? 2/21 Ivy Amps 300,+2 226, +3 163,+6 186 +7 112,Pmps 155, +5 50 L Libre Not eating/soft stools/puked

Staci & Ivy

Very Active Member
2/20/25
Amps 300 Libre

Good morning, update on Ivy after yesterday.

She was not eating last night And all day long and through the night every couple hours had soft stools. No vomiting,

I gave a half dose of insulin last night and again this morning because I’m not sure how much I can get her to eat.

At dinner time, she ate half of her meal and then stopped and about 40 minutes later I fed her the rest and she ate it.

She did not have any interest in eating her snacks throughout the night at +1,2,3.

I did give her 2 mg of ondansetron half hour before her meal last night and then again 4 mgs eight hours later.
(I think the 4 mg is probably the right dose for her because she’s 15 pounds )
Also gave her half a capsule of Jarrows s boulardi by pilling during the night. (when I offered it mixed in with baby food or fancy feast pate, she had no interest and turned her head away)

This morning, she had no interest in eating so I’ve been syringe feeding :(

I will call the vet this morning and see if they want tosee her or have any suggestions.

I’m not sure if I should use Cerenia, which I do have in the house and I do have mirtazapine, not sure if I should use that either.

She’s not licking her lips and she’s not meat loafing, so that’s good.

Any suggestions are welcome :arghh:
 
If possible, try the emergency dosing of S. Boulardii. It will take 2-3 days for it to work though.

I would keep up the Ondansetron for now. I'm wondering if she needs subq fluids. At least one round at the vet's.

I once had to give Bandit Flagyl for loose stools. That took care of her diarrhea in 3 days. It tastes awful, so you want the pill rather than the liquid form.
 
Yup, liquid Flagyl is yucky. Vets only keep the liquid version in stock since they usually want a client to start it right away. If it's not urgent to start right away, ask the vet to call the prescription to Wedgewood or other compounding pharmacy to get pills or another non-liquid form.

Hope Ivy feels better soon :bighug:
 
If possible, try the emergency dosing of S. Boulardii. It will take 2-3 days for it to work though.

I would keep up the Ondansetron for now. I'm wondering if she needs subq fluids. At least one round at the vet's.

I once had to give Bandit Flagyl for loose stools. That took care of her diarrhea in 3 days. It tastes awful, so you want the pill rather than the liquid form.

hi Bhooma, I was just thinking that I should give another round of the colon rescue since I gave it 12 hours ago.

With the S Bilardi emergency dose that’s every 2 to 3 hours correct and that is about a quarter of a capsule, does that sound right?

The soft stools hasn’t gotten worse, it’s not watery. It’s just pudding mushy.

I will keep up giving the ondasetron but wondering if mirtazapine should be added.

I’ll be curious if the vet wants to see her. I just sent an email and I will call there shortly.
 
Yup, liquid Flagyl is yucky. Vets only keep the liquid version in stock since they usually want a client to start it right away. If it's not urgent to start right away, ask the vet to call the prescription to Wedgewood or other compounding pharmacy to get pills or another non-liquid form.

Hope Ivy feels better soon :bighug:
Thank you!! :bighug:
 
Just spoke with the vets office and they want me to bring her in in two hours. I’m not going to sedate her so that should be interesting. I didn’t discuss it with them, but I just don’t wanna add all those difficulties to the mix. Hoping they’ll be able to handle her.

i’m going to give her another dose of the animal essentials: Colon rescue that I gave 12 hours ago. And I will give her one more dose ondansetron before I go since she will be due.
 
hi Bhooma, I was just thinking that I should give another round of the colon rescue since I gave it 12 hours ago.
Sure. Just keep this in mind...I found it on Tanya's CKD website:

Slippery Elm Bark: Cautions


PennState Hershey states that slippery elm bark can inhibit the absorption of other medications or supplements. It is therefore best to give it 1-2 hours before or after any other medications (especially antibiotics), and ideally on an empty stomach, although it is safe to sprinkle it on food if you wish.


