2/11 Max AMPS 415~+6 208~PMPS 391 ~+4 198 Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Randi & Max (GA)

Very Active Member
Yesterday

Good morning
Max was a very hungry kitty this morning. He ate everyones breakfast, not good.
Sister Chloe seems not herself again, although no vomit in 24 hours. Hopefully she
will try and eat some more later. Right now she is not interested.

So, in my opinion, this dose is not working for Max anymore. I cannot beleive the amount of
red that has appeared on his ss and his nadir is nothing to write home about.
I'll see what numbers come in today but if he still maintains over 200 I think he should go back to 5.75 and keep him there for longer than last time.

I will ask for those"opinions" later in the day or if someone thinks that it is a go before seeing today, I'm fine with that too.
Still have not managed the Ketones, which is awful. Before I couldn't get him to go in the LB
now he likes it so much and it is very convenient for him, I catch him just as he is done!
I better get one in tonight with all these 400's.

Have a great day.
 
Re: 2/11 Max AMPS 415

Good morning

what makes you concerned about how much he ate this morning?

I know we did this some time ago, but could you give us a break down of Max's daily food serving portions, number of cans, plus the EVO etc..

Be careful what you wish for, we'll see what he does in this cycle
 
Re: 2/11 Max AMPS 415

I would definitely see what today brings for Max but I do think there's room to increase his dose. I would be curious if an increase would drop his overall level. I suspect others will weigh in. Gabby was vacuuming up food this AM, too!

Just out of curiosity, when you said that the vet had run a myriad of tests on Chloe, did they run an fPLI (pancreatitis test)? From the way she seems to respond to Pepsid, it made me wonder whether this is a possibility. (Jojo refers to pancreatitis as a Pepsid deficiency.)
 
Re: 2/11 Max AMPS 415

Morning Randi...Shadow eats more when his numbers are up too....that changes when his numbers are lower.
Hope someone will weigh in on your dose question...
Hope Chloe eats a little something today....it always worries me when they don't eat....poor lil kitty...
Keep up the good work...don't worry...you will get there. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/11 Max AMPS 415

Ronnie & Luna said:
what makes you concerned about how much he ate this morning?

I know we did this some time ago, but could you give us a break down of Max's daily food serving portions, number of cans, plus the EVO etc..

I know when his numbers are high he is hungry because the food is not getting into him. I gave him 1/2 can FF and it was gone in seconds. He then went stalking the kitchen and ate
his sisters breakfast which was another 1/2.
Vet said he should eat 380 calories per day which is almost 4 cans of FF.
Carolyn suggested that this seems quite much so I am trying for 3.25-3.5 and spreading it out so all the food is not dumped into him at one time. Carolyn also suggested not giving him the EVO due to the fat content so now it is only FF.
DH weighed Max last night and he is down .4 pounds in 3 weeks
I have left a feeding schedule at home for DPS but not sure how well that is working.

Sienne and Gabby said:
Just out of curiosity, when you said that the vet had run a myriad of tests on Chloe, did they run an fPLI (pancreatitis test)? From the way she seems to respond to Pepsid, it made me wonder whether this is a possibility. (Jojo refers to pancreatitis as a Pepsid deficiency.)
I just think regular blood work was done, for sure not the fPlI for pancreatitiis. I am not sure what the relation is between the Pepcid and pancreatitis. It is the Novo-fotamidine?? - ant-acid that the vet gave me.. I think she is nauseous though as now I know what signs to look for. She sniffed the food, nibbled a bit and is licking her lips.
 
Re: 2/11 Max AMPS 415

Carolyn suggested that this seems quite much so I am trying for 3.25-3.5 and spreading it out so all the food is not dumped into him at one time. Carolyn also suggested not giving him the EVO due to the fat content so now it is only FF.

agree on the Evo.
and yup, spreading out is good.
 
Re: 2/11 Max AMPS 415

Morning Randi! Hope Chloe will be doing better today--Sorry that Max isnt holding the dose, but your ss shows some yellows yesterday(better than pink or red)...We have the same problem with holding the dose..You did have some blues on this dose though..
Ask a learned one re: dose :lol: -Hope you can find the right one....
Sending Healing & feel good vines to sweet Chloe today! & HUGS~!
 
Re: 2/11 Max AMPS 415

Hi Roni, sorry to hear that Max hasn't made in progress in the last few days. Hopefully you will have a break through in the next couple of days. And I hope Chloe is feeling better soon too.
 
