? 2/2 Buddy AMPS 138 +4 57 +5.5 +58 - what should we do?

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by lbeachstace, Feb 2, 2023.

  1. lbeachstace

    lbeachstace Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2022
    Feels like someone wants a reduction! Look at these numbers!!!

    But seriously....We aren't sure what we should be doing? We will be testing again at the next 1 hour mark but do we reduce him 1/4 tonite? No reduction yet?

    @Wendy&Neko

    Last Thread
     
  2. Hendrick Cuddleclaw

    Hendrick Cuddleclaw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2022
    I'll let one of the experts like Wendy chime in but as frustrating as it might be, if you're following TR to the letter these high 50s do not earn a reduction. Has to be under 50.

    I went through the same thing with Hendrick, I wanted so badly to reduce the dose at times but technically a number above 50 means just stay the course, shoot the same dose.

    However, maybe someone like Wendy, Suzanne, Bhooma or Elise will have different analysis. I am watching this closely; also wondering what the final answer will be.
     
  3. Hendrick Cuddleclaw

    Hendrick Cuddleclaw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2022
  4. Hendrick Cuddleclaw

    Hendrick Cuddleclaw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2022
    great cycle. Look at all that healing green! Go Buddy go. :bighug:
     
    lbeachstace likes this.
  5. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    He is looking great! Just hold the dose till he earns a reduction. All those greens are a healing zone for his pancreas. He seems to drop quite a bit at onset. Does he get a snack at +1 and +2? That might help reduce the diving and smoothen the curve.
     
    lbeachstace likes this.
  6. lbeachstace

    lbeachstace Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2022
    Hi @Bandit's Mom - yes, we snack him. During the day he gets a snack at +3 usually and then +8ish. At night he gets +2. (We keep note of all these in his SS)
     
  7. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    You might want to break up the meal you give at PS and feed some of it at +1 and +2.
     
    lbeachstace likes this.
  8. lbeachstace

    lbeachstace Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2022
    Will give that a try, since he’s not been excited about eating full meals and this may be the better solution for him.
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  9. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    It's better if he eats smaller portions more often in the first half of the cycle. Multiple smaller meals are also easier on the pancreas and also help with flattening the curve.
     
  10. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    What a lovely day for Buddy. :D I like Bhooma's idea of giving some snacks a littler earlier before onset, to soften the drop. Onset might be closer to +3 than to +2 for him. Which also means you might want to get some +3's at night before bed.
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  11. Hendrick Cuddleclaw

    Hendrick Cuddleclaw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2022
    ....and then you set an alarm get up and groggily check his BG....and it's 111 :p


    the sugar dance keeps us on our toes for sure! Never know which way it is going to pivot...
     
  12. lbeachstace

    lbeachstace Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2022
    We will do our absolute best on small snacks after feeding. I am back to work, at the office, almost full time now and my husband's job makes it hard to take breaks at specific times during the day.

    We feed late at nite (10pm) - so +3 feedings are something we can try but it has it's challenges for sure...in terms of getting proper sleep. But again, we will do the very best we can for him on this.
     
  13. Hendrick Cuddleclaw

    Hendrick Cuddleclaw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2022
    oh wow your PM insulin dose is 10pm? oof

    mine was 630pm and even then I was up late many nights
     
    lbeachstace likes this.
  14. lbeachstace

    lbeachstace Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2022
    yes, we do 10 am/pm - worked easiest for our general lifestyle. that's why the pm stuff is so hard, +2, +3, +4 is painful :/
     

Share This Page