With the S Bilardi emergency dose that’s every 2 to 3 hours correct and that is about a quarter of a capsule, does that sound right?
Yes. "Give one-quarter of the 250mg / 5 billion CFU capsule every two hours or so"


I will keep up giving the ondasetron but wondering if mirtazapine should be added.
Have you used it on her before? I found that all appetite stimulants (cyproheptadine, mirtazapine...) made Bandit very vocal and restless but did nothing for her appetite!
 
Just spoke with the vets office and they want me to bring her in in two hours. I’m not going to sedate her so that should be interesting. I didn’t discuss it with them, but I just don’t wanna add all those difficulties to the mix. Hoping they’ll be able to handle her.
Good luck! Let us know how it goes. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Oh I am so sorry that Ivy's not feeling well.
I hope the vet visit isn't too stressful for Ivy and you, and they can figure things out.
I'll be thinking of you, Staci. Keep us posted!
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Sure. Just keep this in mind...I found it on Tanya's CKD website:

Slippery Elm Bark: Cautions


PennState Hershey states that slippery elm bark can inhibit the absorption of other medications or supplements. It is therefore best to give it 1-2 hours before or after any other medications (especially antibiotics), and ideally on an empty stomach, although it is safe to sprinkle it on food if you wish.



Yes. "Give one-quarter of the 250mg / 5 billion CFU capsule every two hours or so"



Have you used it on her before? I found that all appetite stimulants (cyproheptadine, mirtazapine...) made Bandit very vocal and restless but did nothing for her appetite!
Yes, Booma, I have given her mirtazapine before, and it’s helped her appetite quite well. And she did not become vocal or restless.

I think I will hold off on the next dose of S. Boulardi until I’m back from the vet just because I’m afraid to put too much into her system before I go.
I’ll also wait on the mirtazapine until I see what the vet says, but at least I have it in the house and ready to give it if she thinks it’s wise.

I’m not actually seeing my vet but a different one in the practice since my vet is not in this week:(

I will definitely keep you posted what happens and thanks again for all of your help :bighug::bighug:
 
Staci, I know you will keep us updated when you get home. I hope Ivy won't get too stressed and the vet will be able to handle her . Poor baby. I know this is the last thing you needed, try and be calm, I know it's hard, sending you lots of hugs :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good meowning Staci,

I'm sad to hear Ivy is not feeling well. Good luck at the vet again today and of course please keep us posted. Sending lots of PAWsitive thoughts and vibes your way :cat::bighug::cat::bighug:
 
2/20/25
Amps 300 Libre

Good morning, update on Ivy after yesterday.

She was not eating last night And all day long and through the night every couple hours had soft stools. No vomiting,

I gave a half dose of insulin last night and again this morning because I’m not sure how much I can get her to eat.

At dinner time, she ate half of her meal and then stopped and about 40 minutes later I fed her the rest and she ate it.

She did not have any interest in eating her snacks throughout the night at +1,2,3.

I did give her 2 mg of ondansetron half hour before her meal last night and then again 4 mgs eight hours later.
(I think the 4 mg is probably the right dose for her because she’s 15 pounds )
Also gave her half a capsule of Jarrows s boulardi by pilling during the night. (when I offered it mixed in with baby food or fancy feast pate, she had no interest and turned her head away)

This morning, she had no interest in eating so I’ve been syringe feeding :(

I will call the vet this morning and see if they want tosee her or have any suggestions.

I’m not sure if I should use Cerenia, which I do have in the house and I do have mirtazapine, not sure if I should use that either.

She’s not licking her lips and she’s not meat loafing, so that’s good.

Any suggestions are welcome :arghh:
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good meowning Staci,

I'm sad to hear Ivy is not feeling well. Good luck at the vet again today and of course please keep us posted. Sending lots of PAWsitive thoughts and vibes your way :cat::bighug::cat::bighug:
Thank you Karolina, I appreciate you checking in with us.
Well, we didn’t really learn too much at the vet. Of course they are not sure why she’s not feeling well. It could be from the sedatives given to go to the vet appointment, but we don’t really know. Since they had drawn extra blood on Tuesday, they’re going to run a full CBC to see if that shows any clues as to what’s going on. She felt her belly and didn’t feel any distress or anything hard or anything unusual.
She told me it was fine to give mirtazapine once a day, use the S Boulardi twice a day, but I’ll probably do it Four times a day. Said the Colon rescue is Fine, and to continue with the on the ondansetron 4 mg every 8 hours. And see what happens. They are in the office until 2 pm tomorrow if needed.