Re: 2/11 Max AMPS 415

I don't like the red either. When me and Jill predicted he was going to break that day, it was obvious. He got high and flat and he's doing it again, but he's doing it for a longer period of time. If he does not break today, he may break tonight, so while I *personally* would increase, if it were *MY CAT*, I am cautious enough to say that since this is your cat, and you increase tonight, be watchful for a quick reduction again. I do think he's about to break, but you can't keep waiting for that break after several cycles in ugly numbers.

So what I'm saying is: this is what I would be thinking about if it were my cat.

If you increase .25u tonight, watch for the numbers to be breaking. If they broke tonight I would reduce immediately to a FAT 5.5u, because if he breaks tonight it will be due to the insulin you've been shooting, not the new dose. Does that make sense? It seems 5.5 is not *quite* enough.

And don't stress about how hungry he is this morning, he's got crappy numbers and that generally turns my cats into raving lunatics as far as food goes. It's ok to feed him a teeny bit more while he's there. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/11 Max AMPS 415~+6 208

Carolyn and Spot said:
If you increase .25u tonight, watch for the numbers to be breaking. If they broke tonight I would reduce immediately to a FAT 5.5u, because if he breaks tonight it will be due to the insulin you've been shooting, not the new dose. Does that make sense? It seems 5.5 is not *quite* enough.

Not sure I quite understand that. Max was at 208 at +4 then 208 at +6. I thought for sure
I would see a dip into blue but he stalled out.
Instead of increasing the .25 tonight, should I just do a fat 5.5 (which would be just south of the line without light, right?)
I figured if we increased him it should take a couple of cycle of the new shed to build and guess what, it's the weekend again. Max likes green Saturdays.
Or I can leave him at 5.5 for tonight, see what his numbers are after the shot and move tomorrow.
 
Re: 2/11 Max AMPS 415~+6 208

Hi Randi! I have no advice re: dose but I just wanted to say I hope Max breaks soon and that Chloe feels better and eats more soon. It sounds like you have everything under control; keep up the good work. :)
 
Re: 2/11 Max AMPS 415~+6 208

You can do either/or. The reason I PERSONALLY would do .25u is because I am an aggressive doser, even though to me, .25u is not aggressive LOL. I know how to handle rapid drops, I have been doing this a long time, and I am pretty good at reading patterns, plus it's fairly likely that if/when he does break, he's not going into any danger zones. The other reason I would do it is because we're starting to see a lot of yellow, not a lot of blue and not a single green in 9 cycles, causing me to wonder if he is getting a little too comfy up there in the stratosphere. I would be wanting to jump start his shed, while fully expecting a break. When Max breaks into blue, he goes straight back to pink and red, which means his liver is not paying attention in class :mrgreen: You are getting a ton of tests which says to me that you haven't missed any greens or good runs of blues and I would be PERSONALLY pushing my kitty into it to help get the body used to it. That doesn't mean that YOU have to do that. You should do what you are comfortable with.

Last night, the kitty I am kittysitting FINALLY popped a blue and I still increased the dose. This is his SS. You can see what I am trying to do: get the cat used to being in good numbers. His mom works full time and won't be able to get as many tests, so I'm trying to get him at or near his good dose before she gets back. (And I am absolutely doing this with her blessing, just in case anyone thinks I am playing Dr House with her cat LOL)
http://spreadsheets.google.com/pub?key=tYXurtGG1oRckXQGfzc-qKg&output=html
 
Re: 2/11 Max AMPS 415~+6 208

Sarah and Buzz said:
Hi Randi! I have no advice re: dose but I just wanted to say I hope Max breaks soon and that Chloe feels better and eats more soon. It sounds like you have everything under control; keep up the good work. :)

Thank you so much Sarah. That is so nice. And my skinny 3rd cat Mystique is wandering around the house saying, "what about me?" Everyone is paying attention to Max and Chloe.
I better give her some loving later too.
 
Re: 2/11 Max AMPS 415~+6 208

Awww, give Mystique a special chin-scratch for me. I have 2 kitties (civies) who probably feel the same way. Between Buzz and the drooler (who is old and gets lots of attention/worry), I think sometimes they think, What the heck do I have to do to get some lovin' around here? ;)
 
Re: 2/11 Max AMPS 415~+6 208

Carolyn and Spot said:
When Max breaks into blue, he goes straight back to pink and red, which means his liver is not paying attention in class You are getting a ton of tests which says to me that you haven't missed any greens or good runs of blues and I would be PERSONALLY pushing my kitty into it to help get the body used to it. That doesn't mean that YOU have to do that. You should do what you are comfortable with.

