2/21 Ivy Amps 305, +3.5 Lo L=128 C, +5 57, +7 318, +10 369, Pmps 400, +3.10 235 Libre

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
Yesterday
Amps 305
Good morning,
Day 2 of increased dose of Lantus. Last night was yellow and blue.
Today should be quiet here. No contractors (yay).
Ivy should be happy. I am :smuggrin:
Let’s see how she does today.
I am headed out to dinner to meet friends. I need to decide if I’m feeding her higher carbs (DH will be home but not sure if he has the skill or understanding to get her to eat if needed). Never tried having him hand feed her if needed :nailbiting:

I’m working at home and will monitor Ivy and her closet nesting today :cat:
Safe surfing to all. Happy Wednesday :cat:
 
Good meowning Staci and Ivy!

Happy to hear you'll have some peace and quiet in the house today. That's a nice break for both of you.
Have a wonderful time at dinner with your friend and I hope Ivy behaves and stays safe while you're gone.

Happy Wednesday

upload_2024-2-21_8-9-33.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-2-21_8-9-33.png
    upload_2024-2-21_8-9-33.png
    159.5 KB · Views: 248
Good morning Staci,
Yay yay for no work inside today! ;);)
Ivy's still building up the depot - get your P-pants out!
Hope you have a lovely day and Ivy slides down gently.
Enjoy the dinner with your friend tonight! Maybe to use the remote feeder, if needed?
DHs, despite their good intention - you know. Mine once fed Mikan 22% when I specifically instructed to use 15% :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:
Wishing you all a lovely day! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good morning Staci,
Yay yay for no work inside today! ;);)
Ivy's still building up the depot - get your P-pants out!
Hope you have a lovely day and Ivy slides down gently.
Enjoy the dinner with your friend tonight! Maybe to use the remote feeder, if needed?
DHs, despite their good intention - you know. Mine once fed Mikan 22% when I specifically instructed to use 15% :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:
Wishing you all a lovely day! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
I do know exactly what you’re saying Kit. The night we moved Ivy to our bedroom (Sunday) and she didn’t want to eat… DH said why don’t you just let her eat whenever she’s ready. To which I responded…we’re on a very specific schedule she needs to eat so I can give her her shot. His reply was “oh I forgot about the diabetes”. Like…. what ????? what world does he live in? Does he not understand how FD has completely upended our entire life?? That he completely forgot that everything moves around diabetes??
I almost smacked him or smacked my head against the wall.
I think I will feed higher carbs tonight just for safety because I can’t really count on his “understanding of what’s actually happening around him”.
For a very intelligent man who runs his own business quite well….He just doesn’t get certain things that I tell him over and over again (but of course we all know he just tunes me out)
:rolleyes::rolleyes:
That’s unreal about 15% vs 22%!! But mine works do the same thing I’m afraid.
Hope you all have a great day, too :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I do know exactly what you’re saying Kit. The night we moved Ivy to our bedroom (Sunday) and she didn’t want to eat… DH said why don’t you just let her eat whenever she’s ready. To which I responded…we’re on a very specific schedule she needs to eat so I can give her her shot. His reply was “oh I forgot about the diabetes”. Like…. what ????? what world does he live in? Does he not understand how FD has completely upended our entire life?? That he completely forgot that everything moves around diabetes??
I almost smacked him or smacked my head against the wall.
I think I will feed higher carbs tonight just for safety because I can’t really count on his “understanding of what’s actually happening around him”.
For a very intelligent man who runs his own business quite well….He just doesn’t get certain things that I tell him over and over again (but of course we all know he just tunes me out)
:rolleyes::rolleyes:
That’s unreal about 15% vs 22%!! But mine works do the same thing I’m afraid.
Hope you all have a great day, too :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Not gonna lie - I have sticky notes with precise instructions that includes color of can, what's in it, how much to feed and when, and sometimes there are 3 cans sitting out waiting with instructions. Now I just need to get him to be better about the actually making sure she eats. Like, you can't just set it down. Will she eat with freeze dried chicken? Does she just want pets while eating? Does she want you to actually hold the dish? If none of those, maybe the rabbit treats is what she needs. He just puts it down and goes back to his video games. :rolleyes: I'm gonna have to write a big ol' document for the 4.5 days I'll be gone in March.
 