Just hoping she starts to come out of this. Hoping some of the meds will help her to feel better.

Of course she was very spicy since she had no sedation, but luckily all they were doing was examining her and they were able to do that by covering her with towels. She voiced her displeasure quite loudly, but eventually she eventually calmed down:rolleyes:
That’s all I know.
I’ll post throughout the day if anything changes and keep you all apprised, thank you so much for all of your support. It means so much :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thank you Karolina, I appreciate you checking in with us.
Well, we didn’t really learn too much at the vet. Of course they are not sure why she’s not feeling well. It could be from the sedatives given to go to the vet appointment, but we don’t really know. Since they had drawn extra blood on Tuesday, they’re going to run a full CBC to see if that shows any clues as to what’s going on. She felt her belly and didn’t feel any distress or anything hard or anything unusual.
She told me it was fine to give mirtazapine once a day, use the S Boulardi twice a day, but I’ll probably do it Four times a day. Said the Colon rescue is Fine, and to continue with the on the ondansetron 4 mg every 8 hours. And see what happens. They are in the office until 2 pm tomorrow if needed.

Just hoping she starts to come out of this. Hoping some of the meds will help her to feel better.

Of course she was very spicy since she had no sedation, but luckily all they were doing was examining her and they were able to do that by covering her with towels. She voiced her displeasure quite loudly, but eventually she eventually calmed down:rolleyes:
That’s all I know.
I’ll post throughout the day if anything changes and keep you all apprised, thank you so much for all of your support. It means so much :bighug::bighug::bighug:


Thank you for the update ♡
We're all here thinking of you and spicy Miss Ivy. Hopefully she feels better soon.
XOXO :bighug::kiss::bighug::kiss:
 
PennState Hershey states that slippery elm bark can inhibit the absorption of other medications or supplements. It is therefore best to give it 1-2 hours before or after any other medications (especially antibiotics), and ideally on an empty stomach, although it is safe to sprinkle it on food if you wish.
This has been debunked. I don’t worry about when I give SEB now to my cats. From “Raw Feeding for IBD Cats” website:

ON THE TIMING OF ADMINISTRATION. It is mentioned in many places, particularly in Facebook groups, to separate administration of slippery elm by other medications by 2 hours. We don't know the source of this information. Dr. Hofve in her article on slippery elm mentions that "Slippery Elm may interfere with the absorption of certain minerals and pharmaceuticals, so is best given separately from any concurrent drug therapy." A popular myth is that the problem with SEB and other gelatinous fibers is that it affects absorption because it "coats" the GI tract and this somehow blocks uptake of the medications. That is not the reason for feeding it separately from meds or food. We know from research that "gelatinous fibers" can slow down movement through the GI tract, and long term this can interfere with mineral absorption. That isn't an issue with SEB, as it is rich in nutrients, including minerals. So if one is using it in quantities that would impact mineral absorption, it is already compensating for that. So why the 2-hour gap between meds and SEB? We just don't know. There isn't a warning not to give meds with foods that contain guar gum, xanthan gum, carrageenan, agar agar, acacia gum, etc. These are all gelatinous fibers. There isn't a warning not to give meds with high fiber foods. Given it takes SEB, whether mixed with George's aloe vera drink or made as a "syrup" about half an hour to go to work, whether or not to give it more time than that is up to you. If you have a holistic vet that might have an opinion on this, ask these questions. But our personal experience is that not waiting two hours has zero impact on efficacy of medications. Laurie had a CKD cat that wouldn't eat without SEB. He had high blood pressure and was proteinuric. If the SEB had an impact on medication uptake, it would be visible and quickly via a rise in blood pressure or in loss of efficacy of his meds controlling the creatinine levels in his urine. All medications remained as effective as when they were given before he needed SEB at every meal - and this was done for an entire year with blood work, blood pressure measures, and urinalysis every three months.

