stall, do not feed, and re-test in 15 min. You may need to do this several times. You want to see that his numbers are coming up to a level that is more comfortable and/or safe to shoot. You can't do this indefinitely and the delayed shot acts like a dose reduction. Or, you can shoot a BCS (big chicken sh*t) dose -- this is a reduced dose. It's what you did today. This has an impact on the shed in that it is depleted. You want to do what you can to not delay and give a BCS dose. Doing so will have a doubly negative impact on the shed. Or, and the least best choice, is to skip the shot.

It would have been find to shoot the 291. However, you did great by asking. As Ronnie suggested, please change your subject line to reflect that this is Bert's condo and what your AMPS is.
 
Re: 2/01 Bert AMPS 291

There are ways to adjust your schedule, I'm not very good at explaining it,
so I'm not even going to attempt that, that was something I never could get straight. :?

Let see if anyone else can help you with that.
Wow you got your DH and DS to help you out! Lucky you!! Take full advantage of them :lol:
 
Re: 2/01 Bert AMPS 291

Well...DS does not know he is going to help yet. LOL

He will do it though cause it is for Bert's welfare :-D
 
Re: 2/01 Bert AMPS 291

We don't like to change the time more than 15 minutes so if you usually shoot at 7:50 and you need to shoot at 8:15 you should try to shoot tonight at say 8:00 and tommorrow morning at 8 AM or 8:15 then you can easily do 8:15 PM tommorrow.

And yes we don't give more insulin after we have given the morning or evening dose, even if we think it was a fur shot.

Check out the information at the top of the forum about Lantus there is the protocol we use for making dose decisions. It's pretty straight forward most of the time. To answer about hypos...they do happen but much less often with Lantus insulin, and when you are home testing and have slowly made your dose changes and follwed the protocol a real hypo is almost never going to happen. Cats sometimes get lower than normal BG readings but they are not hypo and don't have any symptoms and are in no real danger. It also doesn't happen blitz fast. Usually when they are low they start looking for food! Big hypos only happen when a serious overdose (by accident or by not testing) has been given and the cat is not able to eat something. 1U is a reasonable dose for Bert right now, eventually he may need a little more, and hopefully at some point he will get those lower BG numbers and he will need a little less.
 
Re: 2/01 Bert AMPS 291 + 4 331 PMPS 305

Just gave Bert a full unit of Lantus.
We did do many BG today.
I was out and about and decided to just wait till his PMPS number.

AM I doing something wrong.
When I give his insulin I make the skin tent they say and make sure I am not shooting a muscle or anything.
He winces or gives me a tiny meow when I poke him with the needle.
I try to be gentle and quick, but it makes me feel terrible :cry:
I have tried his flank and his scruff.
I also make sure I poke him in a different spot each time.

It is only for a second and then he continue eating, but oh my heart is sad for him.
 
Re: 2/01 Bert AMPS 291 + 4 331 PMPS 305

Hi Kathy
trust me - I had my own days where I would go to inject Luna and he would flinch - Lucky for me, my boyfriend had no issues taking over. I panicked too, we all had those days where it seemed we were hurting our cats with the injection. But those were the early days and it got easier.

Yes you make the tent at the scruff area - you know how mother cats carry their babies by the scruff?
This area is a "numbing" area, so the babies can't struggle and basically they "freeze", so this is similar to tenting the scruff area, making that tent with a slight pinch and injecting.
You don't want to aim the syringe down, but on an angle into the tent.

Shawn did this to Luna once, grabbed him by the scruff to show me - "look he doesn't feel a thing" Luna just froze and looked like a kitten all over again! lol! It doesn't hurt them or why else would mommy cats carry their babies like that?

As for rotating, if you chose the scruff area, one injection will be in the center, the next one slightly to the left, the next one slightly to the right, and then the following injection back at the center area, and you keep this rotation going....this way you are not injecting in the same spot every time.

You want to be calm and have all your focus on Bert and give him big hugs after. Over time he will get use to the routine and be running to you for his shot. Really - a lot of our kitties do that!

Now for tonight, you'll want to get at least a couple of spotchecks to see how Bert is doing in the evening cycle ok?
A +3 and a before bedtime check would be fine, and if you're not sure post your updates here in your thread/condo.

Guve yourself a treat too Kathy - chocolate does wonders! ((( :YMHUG: )))
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top