I do know exactly what you’re saying Kit. The night we moved Ivy to our bedroom (Sunday) and she didn’t want to eat… DH said why don’t you just let her eat whenever she’s ready. To which I responded…we’re on a very specific schedule she needs to eat so I can give her her shot. His reply was “oh I forgot about the diabetes”. Like…. what ????? what world does he live in? Does he not understand how FD has completely upended our entire life?? That he completely forgot that everything moves around diabetes??
I almost smacked him or smacked my head against the wall.
I think I will feed higher carbs tonight just for safety because I can’t really count on his “understanding of what’s actually happening around him”.
For a very intelligent man who runs his own business quite well….He just doesn’t get certain things that I tell him over and over again (but of course we all know he just tunes me out)
:rolleyes::rolleyes:
That’s unreal about 15% vs 22%!! But mine works do the same thing I’m afraid.
Hope you all have a great day, too :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Aren’t they all the same! I feel better Im Not the only one that has that problem!
Enjoy your quiet day and dinner tonight! Surf safe Ivy!
 
Not gonna lie - I have sticky notes with precise instructions that includes color of can, what's in it, how much to feed and when, and sometimes there are 3 cans sitting out waiting with instructions. Now I just need to get him to be better about the actually making sure she eats. Like, you can't just set it down. Will she eat with freeze dried chicken? Does she just want pets while eating? Does she want you to actually hold the dish? If none of those, maybe the rabbit treats is what she needs. He just puts it down and goes back to his video games. :rolleyes: I'm gonna have to write a big ol' document for the 4.5 days I'll be gone in March.
Yep. Totally get it.
When I think that this is bad I remember my ex-husband… when my kids were babies and I would ask him…When did you feed a bottle? What time was it ? so I knew what time the next bottle was due and he couldn’t bother to remember. I gave him a pad of paper to write down the time, and he couldn’t follow instructions either.
So …two out of two of my husbands… Equally clueless.
What that tells me is most men just can’t follow simple. instructions.
Please excuse me for any man reading this who is actually able to follow instructions, but the the ones I’ve married just can’t get it together. (probably a me problem:rolleyes:)
 
Yep. Totally get it.
When I think that this is bad I remember my ex-husband… when my kids were babies and I would ask him…When did you feed a bottle? What time was it ? so I knew what time the next bottle was due and he couldn’t bother to remember. I gave him a pad of paper to write down the time, and he couldn’t follow instructions either.
So …two out of two of my husbands… Equally clueless.
What that tells me is most men just can’t follow simple. instructions.
Please excuse me for any man reading this who is actually able to follow instructions, but the the ones I’ve married just can’t get it together. (probably a me problem:rolleyes:)
:joyful:There is a reason my EX is an EX, and pet care (or lack thereof) is most definitely one of the reasons! Hugs to you ladies! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
@Staci & Ivy @Alicia & Kit cat @Deb and Tiger
 
:joyful:There is a reason my EX is an EX, and pet care (or lack thereof) is most definitely one of the reasons! Hugs to you ladies! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
@Staci & Ivy @Alicia & Kit cat @Deb and Tiger
Oh yes, just one of many, many reasons, obviously, Christine.
my ex wanted me to get rid of an awesome cat who was peeing on our carpets. Wasn’t gonna happen. I just kept ripping out carpets and replacing. He was more important than the carpets and lived till he was 18 years old. (years past when the ex moved out, Lol).
Coco was an awesome cat. Still miss him every day :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
@Staci & Ivy and @Alicia & Kit cat
Hey, do we have the same man? :p
I have threatened him that his dinner would be served in the back yard if he could not follow my super-precious, super-specific instruction!
I'm thinking of getting dishes in different colors to coordinate with carb%s. Think that may help?
OMG I love that idea. And backyard is appropriate....or follow instructions. Simple and easy. Children comply better!
(My EX used to tell me he was color blind.....lol....but he's someone else's problem now...
Hope they don't have a child or animal) :p:p:p
 