Thank you Karolina, I appreciate you checking in with us.
Well, we didn’t really learn too much at the vet. Of course they are not sure why she’s not feeling well. It could be from the sedatives given to go to the vet appointment, but we don’t really know. Since they had drawn extra blood on Tuesday, they’re going to run a full CBC to see if that shows any clues as to what’s going on. She felt her belly and didn’t feel any distress or anything hard or anything unusual.
She told me it was fine to give mirtazapine once a day, use the S Boulardi twice a day, but I’ll probably do it Four times a day. Said the Colon rescue is Fine, and to continue with the on the ondansetron 4 mg every 8 hours. And see what happens. They are in the office until 2 pm tomorrow if needed.

Just hoping she starts to come out of this. Hoping some of the meds will help her to feel better.

Of course she was very spicy since she had no sedation, but luckily all they were doing was examining her and they were able to do that by covering her with towels. She voiced her displeasure quite loudly, but eventually she eventually calmed down:rolleyes:
That’s all I know.
I’ll post throughout the day if anything changes and keep you all apprised, thank you so much for all of your support. It means so much :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Here are the most recent instructions for using S. boulardi if you haven’t seen them.

I find SEB and George’s Aloe Vera are a great remedy for upset tummies. The instructions are below:
Instructions for mixing SEB with George’s Aloe Vera Drink. Many do not have access to George’s Aloe Vera Drink. Skip to Slippery Elm Bark syrup instructions, below. That said, it is the experience of those who have used both that mixing SEB with the George’s aloe is more effective. (Please note, George’s is the only one we recommend, it is distilled and has those things that are toxic to cats removed, yet retains its beneficial qualities).

To use SEB with George’s aloe vera drink, simply mix 1/8th teaspoon SEB with one-quarter teaspoon of the drink. It gets thick. I use a chopstick to mix until it forms a ball that is basically pea-sized and keeps its shape pretty well. I stick it to the back of the roof of the mouth, and then tip kitty’s head up by pushing up under the chin until the cat swallows. Several eat it mixed with tuna juice rather than forming the little ball. You can also mix the 1/8 teaspoon of SEB and 1/4 George’s aloe with water, and syringe it into your kitty.

I’m glad your vet did not prescribe flagyl (metronidazole). It is an antibiotic and besides the nasty taste, it can make cats inappetent and can also mess with their gut flora.

Hoping she feels very soon (did you see my comments on your condo from yesterday?).:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
This has been debunked. I don’t worry about when I give SEB now to my cats. From “Raw Feeding for IBD Cats” website:




Here are the most recent instructions for using S. boulardi if you haven’t seen them.

I find SEB and George’s Aloe Vera are a great remedy for upset tummies. The instructions are below:


I’m glad your vet did not prescribe flagyl (metronidazole). It is an antibiotic and besides the nasty taste, it can make cats inappetent and can also mess with their gut flora.

Hoping she feels very soon (did you see my comments on your condo from yesterday?).:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thank you, Marje! I’ll have to order these products. I always buy whatever you tell me to get because it’s always so helpful.

I did not see your comment yesterday so I will go back and read it. (Been nuts)

I was already prepared to veto the Flagyl if they were going to try to make me use that. Ivy did not do well with it in the past.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
you said:
I also increased his Visbiome Vet to two capsules a day instead of one.

Do you think I should increase her Adored Beast probiotic (she gets a pinch BID, per Holly).
 
Last edited:
Hi Staci, sending you and Ivy good vibes. I know you said mirtazapine has worked for her in the past, so hopefully that and the anti nausea meds will help her over the hump and she’ll be back to bugging you for snacks soon. Sending all the love to you both.
 
Just another update:

This afternoon I applied mirtazapine to her ear with transdermal medication.
A few hours later, I came back and offered her her regular lamb food and wanted to see if she would eat it.
She did lick a few teaspoons of it willingly as a test.

I’m hoping that means she will be willing to eat her dinner this evening in about 1.25 hours from now.
I guess if she eats her meal, I will feel comfortable giving a full dose of insulin, which is what I’d like to be doing.
I hate giving her half doses cause I’m running her just higher than I want to be.
But I also need to be careful as I don’t want her to have too much insulin if she won’t eat anything.

