2/2 Morris AMPS 148, PMPS 162

Status
Not open for further replies.

Brenda and Morris

Active Member
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=4800

Good morning LLanders! ~O) ~O)

Yes, that was my Morris this morning, using up another of his 9 lives....he's got a couple left but that's about it. confused_cat Fortunately, he is very good at knocking things over and waking me up when he goes into hypo territory. Of course I knew what to do but just for a minute there I panicked. He walked behind the toilet and got stuck because the trash can was in his way on the other side and he was too disoriented to back up. He knocked over the toilet brush container, which woke me up. He was wobbly on his feet and kinda limp when I picked him up...head kinda shaking from side to side. Tested and got a 26...actually thought it would have been lower since he's been 35 with sign of trouble.

Gave a 1/2 can of medium carb FF, which brought him up to 50 in 15 min., then followed with 1/2 can of low carb to be safe, which brought him up to 61 in another 1/2 hour. Since between 8 and 9 is his nadir, I felt pretty safe going btb at that point and this morning PS he was 148. No more messin' around....I shot the .50. :?

Had our visit with the new vet this morning...I had a good feeling about her overall, only a couple of things struck a sour note. She is dead set against feeding raw for one, which conflicts with what Jojo told me (that it would be the best thing for him if he's got IBD). The other thing is, although she uses glargine (Lantus) for her diabetic kitties, she doesn't recommend home monitoring with a meter. She says that she monitors fluid intake to judge regulation. :-Q When I showed her the Tilly protocol, she said "Oh, yes, that's what we use", but how can that be if they don't home monitor?? grr_red

However, I made it clear before I even made the appointment that I didn't want or need help with the FD so we didn't go into it any further.

Her tentative diagnosis is IBD and her treatment plan will be based on that. She put him back on the metronidazole and requested that I pick one food and stick with it...she doesn't care if it's raw, dry, FF or whatever, just feed only one food for a week. If all else fails, and as a last resort, she would use steroids, either prednisolone orally or Depo-Medrol shot. I said we would have to discuss that at the time after I run it by my "group". :YMHUG:

Oh, and she says he doesn't need a dental...his teeth are yellow, yes, like any 15 year old cat's but she doesn't feel he needs a dental right now.

And another thing she wants to explore is accupuncture @-) ....checking with an associate who treats with holistic approaches to see if there might be anything in that area that can help him. I have an open mind but am leery of that....will see what she says.

That's it for now...thanks everyone for your concern. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/2 Morris AMPS 148

Oh my gosh Brenda, little Morris got stuck behind the toilet, aww poor little guy.
I wanted to tell you what a good job you did getting him back to safe zone - at least you know now what numbers to stay away from! My goodness!!

You have some serious BOS standing up to your vet like that, good for u!!

I took a look at ur ss this morning, you have that scary 26 under +7 in the AM cycle of Feb 1, just wanted to make sure that was right, cuz this all happened early this morning (Feb 2) right?

I'm glad to hear Morris is ok, tell him not to ever do that again and scare everybody - and big squishy hugs for him too. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/2 Morris AMPS 148

I too, am glad Morris is doing well, and now that the vet interview is over, you can chew on that for a bit.

I really don't think we can ever get a perfect vet, but a good one can be trained haha_smiley
I thought that sounds kinda funny, by follow tilly but don't want home testing? HUH? confused_cat and monitor fluid intake? How's that work? Something screwy about that, in my head.
The one food ONLY for a solid week is a good idea. Since we never really honestly know how food changes affect any situation, it's good to have the food as a constant to rule out any food interferences.
As for the 'raw', maybe you can explore that topic a bit more to find out exactly WHAT about raw that she feels is not good. I am pretty sure there is 'raw' and then there is 'raw', you know what I mean?

if just the frowning on silly monitoring and silly raw diet is all that's bothersome, maybe you can mold this vet into something decent!

Scratches for Morris! and a GOOD JOB button for you and the vet interview. Now all you have to do is move that dumb trash can!
 
Re: 2/2 Morris AMPS 148

Thanks for the update Brenda....and the news on the vet.
I imagine that most vets don't know anyone who would even be willing to home test...

