? 2/19 - Wally - PMPS: 90, +1: 95, +2:83, +3: 85, +4:92

A quote from the Sticky Note on Low Preshots:

Some general rules when stalling (ECID):
  • 50s or higher – don’t feed. The number will bump up on its own soon due to the insulin wearing off.
  • 40s or lower – you have a couple of choices.
    • When 40s occur at the end of the cycle, it can be beneficial to withhold food and test in 15-20 minutes to determine if kitty is on the rise or hasn’t reached nadir yet.
If they are hanging in the 40s for a while, or if they are still dropping, it is ok to feed a tsp or two of LC and retest. This is very tricky. You want to avoid feeding too much while you’re waiting for them to go over 50, because you don’t want to artificially inflate the number with food.
 
he still has his bowl available with something left and eats the remaining when he wants but not much now

I am not going to feed more and test in a few minutes
 
How long before you tested did he eat? It takes 20-30 minutes for food to get into the blood stream and influence the blood sugar, so if you tested right after he ate, then he's rising on his own.
 
he takes bites of food from time to time... i heard his bowl opening while i was writing previous post (around 15 mins ago)....

now what?
 
The reason we try not to feed in the couple hours before preshot time, is so that we know whether or not the number we get is influenced by food. A rising 83 is perfectly safe to shoot. An 83 that is influenced by food may be a much lower number without the carb influence and may not be safe to shoot. I can't tell from your sequence of events whether he ate enough or in a time that would influence the blood sugar.

One option, if your schedule could take a bit of a delay, is to wait another 20-30 minutes, with no food, and test again. If he's really rising, then you could shoot the new reduced dose of 3.25 units.
 
A quote from the Sticky Note on Low Preshots:

Some general rules when stalling (ECID):
  • 50s or higher – don’t feed. The number will bump up on its own soon due to the insulin wearing off.
  • 40s or lower – you have a couple of choices.
    • When 40s occur at the end of the cycle, it can be beneficial to withhold food and test in 15-20 minutes to determine if kitty is on the rise or hasn’t reached nadir yet.
If they are hanging in the 40s for a while, or if they are still dropping, it is ok to feed a tsp or two of LC and retest. This is very tricky. You want to avoid feeding too much while you’re waiting for them to go over 50, because you don’t want to artificially inflate the number with food.

In the situation of them hanging around 40s.... ok to feed something as quoted on the sticky note... but how to behave about the shot?
 
If you see one number in the 40's, then try stalling and retest. Neko several times gave me 40's for preshots, but would be up if I waited 20 minutes. If they hang around the 40's then you can give a little low carb food. If they are dropping into the 30's, the you have to intervene. Whether and how much you shoot depends on how much you can monitor, how much you can delay and keep to the schedule, and whether they come up over 50. We never shoot below 50.

Has it been an hour yet?
 
May the green be with you.JPG
 
Back
Top