If anyone has any comments or suggestions, I’m all ears when it comes to dosing.

She did have one poop this afternoon and it was still soft, but there was a little bit of formation to it, so that was at least a step in the right direction. (Sorry to be graphic)
We’re definitely not there yet and we’re not out of the woods yet. I will continue dosing with S. Boulardi every few hours in the hopes that we can turn this around sooner rather than later.

@Marje and Gracie that article you linked above on dosing was really interesting and very different than those earlier articles which circulate.
My take away was “more is better” when it comes to using S. Boulardi to treat, diarrhea or loose stools until things turn around

and…. she walked herself up to my bedroom a little while ago, climbed the Pet steps to my bed and climbed up on top of me and started purring so I think that’s at least a good sign.
:bighug::bighug:
 
Just another update:

This afternoon I applied mirtazapine to her ear with transdermal medication.
A few hours later, I came back and offered her her regular lamb food and wanted to see if she would eat it.
She did lick a few teaspoons of it willingly as a test.

I’m hoping that means she will be willing to eat her dinner this evening in about 1.25 hours from now.
I guess if she eats her meal, I will feel comfortable giving a full dose of insulin, which is what I’d like to be doing.
I hate giving her half doses cause I’m running her just higher than I want to be.
But I also need to be careful as I don’t want her to have too much insulin if she won’t eat anything.

If anyone has any comments or suggestions, I’m all ears when it comes to dosing.

She did have one poop this afternoon and it was still soft, but there was a little bit of formation to it, so that was at least a step in the right direction. (Sorry to be graphic)
We’re definitely not there yet and we’re not out of the woods yet. I will continue dosing with S. Boulardi every few hours in the hopes that we can turn this around sooner rather than later.

@Marje and Gracie that article you linked above on dosing was really interesting and very different than those earlier articles which circulate.
My take away was “more is better” when it comes to using S. Boulardi to treat, diarrhea or loose stools until things turn around

and…. she walked herself up to my bedroom a little while ago, climbed the Pet steps to my bed and climbed up on top of me and started purring so I think that’s at least a good sign.
:bighug::bighug:
I’ve used the transdermal miritaz with Ailish sometimes, and I’ll be freaking out that it’s not working and then four/ eight hours later she’s all about the food, fingers crossed you wake up to her standing on the pet stairs demanding nom noms
 
Staci I’m so sorry Ivy’s not feeling well. I know how stressful it is when our babies are sick. Hopefully it’s over quickly.. Did you check your plant for any signs of cat attack, lol? Prayers and hugs for both of you.:bighug::bighug:
Has the Mirataz worked? It works too well on Tiger so I can only give him a tiny dab of it or he becomes insatiable and cries for food constantly.
 
Staci I’m so sorry Ivy’s not feeling well. I know how stressful it is when our babies are sick. Hopefully it’s over quickly.. Did you check your plant for any signs of cat attack, lol? Prayers and hugs for both of you.:bighug::bighug:
Has the Mirataz worked? It works too well on Tiger so I can only give him a tiny dab of it or he becomes insatiable and cries for food constantly.
Hi Thanks for checking in and letting me know about Tiger. No Ivy did not get to a plant so that definitely was not an issue.

I’m about to feed her dinner so I’m hoping that the mirtaz helped. I guess we’ll find out paws are crossed.:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Staci, it sounds like there has been some improvement with some of the issues. They do sound like a good sign. Praying for Ivy to feel much better very soon. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:
I see you went will the full dose of insulin tonight :cat::cat::cat:
Hi Diane, she ate her dinner like a champ. But now no interest in same food for her snacks. :banghead:

I gave her some baby food and that she liked:rolleyes:. (I don’t know what carb baby food is though!)
I did give the full dose. Hope it’s not a very wild ride all night long. I’m super tired from last night being up with her.

Poops are still mushy. Hoping for progress there so she feels better.

