2/15, Pookey, AMPS 112, +3 74, +4 76, +10 101, PMPS 104, +3 76, +4 85

Tim & Pookey

Very Active Member
Administrator
Hi all,

Yesterday’s post:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-4-81-pmps-112-3-78-4-88.298342/#post-3245876

Decided to hold this dose for a little longer. It’s a little disheartening to slow our momentum, but taking a step back, he’s made great progress recently.

Here’s the man day 1 of his arthritis meds…

upload_2025-2-15_10-20-18.jpeg


Have a great day! - Tim
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-2-15_10-20-18.jpeg
    upload_2025-2-15_10-20-18.jpeg
    84.7 KB · Views: 87
Last edited:
Great pics, Tim :joyful: I see you hereon a roll :p

What meds did you give for arthritis. It's great that it helps.

We've tried solencia and it didn't do anything for Fistuk. But in his case, it's probably the neurological problem that he has that is the challenge.

Pookey is doing great. I don't see any setback. I'm so familiar with the urge to get to the next level of regulation... It's good to choose safety.

You're doing great.
Enjoy your weekend:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Great pics, Tim :joyful: I see you hereon a roll :p

What meds did you give for arthritis. It's great that it helps.

We've tried solencia and it didn't do anything for Fistuk. But in his case, it's probably the neurological problem that he has that is the challenge.

Pookey is doing great. I don't see any setback. I'm so familiar with the urge to get to the next level of regulation... It's good to choose safety.

You're doing great.
Enjoy your weekend:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks Shelly! The arthritis med is Cosequin. Realistically, I think it takes weeks for it to work, just funny timing. And folks have mixed results from what I’ve read.
 
I love the picture! He's doing great, physically and sugarilly too (not a word, I know :cool:).
Any decision you make, remember that you can always go back, and it does not hurt to just wait a few days and see what happens, too.
 
I love the picture! He's doing great, physically and sugarilly too (not a word, I know :cool:).
Any decision you make, remember that you can always go back, and it does not hurt to just wait a few days and see what happens, too.
Thanks Cecile! That’s a good reminder. We need a crystal ball to pass around…
 
Thanks Shelly! The arthritis med is Cosequin. Realistically, I think it takes weeks for it to work, just funny timing. And folks have mixed results from what I’ve read.
I hope the Cosequin works well for him. If that doesn't or eventually doesn't work as well my kitty Mac is on Adequan and has a good response to it. A little pricey but no side effects. He is 16.5 it has helped him stay a bit more mobile. Good luck!
 
I hope the Cosequin works well for him. If that doesn't or eventually doesn't work as well my kitty Mac is on Adequan and has a good response to it. A little pricey but no side effects. He is 16.5 it has helped him stay a bit more mobile. Good luck!
That’s awesome thanks for that. And it looks like you can inject at home that’s nice.
 
I second the Adequan, it really helped Bella a lot. Then she had Dasuquin per os and I spaced the Adequan more and more, and she did not need it anymore. Losing weight also helped a lot, I am not sure if Pookey is overweight but she was :p
Wow, I had never heard of that until today, only Cosequin and Solensia. I’ve got a list of follow up items to bring up to the vet, so thanks for this! He needs to lose 3 lbs… we’re working on that :)
 
Go Pookey :D

Cosequin never helped with civvie. She has luxating patellas in both knees and occasionally limps. The vet mentioned Solensia but hospital rule was that it could only be given in office, not prescribed for a client to give at home.
 
Go Pookey :D

Cosequin never helped with civvie. She has luxating patellas in both knees and occasionally limps. The vet mentioned Solensia but hospital rule was that it could only be given in office, not prescribed for a client to give at home.
Yep I’ve heard that too. Which, with the home vet wouldn’t be terrible, but if I could do this Adequan on my own…
 
Wow, I had never heard of that until today, only Cosequin and Solensia. I’ve got a list of follow up items to bring up to the vet, so thanks for this! He needs to lose 3 lbs… we’re working on that :)
I would run around the kitchen and living room holding Bella's plate, at first she was not sure what I was doing but she started following me, and eventually she would race me, jumping over stuff and taking shortcuts through corners to get to her food faster. That was fun. I also started counting calories and weighing her food. It took a while but it worked, and worth it too, she had so much more energy and started jumping and running again after she lost weight. The first pound took maybe a year.
Dasuquin is the same molecule than Adequan, I think, but in a gelule. It is supposed to not work as well, that's why we started with Adequan. It's expensive (the Adequan) but you don't use a lot for a cat, so the vial lasts a long time.
 
I would run around the kitchen and living room holding Bella's plate, at first she was not sure what I was doing but she started following me, and eventually she would race me, jumping over stuff and taking shortcuts through corners to get to her food faster. That was fun. I also started counting calories and weighing her food. It took a while but it worked, and worth it too, she had so much more energy and started jumping and running again after she lost weight. The first pound took maybe a year.
Dasuquin is the same molecule than Adequan, I think, but in a gelule. It is supposed to not work as well, that's why we started with Adequan. It's expensive (the Adequan) but you don't use a lot for a cat, so the vial lasts a long time.
Aw, I love that for Bella. She must have been feeling pretty good. It seems like both meds are solid maybe just a ECID thing with what works best.
 
Last edited:
Yes, sorry, they both work well. It's just that the injectable one has a better distribution. According to my vet. Honestly, as soon as I started the Dasuquin she did not need the Adequan anymore, but who knows, maybe she did not need it because it worked well :-)
 
Back
Top