Guess you will try the one type of food only...that sounds like a good idea. Wishing you well with the
week...which food will you choose...
Oh, and did she give a reason she doesn't like the raw?

It's good that his teeth look ok...and as far as the holistic approach...I think that has some merit in general...
But I don't know about the acupuncture. Does anyone else have info or experience with that?
 
Re: 2/2 Morris AMPS 148

Oh, my goodness, I'm very happy that Morris is ok now. Poor baby was probably scared behind that toilet.

When I talked to my vet in regards to a raw diet for Spot, she was against it. When asked why, she mentioned salmonella. That may be one reason why she doesn't like the raw idea. I personally can't do raw....I tried to make it once and almost lost my cookies when I grounded up the livers....even thinking about it now makes my tummy turn.
 
Re: 2/2 Morris AMPS 148, +4~187, +8~138

Gayle and Shadoe said:
As for the 'raw', maybe you can explore that topic a bit more to find out exactly WHAT about raw that she feels is not good. I am pretty sure there is 'raw' and then there is 'raw', you know what I mean?
She mentioned the brand Wild Kitty, which I never heard of, and that it had been found to have salmonella. ohmygod_smile She also says she had one cat become very sick with salmonella and a dog died of it. I told her that the two brands I have used, Feline's Pride and Nature's Variety, both recommended on Dr. Lisa's page, are tested frequently and found to be free of contaminants, including salmonella. Of course her answer was that who knows how it is handled and stored after production and at the store. I guess we will have to agree to disagree. angry(2)_cat

Now all you have to do is move that dumb trash can!
Oh no, thank god for the trash can...it caused him to get stuck and make enough noise that it woke me up. He has done that every time he went hypo...gotten hung up under a chair or behind something or walking into the walls...and it woke me up. Just glad it has always been at night when I am home...well, except for that one time in 2005 when he went in a coma, but I don't like to discuss that.

In all the other excitement I forgot to say that he had two very nice poos last night, almost all solid. :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT
 
Re: 2/2 Morris PMPS 162

I'm holding off on implementing any of the suggestions/meds from today's vet visit....I'd like to see another BM to judge whether he's getting better or not first. As for the switching over to one food, I'd like that one food to be the raw (I trust Jojo more than anyone at this point) and it's not possible to just transition to 100% raw...we're in the process but it could take at least a few more days. Of course, if he has another bad diarrhea attack tonight, all that goes out the window and I will be toeing the new vet's party line...LOL.
 
Glad to hear Morris is doing better, Brenda. I should have know you were a pro at taking care of him but I had toothpicks holding my eyes open after Mally's event of low numbers when I responded to your 911 last night (actually early this morning). And then the crazy computer froze so I was very, very happy to see that his numbers had come up when I finally got back online.

I'm just happy that you have a lot more experience than me and knew exactly what to do for your boy! :smile:
 
Chris & Mally said:
I'm just happy that you have a lot more experience than me and knew exactly what to do for your boy! :smile:

I am too....3 a.m. is the absolute WORST time to need help...there was you and one guest online at the time. Of course I knew what to do, but thank goodness you were there to give me a proverbial "slap in the face" to snap me out of it. And I mean that in a good way, you know like when a person is hysterical and you give them a slap?

Thanks again, Chris!
 
I was still awake when Mally went low but you were woken from your sleep when Morris ran into trouble. When that happens there's a whole process we have to go through before our brains fully engage. You must have had quite the adrenaline rush. :smile:
 
Oh no, Brenda...what a scare you had last night!! So glad Morris lets you know when he needs help & that you had Chris as support. :mrgreen: No one wants to be alone during a hypo!

Bee was dx with IBD along with the diabetes at the end of October. She had awful, stinky liquipoo for over a month, so I know your frustration. The metronidazole helped...when I could get it in her, but the diet change was key for her. Now, as long as she stays on Wellness poultry flavors or Cowboy Cookout & off of any fish she does fine. Of course ECID, but there is hope for the IBD kitties!

I know Cassandra's Sasha is also IBD & I believe she uses a holistic vet. Maybe she knows something about the acupuncture.

(((Brenda))) glad things are looking up!

And OH...just read about the solid poo!! :thumbup
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top