Hi Staci :)
YAY for no workers day. I can imagine Ivy's relief.
Paws crossed she'll give you some nice numbers with this dose.
Enjoy your time with friends. Hopefully DH find sa way to feed her as needed.
Kit's idea sounds like a good one ;) @Mikanmama
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
It's been so peaceful today, Shelly., Ivy and I are SO happy!! I can even think.
Need a girls night out now and then...just hope DH can follow instructions. this will be a test. I will only be 15 minutes away so....hoping he can just listen to our furry adorable daughter's needs :joyful::joyful:
 
@Staci & Ivy and @Alicia & Kit cat
Hey, do we have the same man? :p
I have threatened him that his dinner would be served in the back yard if he could not follow my super-precious, super-specific instruction!
I'm thinking of getting dishes in different colors to coordinate with carb%s. Think that may help?
Like, I know he tries, I just don't think he feels the some sense of intimate knowledge. And I understand - I'm the person who has done pretty much all of it, but I'm gonna need him to step it up a bit while I'm gone. It's either gonna be that we can stay on the dose and he obsesses about it a bit (like me) while I'm gone, or we go a vacation dose where she's likely gonna go back into numbers I don't like that I'll have to deal with fixing when I get home, but where she's almost guaranteed to not go too low. I prefer the first, but it'll probably be the second option.
 
Oh yes, just one of many, many reasons, obviously, Christine.
my ex wanted me to get rid of an awesome cat who was peeing on our carpets. Wasn’t gonna happen. I just kept ripping out carpets and replacing. He was more important than the carpets and lived till he was 18 years old. (years past when the ex moved out, Lol).
Coco was an awesome cat. Still miss him every day :bighug::bighug::bighug:
I do thank my lucky stars that Eric is patient with the fact that Kit goes long bouts of pooping on the floor (or on paper on the floor), and was super patient when she had that brief time of peeing on the floor. He even mostly tolerates occasional treat crumbs on the bed. But I know he loves her in his own way - when his white undershirts wear out, he bleaches them for her to lay on because she loves the smell (just the smell, we make sure they're fully washed and only smell a little).
 
Well this has been an amusing condo today and not because of Ivy’s antics :woot::woot:

Speaking of….on the SS at a.m. +3, you have “61 + 3 Lo C = 128 C. Did you mean the Lo to be an L for the Libre instead of C? I’d still probably color it green to be consistent with the other Libre readings. Oh this girl and her lack of duration! :rolleyes:

I hope you enjoy a girl’s night out and DH doesn’t feed the highest carbs in the house.
 
Like, I know he tries, I just don't think he feels the some sense of intimate knowledge. And I understand - I'm the person who has done pretty much all of it, but I'm gonna need him to step it up a bit while I'm gone. It's either gonna be that we can stay on the dose and he obsesses about it a bit (like me) while I'm gone, or we go a vacation dose where she's likely gonna go back into numbers I don't like that I'll have to deal with fixing when I get home, but where she's almost guaranteed to not go too low. I prefer the first, but it'll probably be the second option.
Sweet guy, you got got there. :blackeye:
I know our men mean really well. They just lack something that make us who we are :p
Best to be safe while you are gone. You can always do the catch up when you get home :)
 
Such an interesting thread! :D Purrl's not hitting numbers low enough yet to worry about carbs in case of lows. But I'm hopeful that day is coming. So far I've just had to tell DH to give her a snack at a certain time. He's good at that and also gets up daily at 4am to give her a snack. He'd likely do fine so long as I wrote out instructions.

I hope you have/had a good night out, Staci and that Ivy fared well in your absence.
 
Hi Staci, I'm sorry, I shouldn't be laughing so hard reading your condo! :smuggrin: It's kinda therapeutic though LOL! I have said many of these things during my time with a diabetic kitty but only in my mind...:rolleyes: This is why we have a forum though, it is better than a psychiatrist!! Just make sure your DH doesn't read the condo LOL!:p C'mon down now Ivy, and Staci, I hope you had a great girl's night out, you needed it!:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Like, I know he tries, I just don't think he feels the some sense of intimate knowledge. And I understand - I'm the person who has done pretty much all of it, but I'm gonna need him to step it up a bit while I'm gone. It's either gonna be that we can stay on the dose and he obsesses about it a bit (like me) while I'm gone, or we go a vacation dose where she's likely gonna go back into numbers I don't like that I'll have to deal with fixing when I get home, but where she's almost guaranteed to not go too low. I prefer the first, but it'll probably be the second option.
There is no substitute for a Mom. Period. End of sentence.
I know they do try. But they are seriously missing a chromosome. It’s genetics.
And yes, you probably are going to have to do a vacation dose, which will suck but you’ll know she’s safe and that’s really the bottom line. :rolleyes:
 