I feel the same way but still not confident that I read his ss as well as experienced eyes.
I think that Max is getting comfortable in those yellows and is being a very naughty boy in
LTS. I better show him some of my diplomas so he understands we take this seriously.

I have no problems with being aggressive with him either. I'm driving my family crazy anyways so I might as well keep it up. Besides, I have to report Max's numbers to my 11 year old constantly so I have to get them down or she will think I'm dropping the ball, lol.

You're right about the tests too. I don't think I am missing anything significant in the middle of the night, for sure not a green. I stayed awake for the blue last night but it did not come.

Up to 5.75 tonight. I'm in for the thrill!!!
 
Re: 2/11 Max AMPS 415~+6 208

Woohoo! let's have some edge of the seat fun! LOL

Listen, your 11 year old is probably old enough to learn to test. I taught my daughter how to both test and shoot. Does wonders for their self-esteem and their general learning about cats. I also found that she bonded quite well with both diabetics, especially our "foster" Oscar. (fosters never leave my home) Then one day when you're trying to have a life, and you're on a date with your DH, you can say.. hey get a +3 for me while I'm out ok? :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/11 Max AMPS 415~+6 208

Carolyn and Spot said:
Woohoo! let's have some edge of the seat fun! LOL

Listen, your 11 year old is probably old enough to learn to test. I taught my daughter how to both test and shoot. Does wonders for their self-esteem and their general learning about cats. I also found that she bonded quite well with both diabetics, especially our "foster" Oscar. (fosters never leave my home) Then one day when you're trying to have a life, and you're on a date with your DH, you can say.. hey get a +3 for me while I'm out ok? :mrgreen:

For a young lady who I had to drag crying for the H1N1 shot (okay not that bad) and every other shot, she does help with his BG. She prepares his supplies and while I poke, she puts the strip in the meter and dips it into the blood. Pretty awesome. Then she turns away because she doesn't want to see the number. Now that;s funny.
I even have her watch when I "shoot" him so her fear of needles has diminished.
Peoplel might talk about the QOL for the cat but I can tell you that our family has grown so much from this "disease" It's amazing listening to her explain it all to her friends.
I think she would have me take in as many diabetic cats as I could to save the world. She wants the one from Oregan Venita is trying to place.
I'm going to let DH take charge for 1 day and night while I take off for an overnighter next week with my little one for her spring break. Yikes!
 
Re: 2/11 Max AMPS 415~+6 208

LOL turns away from the number HAHAHAHAHA what a cutie!

I was totally shocked, Jesica was also afraid of both hurting the cat and needles and just from watching me got less squeamish and more brave. It's a short step from helping to actually doing the test. I let her use the used syringes and lancets to practice on oranges. Don't be surprised if when she does learn to test that she does everything different than you. My cats all sit in my lap for testing. It's just something I do. Jesica puts them in front of her. It's just what she does. She was also responsible for locating previously unknown "sweet spots" which was great because sometimes the well runs dry and you need a second spot. ;-)
 
Re: 2/11 Max AMPS 415~+6 208~PMPS 391 Dosecrease

+9 286 - Max surfed yellows all day and then hightailed it to barely hit red.
Pleased with today but we incresaed the .25 to get back to 5.75, again.
Hopefully we can kick start him to show some of those nice lower numbers again.

I know it should take a few cycles for it to kcik in, if it does, which takes us to the weekend, yet again.

Missed the LB again tonight. He loves the new location and has a new routine.
I think there was a swimming pool in there once he was done.
 
Carolyn and Spot said:
If you increase .25u tonight, watch for the numbers to be breaking. If they broke tonight I would reduce immediately to a FAT 5.5u, because if he breaks tonight it will be due to the insulin you've been shooting, not the new dose. Does that make sense? It seems 5.5 is not *quite* enough.

I guess I should have asked what "break means" +4 Max is 198, is that a break?
+4 this aft was 208, not much different. I know this 198 is due to the 5.5 and not the 5.75
So do I go with fat 5.5 (which I am not entirely sure what it is) or stick to the 5.75 for Am shot and see what tomorrow brings?
 
hi randi. i don't see carolyn on the board at the moment, so i'll jump in...
unless max goes a lot lower tonight, i'd hold the new dose for now.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top