Hope you’re having a nice night, we send you big hugs :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Hi Staci I'm so glad she ate her dinner like a champ.
Did you give Beechnut or Gerber
Here is the carbs for Beechnut days 0 carbs


https://www.thefreshgrocer.com/sm/p...1-from-about-4-months-25-oz-id-00052200007952


Found this about Gerber the ham and gravy 2% carbs

https://www.thefreshgrocer.com/sm/p...y-baby-food-sitter-4m-25-oz-id-00015000012151

Gerber Beef and Gravy 2% carbs

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Gerber-2...jkh5O4mecMHNTvsWruV75zSjEJ8fQv_RoCvpgQAvD_BwE


Beechnut Beef in beef broth 0 carbs
https://www.thefreshgrocer.com/sm/p...1-from-about-4-months-25-oz-id-00052200007976


So most likely all the Beechnut flavors are 0 carbs and the Gerber ones are 2%

@Staci & Ivy
 
Last edited:
Hi Staci I'm so glad she ate her dinner like a champ.
Did you give Beechnut or Gerber
Here is the carbs for Beechnut days 0 carbs


https://www.thefreshgrocer.com/sm/p...1-from-about-4-months-25-oz-id-00052200007952


Found this about Gerber the ham and gravy 2% carbs

https://www.thefreshgrocer.com/sm/p...y-baby-food-sitter-4m-25-oz-id-00015000012151

Gerber Beef and Gravy 2% carbs

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Gerber-2...jkh5O4mecMHNTvsWruV75zSjEJ8fQv_RoCvpgQAvD_BwE


Beechnut Beef in beef broth 0 carbs
https://www.thefreshgrocer.com/sm/p...1-from-about-4-months-25-oz-id-00052200007976


So most likely all the Beechnut flavors are 0 carbs and the Gerber ones are 2%

@Staci & Ivy
Baby food is gerber turkey and gravy. Hope it’s 2%!
Thank you ❤️
:bighug::bighug:
 
Well she just puked after I gave her the Colon Rescue.

I gave it last night and this morning and she had no reaction whatsoever, but this time she puked.
Wondering if I should add the Cerenia instead of or along with the ondansetron.

Also, she’s not eating her snacks, we are at +3 now. I gave some baby food earlier just to give her something.
Any ideas?
@tiffmaxee @Bandit's Mom @Marje and Gracie
 
You can give both cerenia and ondansetron. They work in different ways and it’s safe to give both. Cerenia is every 24 hours. Feed small amounts at a time because if she eats too much at one time it can make her feel yucky. I wonder if she’s having pancreatitis. You said they have plenty of blood. Could they add a SPECfPPL test?
 
Well I gave 12 mg dose of Cerenia and not long after she vomited. I don’t see that the pill came up but who knows if she absorbed it. It was just liquid she puked :(

She’s due for another dose of ondansetron and S. Bouliardi in about an hour but every time I gave her something tonight she vomited.

Do I try to give the doses then? Or skip it for tonight and let her system rest?

I’m hoping she doesn’t require food tonight since she had a full dose of insulin.
Poor girl.
@tiffmaxee
 
You can give both cerenia and ondansetron. They work in different ways and it’s safe to give both. Cerenia is every 24 hours. Feed small amounts at a time because if she eats too much at one time it can make her feel yucky. I wonder if she’s having pancreatitis. You said they have plenty of blood. Could they add a SPECfPPL test?
They did a PrecisionPSL test and the vet says she doesn’t have pancreatitis based on that result. I’ll attach a copy of that part here.
upload_2025-2-21_22-3-39.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-2-21_22-3-11.png
    upload_2025-2-21_22-3-11.png
    129.2 KB · Views: 31
  • upload_2025-2-21_22-3-39.jpeg
    upload_2025-2-21_22-3-39.jpeg
    54.1 KB · Views: 81
Staci I hope Ivy starts eating soon. I’d be a wreck having given a full dose if my boy vomitex and wouldn’t eat. I’ve seen @Bron and Sheba (GA) give really good tips for cats not eating, and I think @Suzanne & Darcy also (sorry to all if my bad old lady memory fails me). I hope someone drops by who knows what to do.

:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thank you for the help, Colleen.
I am kind of a wreck since I thought we were good since she ate her dinner just fine. Then didn’t want any snacks tonight :banghead:

I’m afraid to syringe feed her since now she’s vomiting. :(
 
Back
Top