Well this has been an amusing condo today and not because of Ivy’s antics :woot::woot:

Speaking of….on the SS at a.m. +3, you have “61 + 3 Lo C = 128 C. Did you mean the Lo to be an L for the Libre instead of C? I’d still probably color it green to be consistent with the other Libre readings. Oh this girl and her lack of duration! :rolleyes:

I hope you enjoy a girl’s night out and DH doesn’t feed the highest carbs in the house.
It has been kind of a hysterical vent today. (Better than therapy) because we are in like minded good company :rolleyes:
So glad to provide entertainment while solving FD problems together. Now that’s community at its best :)

And yep, there’s her lack of duration at its finest again :banghead:

I fixed the Libre/Contour issue, thank you. My mind must have been spinning at that time. Oops. Great catch, Marje:)

And of course I had to call DH to hand feed her the snacks cause he was busy not checking to see if she ate them (I was spying on the Ivy camera and could see she was lying on her side not eating her carbs).
DH’s ringer was off, not answering my texts or calls. Really????? :mad:
I can’t even escape for 3 hours in peace :eek:
 
It has been kind of a hysterical vent today. (Better than therapy) because we are in like minded good company :rolleyes:
So glad to provide entertainment while solving FD problems together. Now that’s community at its best
100%.

I fixed the Libre/Contour issue, thank you. My mind must have been spinning at that time. Oops. Great catch, Marje:)
you’ve had a very full and stressful few days.

And of course I had to call DH to hand feed her the snacks cause he was busy not checking to see if she ate them (I was spying on the Ivy camera and could see she was lying on her side not eating her carbs).
well, it isn’t funny but it’s one of those things you have to let go of and get a good laugh here, right? The main thing is she was safe.

I can’t even escape for 3 hours in peace
I’m very sorry.
 
I do thank my lucky stars that Eric is patient with the fact that Kit goes long bouts of pooping on the floor (or on paper on the floor), and was super patient when she had that brief time of peeing on the floor. He even mostly tolerates occasional treat crumbs on the bed. But I know he loves her in his own way - when his white undershirts wear out, he bleaches them for her to lay on because she loves the smell (just the smell, we make sure they're fully washed and only smell a little).
That’s actually very impressive. High five for Eric. I know he gets stuck in his video games, but he’s super tolerant. Very impressive :kiss::kiss:
 
Good meowning Staci and Ivy!

Happy to hear you'll have some peace and quiet in the house today. That's a nice break for both of you.
Have a wonderful time at dinner with your friend and I hope Ivy behaves and stays safe while you're gone.

Happy Wednesday

View attachment 69299
Hi Karolina, we had such a nice quiet day it was purrrrrfect. And my dinner with friends was a rare treat. As it turned out since Ivy visited the beach today, she went up sky high to pink land while I was out. But you j uh st never know ahead of time what she’s gonna do.
Hope you and the boys had a nice day and are cozying up tonight. Sleep tight :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
100%.


you’ve had a very full and stressful few days.


well, it isn’t funny but it’s one of those things you have to let go of and get a good laugh here, right? The main thing is she was safe.


I’m very sorry.
It’s all good. The only real thing that matters is that she was safe. You’re totally right! Plus it was a good night of training him to get with the program a bit. Feet to the fire so to speak. (And she was high, so no real danger).

I just have to find the silver lining and let it go :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Staci, I'm sorry, I shouldn't be laughing so hard reading your condo! :smuggrin: It's kinda therapeutic though LOL! I have said many of these things during my time with a diabetic kitty but only in my mind...:rolleyes: This is why we have a forum though, it is better than a psychiatrist!! Just make sure your DH doesn't read the condo LOL!:p C'mon down now Ivy, and Staci, I hope you had a great girl's night out, you needed it!:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Ruth, happy to provide a thread of entertainment for all of us to share things we all think about. Who else would understand all this stuff? (nobody).
Definitely better than paying a therapist to listen to me vent and if they don’t understand FD, forget it.
Glad you got to join in :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top