2/07 Morris AMPS 284; +2.5 335; +6 389; +10 403; PMPS 405

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gwen and Morris

Active Member
yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=5402

So, Morris will be heading to the kennel for a couple of nights next weekend. I will be dropping him off Saturday afternoon & picking him up Monday afternoon. They do their insulin at 8:30 am/pm (I normally do 7:30 am/pm), so I will need to adjust his time. Unfortunately, I will have to do the 'quick adjust' method & move him by 1/2 hour each shot. I think on Fri evening, I will give insulin at 8pm, then Sat morning I will give at 8:30am & then the kennel staff will give at 8:30 pm. When he comes home on Monday, I will give insulin at 8pm, then on Tues morning I will give at 7:30am. I know it is not the ideal way, but it is what will work with my schedule.

The kennel is able to do BG tests as well for me.....should I just get them to do the pre-shot tests and not worry about the in-between tests? Do cats feel the same stress at the kennel as they do at the vet? They are also willing to continue using our timed feeder, so Morris will get his snacks around the clock while there.

I would also like to adjust his insulin dose so that it is either 1.00u or 1.50u for his stay there (I think it would be easier for their staff!). I guess it is safest to drop him down to 1.00u rather than bumping him back up to 1.50u.....correct?

Is there anything else I should be considering for his stay there? It also looks like he might be going back to the kennel the weekend after (if they have room)! I will be talking with dh again about trying to learn how to do the BG test & insulin to help out a bit.....then Morris wouldn't need to go to the kennel as often!
 
Re: 2/07 Morris AMPS 284; +2.5 335 - kennel questions

...The kennel is able to do BG tests as well for me.....should I just get them to do the pre-shot tests and not worry about the in-between tests? Do cats feel the same stress at the kennel as they do at the vet? They are also willing to continue using our timed feeder, so Morris will get his snacks around the clock while there.

Is there anything else I should be considering for his stay there? It also looks like he might be going back to the kennel the weekend after (if they have room)! I will be talking with dh again about trying to learn how to do the BG test & insulin to help out a bit.....then Morris wouldn't need to go to the kennel as often!

Just wondering, will they know what to do with a low number?
I would have them to some type of mini curve - if it's possible.
 
Re: 2/07 Morris AMPS 284; +2.5 335 - kennel questions

we always want to drop the dose lower when the cat is going to be boarded or with a petsitter, and we always try to make it a dose that has a line to measure to. Let's see where he is at the end of the week and then we can see what dose would be good. If they won't be doing mid-cycle tests, then you can also give them a "no-shoot" number. Will they have your phone number, if they have questions about anything?
 
Re: 2/07 Morris AMPS 284; +2.5 335 - kennel questions

Ronnie & Luna said:
Just wondering, will they know what to do with a low number?
I would have them to some type of mini curve - if it's possible.
Anything is possible.....they just charge you for it! LOL! They will use my meter & strips (that way I have a record of his numbers & it is cheaper than if they use their meter & strips). I just need to let them know when I want them to test him.

Libby and Lucy said:
Will they have your phone number, if they have questions about anything?
Definately they will! I will actually be at home Sat evening.....I am sending him a day early so I can have a sleep in day for once on Sunday!!!! I will be leaving Sun afternoon & returning Mon afternoon. They will have my cell info.

Libby and Lucy said:
Let's see where he is at the end of the week and then we can see what dose would be good. If they won't be doing mid-cycle tests, then you can also give them a "no-shoot" number.
OK....I will start asking for help on Thurs so that there will be time for people to look at Morris' ss & give me advice well before I drop him off Sat afternoon.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top